We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 GENERATIONS TRAVELING ACROSS THE YOOP.”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“3 GENERATIONS TRAVELING ACROSS THE YOOP.”
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I called the morning I was leaving to head up North. I spoke with Jerry who was the most AMAZING host I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with. We did not arrive until very late, Jerry was very accomidating to our late arrival and our check out time. The motel was set slightly outside the main city but still very close to everything. My mother, grandmother and I stayed in the largest room so we could each have our own bed. The room was huge and worked very well for us. The room was very clean. There was fresh coffee available in the morning and also a public kitchen available as well. The price was right too! I STRONGLY BELIEVE IN SUPPORTING FAMILY OWNED AND RUN BUSINESSES, ESPECIALLY WHEN THEY PROVIDE SUCH A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE AND AMAZING CUSTOMER SERVICE.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorax578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    96
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
81
128
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eau Claire, Wisconsin
1 review
Reviewed October 4, 2010

Nice place to stay. Have stayed here twice. Once in August and once in October. The new owner, Larry, is putting a lot of work in maintaining a nice property. New showers in the rooms we stayed in. Larry is a great resource for what to do around Munising.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melgoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2010

girlfriend found the motel and called larry the host ,larry was great to her on the phone so she booked it the place is old but clean larry was very helpful with the sites around town if you want a place to sleep and see the sites stay here if you want to stay in a luxurious snobby hotel go some place else

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

Nothing fancy, but all we needed and we were very happy with this motel. It is in a quiet neighborhood off the highway but easy to find. The room was clean and had recently been refurbished. They have a public area with a sauna, refrigerator, microwave, and a nice pool table which we didn't use but could be very handy. As other reviewers have said, the owner is very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arctictis_binturong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockford
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed at the Terrace on a recent UP tour. Larry is terriffic!!! He is very proud of his Motel and it shows. The rooms are old but well cared for and very clean. He has a nice game room with a sauna and kitchen. The view of the harbor is nice and he couldn't be more helpful or cordial. You are definitely an accomadated guest.
The AARP rate was under $50!!! This room was cleaner and showed more pride than our room in the Grand Hotel which we stayed in on this trip.
The Motel is an easy and pleasant walk to downtown
You could pay more elsewhere but i don't know why you would.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KAG102013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, WI
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2010

We recently returned from a trip to the U.P. Stayed overnight at the Terrace Motel and had a wonderful stay. We found the rooms simple, but clean and efficient. The owner (Larry) was superbly helpful at every step of the way! Pride of ownership is obvious and we will return many more times when traveling north to visit Michigan. He provided us with information about where to eat, which Falls to see and accomodated our very late arrival. Can't wait to go back to the area, and we will stay again at the Terrace Motel.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eaner921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gr, michigan
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2010

This was the cheapest hotel on our Lake Superior Circle Tour by motorcycle. In talking with the owner on the phone I found him very helpful and kind. We received a 10% AAA discount so we paid less than $50. You get what you pay for! The room was clean though the carpet was stained - looked like water had run out of the bathroom onto the carpet at some time. The bedspread was starting to look very worn and the furniture a little beat up. The pillows were very flat so we had to ask for some extras which the owner graciously provided. And the bed was very hard. On the positive side we had told the owner we were coming by motorcycle and he provided us with a room where the parking was level which was a great help to us!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cyclingduo30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
0.2 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing