We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for the money”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Lansing, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great value for the money”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

This place was clean and spacious. For $65 we had two double beds and a separate "living room" with a futon and a television. Although we didn't use it, the shared kitchen was a nice convenience. There was also a sauna and a pool table for guest use.
The décor was a bit old and the carpet needed replacing but nevertheless everything was clean.
The bed sheets were very crisp and smooth! Location was great. We walked to a nice restaurant from our motel room.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolenzek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    96
    25
    14
    8
See reviews for
81
128
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Carleton, Michigan, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

I just happened to stumble upon The Terrace on tripadvisor looking for a good place to stay while visiting Pictured Rocks in Munising. What happened next is still quite shocking to me!! I stumbled upon a link on The Terrace website for Pictured Rocks Weddings and thought, man, would that ever be nice. I sent an email to the owner, Larry, asking how much of a notice he would need to marry my fiance and I (who've been engaged for 5 yrs and were not planning a wedding in any kind of way)??? We had already planned on coming up on Sunday, August 18th for only a day or two and I sent this, now rather important, email on the Thursday before, giving Larry a whopping 3 days notice!!! Lo and Behold, to my astonishment, we have now been married for a little over 2 days as I write this!!! If that's not accommodating your guests, I don't know what is!?!?!?! Larry immediately reserved us his only room available and awaited our arrival on Sunday to marry us at the beautiful Wagner Falls!! Enough about my crazy adventure and onto the good stuff.... the Terrace!! Our room was very neat, clean, smelled fresh and had the best water pressure in the shower!! There was a community type area with a full kitchen available for guests, pool table, sauna, and even a fire pit to build your own campfire out back! There's seating outside of your room to relax and enjoy a warm summers night and mingle with your neighbors while watching for the Northern Stars. You also have access to the ice machine, vending machine and lets not forget the free coffee in the morning!! Larry also makes sure that his guests are given a map of the area and highlights all of the best restaurants, attractions, things to see and do, etc. We've travelled to many, many places around the U.S. and have never been given the hospitality you will find at the Terrace!! We'll definitely be back again!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Nice quiet setting. Has an extra community room with full kitchen and pool table. Larry the owner knows everything there is to do in Munising. Great bang for your buck! Great location with lots of things to do with in Munising.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stayed in Munising last weekend for a family event with teenagers in tow. There wasn't much availability around, but we consider ourselves lucky to have found the Terrace Motel. It is basic accommodation, but very clean, friendly, close to all that Munising has to offer, and reasonably priced. We would definately stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 30196Cbc2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Larry the owner is the most hospitable owner I have ever met. He is an owner/tour guide in one! With that said, this is an older place, but clean and functional with a great location and even better price! Can't beat $65.00 a night!! The playground that is mentioned really needs some attention and the community kitchen could use a real scrub down, but how many mom and pops even offer these options?? The community kitchen / rec area was great as we shared food with another family that made things we wanted to try and same from us. If up in this area do not hesitate to stay at this place. Larry deserves your business and you will get a great nights sleep and a clean hot shower!

Room Tip: Make a reservation, it was full the whole time we were there
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMBC77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southeast Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

My three friends and I went to Munising last weekend to do some intensive hiking around the Pictured Rocks area and view some of the region's waterfalls. Terrace Motel was an excellent little central location from which to sally forth and return to at the end of a hard day of hiking. Rooms were very clean, it was close to downtown and easy to get places, and the game room was a ton of fun. Everybody there was very chill - Larry, the owner, was a great guy and a wealth of knowledge about where to eat, attractions, etc. The prices were very reasonable as well. I would definitely consider returning to Terrace Motel next time we head up that way.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phicampiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Great small hotel. Stayed in a two bedroom (room #10) for $60something a night. Worked out great with our 3 little kids. We used the kitchenette for at least one meal a day---that was great. Not a five star fancy hotel, but it did the job and was great for us.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank grape_43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
0.5 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
1.0 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
0.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
0.2 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Property: Terrace Motel
Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing