We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect sun setas”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Suyapa Beach

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Suyapa Beach
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Perfect sun setas”
Reviewed July 19, 2011

Stayed 3 nights July 2011, Clean room (family room) 1 double 2 singles+ AC $50 included breakfast, We found the staff very friendly and the seafood fresh and fantastic but beware the portions are huge,I ordered Lobster and got 4 medium lobster +2 extra tails. the kids loved the total freedom the beach and pool, the views and sunsets are great but things do close a little early but the kids were ready for bed at 8 perfect..Would we go again YES !!!!.. just try to remember it is Nicaragua Tranquilo...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chippy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    42
    28
    10
    18
See reviews for
24
35
10
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneseo, New York
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2011

My wife and I stayed 2 days at Hotel Suyapa in late January, and had a terrific time! It is well maintained, has the perfect location on the beach, and their reputation for excellent seafood is well deserved. The staff were friendly and attentive, our room well kept, with a great ocean view. This is not our first stay at Hotel Suyapa, nor will it be our last. We considered it to be a great travel value, as is Nicaragua in general. We would return there without hesitation...in fact, we have never had a bad experience there, and we have stayed there 3 or 4 times before. We look forward to our next trip to the beautiful country of Nicaragua, and our next stay at Hotel Suyapa.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Timoteo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2010

the staff are so rude and not friendly at all,, the rroms are not nice and the y have no hot water,to expensive to stay here not worth it at all,the only good thing is the beautiful ocean view and some of the restaurants food,and another thing the restaurant closes to early i believe 7 pm or earlier. terrible service very terrible!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Leon hotels

New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

This place is totally over priced. The food is not good, the staff is rude, and for 50 dollars a night (outrageous in Nicaragua) it is not worth it. The AC sounded like a bear was in our room, which lead to no sleep. The view from the balcony was amazing (overlooking the water), probably the only good thing. There are so many better choices down the road towards the dead end of Las Penitas. One of the worst places I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VNYNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2009

We stayed two nights in a non-airconditioned room, with a tv but no cable (=couple of all-Spanish channels). It was quite expencive, but they had a pool, so we decided to stay there. At first it seemed ok - the towels had been folded into swans and everything. Then with a better look it wasn't that nice at all. Not that clean, everything very basic, you could hear everything trough the walls... The pool was quite dirty too, with bugs and leaves and such. And very cold water!

It still may have been a nice experience, but the worst thing was the staff. No smiles, no hellos, no nothing! We tried everything: speaking Spanish, greeting, smiling - no response, just fed-up faces. And this is Nicaragua we're talking about, it is very hard to find even one rude person there - well, in Suyapa beach there were many.
We switched hotels after those two nights, we just didn't enjoy ourselves there.

The food in the restaurant is excellent, though. I recommend you stay somewhere else and come to Suyapa beach for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cerenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod, ma
Level Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2009

One of the largest hotels in Las Penitas. The rooms were basic, clean enough, with good views and some w/ AC. They had issues with water and drains, the shower/basin/toilet drained VERY slowly, and the typical room temperature (not hot) showers that seem to pervade Nica. Ran a VERY noisy pump (either water in/sewage out) at 6am!! (on more than one occassion!!) The staff was pleasant but not friendly. They cater to the locals and get most of their business from them, and seem to prefer it that way. Sometimes you felt they were just tolerating you. The restaurant was excellent, but closed early (7pm) for dinner, some nights earlier, Sunday's not at all. Weekends are very busy with lots of locals, especially Sunday lunch. The location was excellent, right on the beach, the nightguard was the nicest of the staff, and the overall value was good, especially the meals. If you are looking for help in sightseeing or setting up tours - this is NOT the place. If your spanish es bueno, you'll do ok. The restaurant was a definate recommend.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windcall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We had made a reservation at another property in Las Peñitas which wasn't going to cut it once we saw it up close. We checked in there and decided to take a deep breath and have a walk down the beach to find a place to eat and decide what to do. We had driven from southern Nicaragua and taken the "old" road to Leon which resulted in a lot of off roading style driving and we were feeling a bit overwhelmed (the road from Leon to Las Peñitas was under some construction too.) We knew when we booked our holiday to Nicaragua we didn't know what we were in for in some ways so we had to roll with it.
We passed Hotel Supaya Beach and noticed the restaurant looked nice so on our way back we stopped in to check it out. We asked about a room for the two nights we had planned to be there and were quoted less than what we'd already booked and this room included AC which we decided we needed. We were able to "check out" of our other hotel and switched over in less than an hour. The restaurant was perfect for us, lots of fresh options and good drinks and a gorgeous ocean view. If we had booked in advance we could have booked a room with an ocean view as well so if we return we definitely will. The pool was a nice option as a place to relax and read after the beach as well. The staff and owners were sweet and accommodating and we would love to take a trip back. Las Peñitas is really a surfers and locals beach so if you are up for strong surf and beautiful sun, this is a place you definitely need to hit.

Stayed November 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank Molly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leon
11.1 mi away
Azul Hotel & Restaurante
11.1 mi away
La Perla Hotel
La Perla Hotel
#6 of 15 in Leon
281 reviews
11.4 mi away
Hotel San Juan de Leon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Hotel El Convento
Hotel El Convento
#2 of 15 in Leon
334 reviews
0.1 mi away
Simple Beach Lodge
Simple Beach Lodge
#1 of 11 in Las Penitas
44 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
Bomalu Nicaragua Beach House
#2 of 11 in Las Penitas
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Suyapa Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Suyapa Beach

Property: Hotel Suyapa Beach
Address: Las Penitas Poneloya, Leon, Nicaragua
Location: Nicaragua > Leon Department > Leon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 15 Hotels in Leon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Suyapa Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 344
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Suyapa Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suyapa Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing