We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish there was an elevator!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish there was an elevator!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I was a little hesitant to stay here based on the reviews, but was pleasantly surprised when we arrived. It was the day of their grand reopening following the renovations, and they still had contractors finishing up. There were still some glitches and not everything had arrived, but the entrance was beautiful with fresh paint and carpeting everywhere. The beds are still hard, which we found to be the case at all Comfort Inns. We were told they would be getting new pillowtops to go over the mattresses. Overall, we would stay here again, just on the first floor since there is no elevator.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryNJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    46
    53
    14
    14
See reviews for
65
63
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munising, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I've been staying at the comfort inn for years now, they did updating this fall and looks amazing. The service was excellent from the front desk to the pub that is located in the comfort inn. When we checked in we all got a free drink chip to use on anything we wanted. Great atmosphere will continue to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Place old and needs some update,room we stayed mold etc,traveling with children maybe choose different spot,little to far from Town.Closer to pictured rocks state park and other activities.If booking in advanced better stay in cabins for all weekend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vaidas v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
231 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This motel is approximate 2.5 miles from downtown Munising and the scenic areas along Lake Superior. Check-in was quick and the front desk attendant was very friendly, provided a map of the area and offered several suggestions on where to walk our carin terrier. She also recommended several restaurants. Our room had a flat screen TV with quite a few channels, no microwave nor a refrigerator. Those were available in the breakfast area.

Our room was on the first floor and it was clean. Breakfast was the normal Comfort Inn offerings. Cinnamon waffles were offered along with the original flavor.

I did think the rate was high for the area, but we did not price check other motels. Sometimes locally owned motels offer a better value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovetoWalk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mears, MI & Palmetto, FL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

Stayed Saturday night at the beginning of Fall color tour season and it was fully booked. That made the noise worse than it might have been otherwise.

Pros: Room was fine. Newer TV with HD on some channels

Cons: Fairly pricey. Nearly $100. Also about 3 miles from Munising

Room Tip: Don't get a room near the main entrance at the center ot the building. You hear all the coming a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wataview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax,VA
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

This hotel is not directly located in the town, so we had to drive a bit down the road to find it. Check in went well, no issues here. The staff was helpful to guide us to Muldoon's for a pasty and gave us directions and tips for the Pictured Rocks boat tour that we were to take the next morning. Our room was clean and functional. The bed was extra firm (some family members loved this feature), and the decor was mix and match. The TV was from a couple of years ago too, but got some cable stations that some of the other hotels that we stayed at didn't (Food Network!). Breakfast the next morning was a bit limited. There were egg disks, sausage gravy and biscuits (I made a sandwich out of mine), delicious doughnuts, and English Muffins. The only outstanding problem was the loud squeal noise coming from the plumbing when the shower was turned on.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChefKFairfax_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakton, Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

The Comfort Inn is an older property several miles outside Munising. It appears to have been recently renovated (wall paper, carpeting, bath room) and is clean. We had two double beds, a no smoking room, and I think all the rooms on the first floor are no-smoking. My ten-year old granddaughter said, "Look at all the space, they could have put in a refrigerator and microwave!" We really missed the refrigerator & didn't realize until morning that there was a microwave in the breakfast room (which is part of the bar in the evening.) The room included a small table and two side chairs, good reading lights by the beds and a floor lamp, an iron and ironing board, hair dryer, traditional television, full length mirror, two nice duck prints. The new carpeting was oddly lumpy. Beds were a bit hard but pillows were good (not hard lumps.) I was pleasantly surprised by the array of foods at breakfast--I didn't expect much. With my AARP card the rate was $120; all the hotels in this area seem to run a bit high. We could have stayed at the Holiday Inn Express on the other side of town, but I was budgeting for the sunset cruise of Pictured Rocks, and that was excellent. The pool is open very late, but we didn't use it. We arrived after 10:00 pm and left at 7:00 am.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a few doors down from the ice maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kris25_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
3.0 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
0.4 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
2.3 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising

Property: Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Address: State Route 28 (M-28) East, Munising, MI 49862 (Formerly Comfort Inn)
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising 2*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Boarders Inn and Suites in Munising, Michigan. Our beautiful hotel is conveniently located near everything that Munising, Michigan has to offer including Munising Memorial Hospital, Alger Maximum Correctional, Kewadin Christmas Casino, Grand Island Ferry Service, and more. Our hotel provides easy access for traveling to and from Michigan Highway 28 and H-58. Located east of U.S. Highway 41, our hotel is within 65 miles of Escanaba, Michigan. In town for business? The Boarders Inn and Suites of Munising, Michigan offers easy access to Neenah Paper, Superior Sawmill, and much more! In town for some fun? Check out Kewadin Christmas Casino, Pictured Rocks Golf Club, Picture Rocks National Lakeshore, Pictured Rock Cruises, Uncle Ducky Outdoors, Glass Bottom Shipwreck Tours, Johnny Dogs, Sydney's Restaurant, Golden Heart Chinese Thai Restaurant, The Frozen Flamingo, Mitchy's Movies & Laser Tag, Dogpatch Restaurant, Bay Furnace Bagel Works, Main Street Pizza, and much more. At the Boarders Inn and Suites in Munising, Michigan you will feel at home with microwaves, refrigerators, luxury linens, Wolf Gang Puck Coffee, and flat-panel televisions in every guest room. We offer our guests the amenities and services they need with 24-hour Wolf Gang Puck Coffee Service, Complimentary Hot Breakfast Buffet, 24-hour Guest Laundry, 24-hour Onsite Convenience Store, Fitness Center, High Speed Wireless Internet Access, onsite Beer and Wine Bar, an Indoor pool and Hot Tub and so much more! At the Boarders Inn and Suites, you will receive "Big City Quality, Small Town Values..." each stay. Make your reservations today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Munising
Munising Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing