We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A True Taste of of the Upper Peninsula”
Review of Terrace Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Terrace Motel
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

If you are traveling to the great, beautiful upper peninsula, why stay in a cookie cutter basic, generic chain hotel?? This small one-of-a-kind hotel will give you a taste of the friendlines and welcoming feel that is the upper peninsula. Not glitz and glam, by any means, but a basic clean room that offers a welcoming feel. Close to town wih an owner who will offer any type of information and recommendations regarding anything going on in Munising.... he knows it all! The beds and pilllows are Ok. There is a community kitchen / grill area for longer stays. Recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laine9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (295)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

246 - 252 of 295 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2011

Stayed on Sept. 14, 2011. Great rate, helpful owner, Larry. Clean, quiet motel. Carpet could use a cleaning, but everything wlse was good. No frills, and you aren't paying for any that you don't use. Would stay again.

Room Tip: we were on the back side of the motel, away from game room/kitchen, etc, but we had no need for thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thbergs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2011

The Terrace Motel is on a quiet residential street, only a few blocks from downtown Munising and Lake Michigan. Like many motels in the Upper Peninsula, this motel is showing its age. However, Larry, the owner, is a real asset, hospitable and helpful. Also, pricing is highly competitive and attractive.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights. The place was very clean and comfortable. The shower was good and also the morning coffee. The owner was the most helpful that I have ever encountered. The bed was not a 5star bed but this the only negative. The owner said he was slowly replacing the beds. This hotel was a great value. I would strongly recommend it,

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kintzing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My husband and I are staying at the terrace and it has been a wonderful experience!!Larry has been wonderful since we got here he was betty helpful in pointing out places to eat and the local grocery store.The hotel has a game room for you to play pool and a kitchen you can cook in which was pretty cool.The motel is very clean and confortable and my husband and I slept very good! They will also come in a tidy up your room while you are out which was nice:) Thanks for the amazing trip Larry!!We will definantly be back hopefully soon!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anderson2126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We chose this hotel on a recent tour around the U.P. based on the Trip Advisor reviews and we were mostly OK with our two bedroom unit and the motel's facilities except that our room (#1) had a strong unpleasant odor--like the carpet was dirty. We were traveling with our dog and maybe the policy is to use that particular room for dogs (which would explain the odor). Most of the reviews note how clean this motel is so our experience is not the norm for whatever reason.

The room was simple and clean (except for the odor). The motel's location a few blocks off the main road made for a quiet night's sleep, while still being very convenient as a base for our Munising area activites. The communal kitchen area was great for breakfast and light dinners--we really appreciated having those cooking facilities--plus it was enjoyable to chat with other guests and hear about their travels as we all cooked. The shower's water pressure was great--which sounds trivial, but if you're coming off a long day on the local trails it is greatly appreciated.

The price for the unit was very, very reasonable.

Larry is a real gem for his friendliness and his genuine interest in helping people enjoy the area. In all fairness about the room--we did not mention the smell to him and chose to buy some Febreeze to spray on the carpet, which mostly took care of the odor through re-applications during our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank luv2snorkel61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

NO FRILLS! One step up from camping. Small step.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bazzums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
14.7 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
18.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
17.7 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.3 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
14.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
16.4 mi away
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Sunset Motel on the Bay
#3 of 11 in Munising
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terrace Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terrace Motel

Address: 420 Prospect St, Munising, MI 49862-1004
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $45 - $65 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled against the hills which semicircle Munising, the Terrace Motel is located in a quiet residential neighborhood, 3 blocks off busy M-28. Open year round, the Terrace offers rooms with one bed, two beds, and also some two-bedroom units. All rooms are ground level, with at-door parking. Coffee is served in the lobby every morning. A recreation room includes a full kitchen, pool table and sauna; outside is a built-in charcoal grill, picnic table, play area, and firepit. Snowmobile trails pass directly behind the motel, and there is a heated garage area for snowmobile repair. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing