We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
La Posada del Doctor
Nearby Hotels
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$102
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$23
$21
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveler rating
28
32
11
10
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
28
32
11
10
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely courtyardrooms are smallcozy hotelflat screen tvhot watercomfortable bedswould definitely stay here againcouple of nightsincluded breakfasta great place to staythe kitchenfew blockspolloturtlesnicaraguamattresssleeping
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 83 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Before arriving at this hotel, we were told it had a restaurant and travel agent, it has neither!. It is located 4 -6 blocks from any restaurants. We were the only ones staying there, and they gave us thier smallest room, very hard bed,with almost no light, and tiny bathroom. It has a really nice courtyard area, and is very clean. The morning breakfast consisted of yesterdays coffee(asked for fresh, they said no), stale toast, and unripe fruit. We were quoted $40/night when we reserved, but at check out they tried to charge us $60! Luckily I had printed it out, so they had to grudgingly back down!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank horsefly2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We stayed here for one night on a tour of Central America. The hotel comprises just eleven rooms set around a courtyard in what was a doctor's house (hence the name). Because it is a conversion, the rooms are small with very little storage space. As we were only staying the one night and did not need to unpack, this was not a problem - but lack of space would become an issue if you spent more than a couple of nights here.

The rooms were also fairly dark, and the air conditioning could not be turned down meaning that it got too cold in the room at night.

Having said that, the beds were comfortable and the rooms were clean. Service at reception was excellent, and breakfast was very good. The breakfast was served up on a tray (fruit, coffee, juice, and hot food) so that you could choose where in the courtyard to eat - you could sit on stools at high tables near to the kitchen or could relax in low comfortable chairs with the tray on your lap.

The hotel does not serve lunch or dinner but a five minute walk way (but I walk quite fast) or ten minute walk away (for others) is the centre of Leon, with its restaurants and bars, so this was not an issue.

Of the eight hotels I stayed in during the trip, this was certainly one of the top three!

Interestingly, despite its small size, there was also a small conference room in the complex - this would make a lovely location for team building courses or in-house conferences.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DuncanHockley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2011

The good bits:
The location is good, just off one of the main squares in town, and easy to walk to the cathedral and the rest of the centre of Leon. The hotel is small and the main courtyard is nice to hang around in. Like many places in Nicaragua, there are a bunch of rocking chairs - it's very easy to end up spending an hour or two sitting on one of these in the main courtyard watching the fountain (although you may want to ask reception to mute the TV as it rather spoils the effect). There's also free Internet which works well.

The bad bits:
The rooms are frankly lousy. Lighting is poor, rooms are small, and bathrooms really need to be improved. Breakfast is not worth bothering with at all - you are far better off going to a nearby cafe. For central America, the room was overpriced. Compared to hotels in Granada and San Juan del Sur, the room was way overpriced.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pmbma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2010

My son and I retreated from the heat and humidity of Leon to the Posada del Doctor and it's air conditioning. The A.C. units are new, quiet and powerful. Air conditioning is not common in Nicaragua and it's expensive so don't expect a hostel rate. Still costs were reasonable and we were given a discount for our 11 days. At first the rooms will seem small, and they are, but there is a large courtyard with flat screen TV and comfortable caned rockers. The breakfast is usually fruit, juice and eggs - a great day starter. The best part of our stay was our interaction with the staff who were helpful and friendly. Most don't speak English but will call some one who does. Their sister hotel is the San Juan, a couple of blocks away.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mr_gerbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I booked this hotel after looking at the website and I was very disappointed. The rooms in the hotel were small and dark. The bathroom was also small and did not have a real door. The rooms had zero ambiance or character. On the plus side, the place was clean, the courtyard was nice and the hotel was on a quiet street but still within a short walk to town. Overall, I thought it was overpriced given the large number of hotels in Leon.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelChild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews