We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Real
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Hotel Real is a very beautiful place to spend a day or two. The two-story building is situated in an inner court saturated with green hanging plants and bushes giving it a lovely homely atmosphere. All areas of the hotel are decorated tastefully with paintings and other artifacts. when reaching your room through the second floor corridor/balcony you enjoy seeing the quaint surroundings of red tiled roofs and inner courts. The hotel also has a roof top with reclining chairs to admire a starry night or just enjoy a night cap.

The hotel is centrally located and one can walk to many restaurants, bars and tourist attractions. Local people from Leon boast that the city is one of the safest in the country. One person said there were 15 churches in the city to admire. The city has great history.

Hotel staff members are friendly and service is very good.

We did not have breakfast because we left early in the morning for a volcano visit.

Room had basic amenities, was clean, nicely decorated and the beds had good sturdy mattresses. The double bed was a bit too small for two adults, but there was an additional bed . Everything functioned in the room and hot water was available. The room however was a bit too small for two people. We were running into each other moving around.

All in all we left with a good impression of the place!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank SunnyW358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 190 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2013

We visit Leon quite often and bring friends when we come. Everyone always asks, "Are we staying at the Hotel Real?!" The rooms, breakfast, and courtyard are great. A/C, clean rooms & warm showers. Some of the staff speaks English and everyone is kind and very helpful. We always look forward to seeing our friends at the Hotel Real!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JennJWhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

I am not a native Spanish speaker, but I do pretty well. It came in handy at this hotel and English speakers were not in the majority (which is fine by me).

The staff went out of their way to work with us on reservations via e-mail as our trip plans got shuffled around. When we arrived, they helped us park our rental Hilux truck right in front of the hotel. The included breakfast each morning was nice and the service personable. (Keep an eye out for the two resident turtles that live in the courtyard. BTW, they like papaya.)

We were within walking distance of many attractions. The tour company for the Cerro Negro volcano boarding picked us up at the hotel. Leon was full of activity and you could hear fireworks going off in the near distance. The view from the rooftop patio is nice.

Leon, as a whole, was not my favorite place in Nicaragua. Being a woman in her 40's seeking peace and tranquility, it felt very much like a college town that called to the 20-something partying tourist crowd. Hotel Leon was a place into which we retreated with the kids to get away from the chaos in the streets.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ginger L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had a lovely stay here in July. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable and the location was pretty hard to beat. The staff were very courteous and helpful. The man at the front desk speaks English, which was very helpful as we are pathetic when it comes to Spanish. The breakfast was very fresh and filling, better than your average continental breakfast. And all this came at a very reasonable price! I Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachaeljean13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

An inexpensive option. The rooms are basic but clean, have AC, and private bathroom. The complimentary breakfast each day was very good and served in a beautiful garden. The staff are lovely and will help you with whatever you need. The location was a perfect starting point for our self-guided walking tours of this excellent city. León is a gem, we wished we had more time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarriefromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. Hospitality and service were outstanding.

The room was simple but stunningly clean. So quiet one would never know you were so close to the center.

Staff helped us with directions and recommended some best place to visit in Leon

A good opcion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Hotel Real was a wonderful find for my stay in Leon. For an unbeatable price, I had a room with AC, private bathroom, breakfast each morning, etc. The rooms were mostly kept up and the ambiance of the courtyard and the overlook of the city from the roof made for a memorable experience in Leon. Don't get caught up in more pricey hotels in the area, they don't offer anything more except a larger bill.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
Thank Nevergo33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#3 of 15 in Leon
350 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Address: Iglesia la Recoleccion 1 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range: $76 - $78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing