We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
piperz2
Wauwatosa, Wisconsin
1 review
“Outdated trailer on lovely lake”
Reviewed July 17, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Ostrander retreat is in the deep woods,on a lovely quiet lake, where I enjoyed nightly canoe trips with my husband and brother. We are all campers, so never expect plush accommodations, but do expect a place that looks a bit up to date, rather than a 70's mobile home filled with dusty brick brack, dirty carpets and a couch and chair with quite an odor. The outside could be lovely, but looked like a mishmash of unfinished projects everywhere one looked Perhaps, for a group of guys looking for a quiet lake to fish or hunt, this would work out well, but if you don't like the smell of mildew, don't come here! Also, bring your own towels because those supplied smell horrible! The owner does not a map with directions, so you either need to pick up a sim card at his house (we had nothing that accommodates a sim) or meet him at a local store, so that he can drive you there. It is about 30-40 minutes from Musining. We spent all day hiking near Pictured Rocks, so only used the "cabin" for a late dinner, sleep and breakfast.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lake and View
Liked least: mildew odor
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 18, 2016
We are sorry you weren't comfortable. We would have addressed any issues you had. We are about 20 minutes from Munising. While our place isn't new it offers privacy and is less expensive then many places in town. You are not next to 30 tents or paying $40 a night to camp bringing your own stuff. Thank you for your input.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing