We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel in Leon”
Review of Hotel Real

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Real
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Decent hotel in Leon”
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I selected this hotel for our stay in Leon based off of Trip Advisor reviews. The location was great - a few blocks from the main square. We were put off by a few issues: we had cockroaches and mouse feces in our room. Cockroaches happen, I get it, I lived in Honduras for years. Mouse poop should be easier to get rid of. Our room had no outside window and it was pretty darn musty. I felt like for the price, we should have been getting a better quality hotel. What we got was a 2 star hotel and I was expecting a solid 3 star hotel at $50 a night - cleanliness was the big issue here. And the staff wasn't overly friendly even though we speak fluent Spanish and were super nice. We ended up eating breakfasts at Libulela Coffee Shop even though the breakfast was included in the room rate because the food was mediocre. Sorry, guys! I have to be honest.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kassi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    64
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
88
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kibbutz Gezer, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

just want to say that the good reviews of this place are absolutely accurate, and i thank all you folks for leading us to the Hotel Real! good location, pretty place, great rooftop, good breakfast,nice and helpful staff. and a good price for getting both hot water and air-conditioning.

Room Tip: stay upstairs, it's cooler and quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kunmingirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Great breakfast included...scrambled egg, pancakes and syrup, tea, juice, jam,
toast etc....surrounded by the jungle ferns etc in the lovely courtyard. From the
rooftop lookout we are ringed by old churches and further afield by volcanoes -
especially San Cristobal sending even bigger billowing clouds of ash into
the sky and blotting out the early morning sun.
Rooms are bright and clean, the owner - an elderly chap who lives out the back takes an interest in everyone. Very friendly helpful reception staff.
Location is fine - can walk in all directions to explore the town.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIWIBOB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay here. Friendly staff, clean rooms, relaxed setting, nice AC, decent hot water, good breakfast, wonderful courtyard, and great rooftop terrace. We liked that there were Nicaraguans staying there, not just all westerners.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jafatuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife
Level Contributor
183 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights towards the end of my trip in Nicaragua & really liked the place.
Small cosy but comfortable room with good A/C & plenty hot water. Good breakfast (esp if you get pancakes!).
Fab view from the rooftop terrace to admire the distant volcanoes or sunset.
In a quiet street but a short walk from the cathedral & bars/restaurants.
Lovely airy courtyard to relax in with comfy rocking chairs.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doofer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
250 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Once we’d worked out where this place was (once you’ve found it you wonder why you couldn’t find it first time!) you get transported into a really nice, friendly and relaxed little place with a nice courtyard where you get a nice simple breakfast. The room was very adequate, not amazing but certainly nothing wrong with it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesF_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The hotel is in a nice neighbourhood, the service was excellent and some english was offered (which is rare). The rooms were clean and the bed was pretty good, unfortunately my room had no hot water. The instantaneous shower head water heaters are fussy and I have had many that don't work.
Stay at this hotel if you are going to Leon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frenchconnections
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Leon hotels
0.2 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
0.3 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#7 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Las Mercedes Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cacique Adiact
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Real? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Real

Property: Hotel Real
Address: Iglesia la Recoleccion 1 1/2 Cuadra Al Este, Leon 505, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Real reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing