We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pictured Rocks Cruises

Pictured Rocks Cruises
Ranked #1 of 7 Tours in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Come aboard Pictured Rocks Cruises, the only boat cruise touring the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Pictured Rocks Cruises, Inc. is the only authorized concessionaire of the National Park Service to provide interpretive programming on cruises of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore. Pictured Rocks Cruises has been guiding the public to view the magnificent Pictured Rocks for over 50 years.“The Only Official Boat Cruise of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore”
Friendship, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
156 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

This is a must do! We toured at 10AM 9/26/13. The captain and Forest ranger were very informative as we toured. The opportunity for photos were many. The only thing that was a bit diturbing is watching one of the employees eat his large bag of sun chips facing all of us sitting in the lower level and then proceeded to pick his teeth! If he would have just sat with his back to us we would never have noticed.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sandra5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,530 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,169
    289
    52
    14
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Traverse City, Michigan
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nature's grand grafitti”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Take the boat ride, revel in the astonishing beauty of this 2-hour and 45-minute tour. Words do not paint an adequate picture of Pictured Rocks. Alone, the striations of color created by groundwater seepage would be impressive; add the formations themselves and the shoreline is awe-inspiring. Even pictures rarely do these justice. Imagination and your eyes will tease and trick you and you'll be grateful. Early autumn is an excellent time to come--fewer people (although still very busy), and the foliage is changing color. Umbers and reds, golds, magentas and evergreens crowning the rocks with their own surprising hues...get there!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JWrites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poynette, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Enjoyable ride”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We took the 3:30PM cruise on a sunny September afternoon. The scenery was good and the narration was great and easy to understand. It was chilly in the late afternoon so be sure to take warm jackets. The only problem we had was that the sun was in our eyes on the return trip to the dock.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bucky5860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Miss Superiors excursion along the shore”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Pleasant, informative 2 hour boat ride, a little chilly on top deck in Sept, wish I had sat on the right of the boat for better view, and wore sun screen on my face.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank P N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Wow, so wonderful to have a beautiful lakeshore in Michigan, we enjoyed our cruise, and the history of The Pictured Rocks!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pictured Rocks Cruises also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Pictured Rocks Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing