We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good price but...”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Monroe, Michigan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very good price but...”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

If you are looking for a quiet, cheap place to stay, this is the place. I can't imagine there is anything better priced out there. It is close to the Pictured Rocks, and the owner, Larry, is extremely friendly. He is great for information on places to eat and see. However, there are some downsides. If you want a comfortable bed with air conditioning and a clean shower, we didn't find this place to be it. All depends on what you're looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MunisingTerrace, Owner at Terrace Motel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
I am pleased that this guest found me helpful, but it distresses me they did not experience the Terrace as the clean place so many others have. It sounds like their stay in September was prior to the arrival, at the end of the month, of the new Serta Regal Suite II plush mattresses. I would welcome the chance to have them stay again, and to earn their satisfaction with every part of their guest experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    141
    92
    23
    14
    7
See reviews for
76
123
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gotzens, Austria
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

in a good motel. The room was clean, there is no aircondition in the room, but was not needed end of september. Larry, the owner, is a very friendly and helpful guy. It's a bit away from the highway, so it's really quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyingscorp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, Michigan
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Like many other have stated, Larry the owner, was very friendly. Upon check in he asked what we would be doing in the area and gave us some tips and suggestions. The room was very clean as well as the bathroom. A nice high sink (I know a strange thing to point out, but something I noticed and appreciated). Good show pressure. Sure there was only a couple of towels, but Larry had stated if we needed more to just ask. It didn't bother us there wasn't air conditioning. It was actually very refreshing to be able to open up the windows. Plus with the ceiling fan it made for a very comfortable sleep. Nice quiet motel and one we would definitely come back to if ever in the area. Great value for the money, only 55.00 bucks a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank red70d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, FL
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

As other reviewers have commented, there is no A/C but we arrived the second week of September and it was wonderful to be able to open windows, turn on the ceiling fans and enjoy the fresh air. Because it was off the main road, it was quiet. Also, Larry was so hospitable and maintains the property well. Our room was very clean an the building with a complete kitchen was a nice plus. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are traveling in a large group, request room 19. It is an end unit and has one bedroom with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LSLe_gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provo, Utah
Level Contributor
209 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed two nights. Room is clean, location in a good area. Larry the owner is very kind and has great suggestions of places to eat and things to do. We drove around to all the waterfalls in the area and really enjoyed our time here. The Terrace is an older motel but lovingly kept and a nice break from the chain motels. We sat on the porch and relaxed. Our dog was welcome and enjoyed his stay. We walked through the neighborhood and over by the lake. Wifi is spotty but close your computer and enjoy the scenery. :) Thanks Larry! Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room, number 1, was comfortable and spacious. No noise problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine, Illinois
Level Contributor
102 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a case of you get what you pay for. The Terrace Motel doesn’t have much, but it does have the basics. I liked the fact that you could go in a kitchen and use the appliances, wash dishes and get ice. On the downside, it was really stuffy in our basic room with no air conditioning. And what’s the deal with motels that don’t have blackout curtains?? The owners were nice and yea, I might stay there again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremen, Indiana
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We love staying at the Terrace Motel when we visit Munising. It is clean and comfortable. Larry, the owner, is a wonderful host. He is very helpful and shares information about places to eat and visit in the Munising area. The motel is located in a quiet neighborhood and very well kept both outside and inside. We enjoy the windows that can be opened to allow fresh air in the rooms. We also like having our car parked right by our room where it is easy to get in and out in nice wide parking spaces. We will stay at the Terrace Motel again when we visit Munising.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.4 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing