We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“super chill.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
“super chill.”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

one of the best communal kitchen setups i've seen in my travels. we stayed for only 4 nights but the chilled environment, laid back and helpful staff, and the great people we met here made it feel like he had been there for weeks. no questions asked, the only place i'd stay in Leon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jared J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    78
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
8
98
62
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I really appreciated this hostal!!! It was my first time in Latin America. The colors, the music, wifi, pancakes, everything was perfect. Leon is a nice city to discover Nicaraguan peeps. They are friendly so was the staff.
I was in a private room cause I had to many stuff LOL. However I loved the atmosphere I met a lot of people Americans, Europeans.
So jump on it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dododina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a bit more than a week while traveling in Leon as I looked for a quiet place that would accompany my Spanish lessons I took in the city (didn't want to stay in one of the party hostels).

They saved me a dorm bed after calling ahead the same day from Granada. The place is abit far from central park, which is bearable at night and a bit harder while the burning sun is up...

Dorm was spacious enough with bathroom/shower inside (cold water) and large personal lockers. Bed were comfy, and there's a fan for each one of them! So important in this hot city..

The facilities are good and clean (nice garden/social area, well-equiptted kitchen with DIY pancakes breakfast included, house guitars and an average wi fi).

The staff is all local, very friendly young people, some speak English and some don't, they were very helpful with tips, advices and activities to do around (especially Carlos and Santos!)

They also offer a self service bar with soft drinks, beers, cheap water refill and cigarettes, with an honor-based tab system.

Lastly, the atmosphere here is (like its name) very chilled and relaxed, no stupid drinking games at night, and loads of good people to meet! I'd recommend this place to anyone visiting Leon!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gilmeir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moyogalpa, Nicaragua
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights, 2 in a private room and 1 in the dorm. Both rooms were comfortable, but a bit hot, especially the dorm. There were several hammocks and comfy chairs in an outside courtyard. There was a nice sociable vibe and I met some interesting people. There was good quality coffee and you could cook yourself pancakes for breakfast. There was free WIFI. The place was quiet at night, but close enough to walk to lively bars. The staff were helpful and friendly.
The only slight drawback for me was the book exchange: the staff refused to exchange a book, even when I offered two books of my own. They couldn't give an adequate reason for this except that my books were "not good". I pointed out that one of them, The Old Man and the Sea, was in fact one of the best books ever written in the English language, but they continued to refuse. For me this left a sour taste in the mouth although I otherwise enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Billysyearoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, especially the "do it yourself" pancake breakfasts. The staff was great, especially Carlos and Santos. Santos gave us a great local dinner recommendation (Asados Pelibuey) which turned out to be our best meal in Nicaragua. The hostel is walking distance to everything, but yet removed from the tourist(y) area. We requested an air conditioned room, but the AC unit didn't work. Our room had 3 fans, which were all were put to use as it is very hot in Leon.

Tip: Request room #8.

Room Tip: You definitely want to go with room #8 as it is the only room with a private balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ihearttraveling029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Nicaragua
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

My friends and I stayed at Tortuga Booluda last year and we liked it very much! the place has a nice garden which we liked a lot for it's perfect to enjoy one of the many books they have and also a cold Toña! the staff is quite helpful and gave us some good tips for nightlife in Leon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikenica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I was pleased to get away from the typical backpacker party hostels when I found Tortuga Booluda. It is MUCH more laid back, but in a highly walkable part of Leon. There are plenty of things to do in this area and you can easily catch a cab to the bar if you are looking to party. I found the rooms to be clean and safe, and loved the kitchen and common areas. It's a very nice place and I would definitely stay here if I'm ever in Leon again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank electric_lady83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
24 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
345 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostal Casa Ivana
Hostal Casa Ivana
#5 of 60 in Leon
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Latina Hostal
Latina Hostal
#3 of 60 in Leon
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Property: Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 60 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing