We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Place to Stay in an Amazing City”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Tortuga Booluda is definitely the best hostel I have ever stayed in. It has lots of amenities, including a book exchange, free internet, free coffee all day, and a spotlessly clean shared kitchen. Everything is very well maintained and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. There was a great mix of travelers, but everyone was very respectful. The best part is the interior courtyard space, which is very nice for relaxing and passing time with other travelers.

This is definitely NOT a party hostel, so if that is what you are looking for there are other options in Leon. But, if you like a clean and well-stocked kitchen, a secure setting, knowledgeable staff, nice (and clean!) accomodations and friendly travelers, this is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vlntr09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (285)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

214 - 220 of 285 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2011

We enjoyed a five night stay, rooms look basic but on close inspection sheets were spotless and room stayed cool in this hot city. Staff were sweet esp Carolina who was constantly cleaning. Staff spoke very limited English. The highlight is the courtyard which is lovely...so nice in fact that many of the travellers hust bum around there all day ... Shame, cause leon is such a great city to explore. Honesty bar was convenient, they sort you out taxis. All you need really. However rooms aren't cheap for Nicaragua - we paid 24 dollars p/n with shared bath but felt it was worth it. Location is brilliant - on a quiet street close to the centre.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kfogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I spent 3 months at the tortuga, and it is definately the cleanest, most relaxed, safest, and best atmosphere of all the hostals in Léon. Olin and his staff couldn't be a better group and they are constantly striving to make the hostal better despite the fact that they have already won best hostal in nicaragua. Tom Eaton

  • Stayed: August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomeaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

I was very happy with my decision to book the private room with its own bath and terrace at Tortuga Booluda. This was a great spot from which to explore Leon and it was always nice to unwind in the hammock after a day of wandering the city. This is a great option for anyone from solo travellers to couples or even a small group. I also greatly appreciated the cervesas and other drinks available for purchase on the premises. Staff were very nice and always helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank june_bug74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2010

My wife and I spent two nights here and found it to be a very comfortable place to stay when visiting Leon. We opted for the private suite with AC since we don't normally stay at hostels and were happy with the accomodations. Our room included a private deck which was nice to relax on in the evenings. Also, there is an "honor system" for grabbing your drinks which I thought was a great idea and very convenient. I found the staff and owner to be very friendly and helpful in recommending places to eat and tours to go on.

Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
Thank Wrldtrvlr74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2010

What a fantastic place! Stayed in the coed dormitory, each has their own private bathroom. The rate includes use of the internet (one computer), extensive book exchange, fully stocked kitchen, pool table, coffee and make-yer-own pancakes in the morning. Staff are bilingual, there's a lot of information on tours and local attractions. They have snacks and drinks on the honor system. Cool vibe, many travelers to meet and really laid back common area with guitar and plenty of space to relax. About a 10 minute walk from the main square.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelcommons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

We're a bit older than the people who normally stay there, but we both carry a strong dislike for all-inclusive and secured vacation places, so this year we decided to just pack and go somewhere we never been before - Nicaragua. We spent our second night in La Tortuga Booluda and I wouldn't have traded it for the best 5 star hotel I have ever been to! The vibe of the place is incredible, the people there are fun, the staff is great . And, whoever is that put this place's look together, I salute you:) Go there, it's way more fun than any hotel. Free WiFi, breakfast, coffee and a lot of helpful advice from fellow travelers, close to everything!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SvetlaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.7 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.6 mi away
Hotel Leo y Pinita
Hotel Leo y Pinita
#10 of 15 in Leon
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.6 mi away
Hotel Real
Hotel Real
#4 of 15 in Leon
190 reviews
0.3 mi away
Poco a Poco Hostel
Poco a Poco Hostel
#1 of 62 in Leon
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal La Tortuga Booluda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal La Tortuga Booluda

Address: From the SW Corner Of the Central Park 3.5 Blocks West, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 Specialty Lodging in Leon
Price Range: $18 - $28 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of the city of Leon Nicaragua, Hostal La Tortuga Booluda (The Lazy Turtle) offers a relaxing multi-cultural atmosphere, comfortable dorm beds and private rooms, free pancake breakfast, free organic coffee, open kitchen, free internet, free pool table, a complete book exchange, house guitars, self-service bar, one-on-one Spanish classes, and more. La Tortuga Booluda is a home away from home for the traveler who is looking for a mellow and comfortable base to soak in the culture and history of this great colonial town. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hostal La Tortuga Booluda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostal La Tortuga Booluda Hotel Leon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing