We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Grand Ledge, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

The Terrace also has a 3 bdrm house on site that it rents out. Stayed there Sept. 2013. Kitchen stocked with cooking and eating utensils,also a coffeemaker and microwave. Island in the kitchen and plenty of room in the dining area with a nice size table and chairs. Living room with gas fireplace & large picture window. The front porch is great for sitting outside and relaxing. So nice to be able to "move in" and "stretch out" when you get there and enjoy the comforts of home while you are away from home. Place was very clean and well kept. Larry, the owner is wonderful, very knowledgeable about the area...things to do, places to go, restuarants. He is always nearby and very accessible. Plenty of room in the house for a family or group to stay and enjoy. Already planning on return trip this summer...can't wait!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deb N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    92
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
122
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Jenison, Michigan
Level Contributor
76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

I discovered the Terrace in 2007 and have returned at least once a year since. It is a great location right off of M-28 in town. It is close to all that Munising has to offer - Lake Superior, Pictured rocks, Waterfalls and is not too far from Marquette (or Houghton really) or Newberry and Tahq Falls in the other direction. The old and new owners were and are fantastic. Each room is unique, some with wallpaper others with wood paneled walls. There is cable, wireless internet and a nice bathroom in each room. (Bring your own toiletries though). There is a community area with a fridge, microwave, pool table etc. and a snowmobile repair shop. It is not far from a grocery store and a gas station, nestled back in the neighborhood. Walking distance to Sydney's restaurant as well. There is coffee for guests in the lobby office as well as brochures and coupons for UP attractions. I have stayed in the Fall and awoke to amazing colors outside my window looking up the hillside. I have stayed in the Summertime (fans needed! no AC) and sat out on the porch of the room until well past dark. And also during winter (one of the only guests without a sled) and enjoyed a snowy hike to Wagner Falls and a trip over to Winter Carnival at MTU. It is taken me this long to rate on Trip Advisor because I have never encountered a No Vacancy and want it to stay that way so I can take spontaneous trips up north but they deserve a top rating. Just book in advance for the peak seasons. The most recent trip was with family, but I have been here alone, with my husband and with friends. Each time has been great. The owner is very helpful and friendly and I love this place. Can't beat the price! Remember, it is not the Hilton but a motel in a small town up north. Expectations should be akin. :)

Room Tip: Away from the community area if you don't want to hear the kids playing. I love the wood panele...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Megan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marengo, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I have stayed at the Terrace before but with the new mattress's this place can't be beat. The owner is friendly and very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms are very clean and the rates are good too. The location is great. You're close to just about everything, within walking distance to many places in town, in a quiet residential area (not right on the highway), and perfect for snowmobilers in the winter. Snowmobile parking right at your door and the trail is right out of the Terrace's backyard. You can stay in town and not have to touch a single street or worry about curfews. Definitely the best place in the area for snowmobilers to stay, location, location, location. Highly reccomended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTw0OfUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madision
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

We stayed in the hotel this past June 2013. The room had a smell to it. The carpet was dirty. We could see dirty footprints across the carpet. The bathroom sink would not drain. The bathroom drain was also missing the fittings in the drain. The beds were not comfortable. I was happy to sleep in my tent the next night which I knew was clean. I would seriously consider spending more money at a different place before staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greug J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

A place a dad could really go for! Posh as posh needs to be. It was a fantastic stay! Friendly owners and hot showers! Steps away from good restaurants, good beers, and minutes from pictured rocks. Me and my kids will be back for another trip for sure. Reminds me of my grandfathers hunting camp. Dad city, baybeh!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

I found The Terrace Motel clean, quiet, and reasonably priced. I stayed there in early autumn on the second night of a five-day Mom & Son road trip. My son reserved the two-room suite for us and it was perfect. Larry's suggestions for supper and breakfast also were on the money and his directions to the Pictured Rocks area saved us quite a bit of time -- otherwise we would have gotten lost due to road-construction detours.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saline
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2013

My wife and I backpacked Pictured Rocks and needed a place to stay before and after. Terrace Motel was great. It was inexpensive, comfortable and it was a quick walk into town. Like many have said, Larry is such a great host. When we got back from our backpacking trek several days later, he greeted us and asked how the trek was.

There are some larger hotels outside of Munising, but they cost much more and aren't, in my opinion, ideal locations. I'd definitely recommend Terrace.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmc1of3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.4 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing