We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Nearby Hotels
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$55
$53
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$106
Travelocity
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
21
45
31
13
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
21
45
31
13
19
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
76 - 81 of 129 reviews
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We had made a reservation at another property in Las Peñitas which wasn't going to cut it once we saw it up close. We checked in there and decided to take a deep breath and have a walk down the beach to find a place to eat and decide what to do. We had driven from southern Nicaragua and taken the "old" road to Leon which resulted in a lot of off roading style driving and we were feeling a bit overwhelmed (the road from Leon to Las Peñitas was under some construction too.) We knew when we booked our holiday to Nicaragua we didn't know what we were in for in some ways so we had to roll with it.
We passed Hotel Supaya Beach and noticed the restaurant looked nice so on our way back we stopped in to check it out. We asked about a room for the two nights we had planned to be there and were quoted less than what we'd already booked and this room included AC which we decided we needed. We were able to "check out" of our other hotel and switched over in less than an hour. The restaurant was perfect for us, lots of fresh options and good drinks and a gorgeous ocean view. If we had booked in advance we could have booked a room with an ocean view as well so if we return we definitely will. The pool was a nice option as a place to relax and read after the beach as well. The staff and owners were sweet and accommodating and we would love to take a trip back. Las Peñitas is really a surfers and locals beach so if you are up for strong surf and beautiful sun, this is a place you definitely need to hit.

Stayed: November 2008
1  Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2008

Was working in Managua and wanted to check out Poneloya/Las Penitas beaches. A Nicaraguan friend recommended Hotel Suyapa Beach as the only real "hotel" in this area. It is located in Las Penitas Beach, about half an hour drive from Leon (they are improving/paving the road currently). Las Penitas is basically a one road town along a tranquil beach for about a mile and a half. The beach is beautiful, unspoiled, and uncrowded by tourists or hawkers. The ocean in front of Hotel Suyapa beach has a little rocky point with safe swimming, wading on both sides (when surf is not too big). The hotel rooms are clean, the staff is friendly, the food is great and at bargain prices. The restaurant is out beachfront, almost all tables have fantastic views. Pool is small but nice. No elevator, room service, phones in room, and yes, sheets are under pillow, not on bed. 30 meters to the north on the beach is the Playa Roca Hostel, bar and restaurant with tables in the sand, decent food, a pool table, and wifi. Surfing in this area is fantastic. The best tour is through the mangroves located behing and to the south of Las Penitas, they have a turtle reserve area there with baby hatchlings much of the year. Don't miss.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank TravelCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We stayed at this hotel to try a different beach than Pochomil, and because Montelimar was booked.

We read previous reviews and were a little skeptical. However, the pool was functioning (big enough for children only) and the rooms were clean and had silent air conditioning. Although the rooms were small, the beds were also comfortable. The previous review from Georgia was correct in that the bed sheet is folded and placed under the pillow rather than the normal way a bed is made for North Americans, However, they cleaned the room everyday and provided new linen.

The restaurant is excellent and the food is better than Montelimar. The service is a little slow but the seafood is amazing. You cannot get 2 whole lobsters on one dish for 260 cordobas in Managua, as you can here. The plates were all very large and the taste impecable. Most times we could not finish our meal and started sharing plates by the second day. Most dishes cost 180-200 cordobas.

The beach is very good, but the waves are suited more for surfing than swimming. The undertow can be quite strong and no child under 13 should be allowed more than ankle deep. We had several waves that knocked us (200 lb. person) completely over as we liked to stand knee-waist deep and let the waves hit us.

The hotel should cost $42 for one night (2 people) and we spent half as much as we would have had we stayed at Monmtelimar.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank calgary_nicaragua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2008

This hotel is located on a beautiful beach, has a great restaurant, but the rooms leave a lot to be desired. This is a popular area for surfers (which we are not) and most rooms at most of the hotels in the area were booked. We had no reservations when we arrived in Las Penitas and really took what was available. The rooms were OK, but the sheets were folded and under the bedspread for the guest to put on the bed and the shower had only cold water. During almost 7 weeks of travel in Central America we were used to just about everything, but making our own bed in a hotel (not hostel) was a bit much. The rooms were small with only a double bed in our room; there was a lot of normal maintenance that would have helped. The pool was under renovation when we were there. The one night we were there it sounded like a generator or something did not work and it rattled the hotel for hours during the middle of the night. We paid about $42.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MikLinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2018, traveled with friends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews