We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's the Upper Peninsula”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This is probably the best hotel you will find in Munising, but it is the Upper Peninsula, not downtown Chicago. Hotel is very clean. Rooms are large and include a refrigerator and microwave. Flat screen tv is small but adequate. You also get free breakfast and wifi. Young ladies at front desk were very friendly and helpful. Price for room varies depending on the weekend and season. I got a very good rate the weekend I stayed but a a month ago would have paid almost 3 times the amount for the same room. I will stay at this hotel again if I return to the area.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
Thank Bertha55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Bertha55,

Thank you for sharing such enjoyable comments about your most recent stay here at our hotel. I am glad to hear you will stay with us again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

442 - 448 of 664 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Got a lake view room and have no complaints. The view is worth the extra money. The room was large and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast had a good selection and was hot. The pool, hot tub, and sauna were empty. Book your room early because this hotel fills up quick.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy24_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Katy24_10,

Thank you for sharing your pleasant comments about your recent stay at our property. We are glad you chose to stay with us and hope to see you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights in Munising to enjoy Pictured Rocks. Two nights at Sunset Motel and One night at Holiday Inn. I wished we had stayed at Holiday Inn the whole time! My wife read reviews for Sunset Motel and convinced me to stay there.. What a mistake. This was a romantic getaway for the two of us and staying at the Sunset was like staying in a shady roadside hotel.

My advice, get a balcony room on the second or third floor facing the lake.. You will not regret it. The place is clean, modern, has a large pool and a great breakfast!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ocho67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear Ocho67,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your fabulous comments about our property. Our staff takes pride in providing the best service and most comfortable accommodations in the area. Please come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

This was the best Holiday Inn Express we have ever stayed at. It is a bit off the beaten path, but that is part of its charm. The room was huge and super clean! The lake view facing Lake Superior with a balcony was just spectacular. Breakfast was the best selection/quality I have ever come across at this type of hotel. My only criticism would be that on the Sunday morning we went to breakfast the eating area was packed and no tables were available. It was too cold to eat outside. I tried 2 separate times and we finally just took our breakfast to our room.

Room Tip: Get a lake view room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suechucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear suechucky,

I am very glad to hear you recommend our property to others. We are aware of the limited seating on busy mornings and are looking to improve that aspect soon. Thank you for staying with us and sharing such wonderful comments. We hope to see you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We enjoyed this Holiday Inn Express in spite of not being Holiday Inn/Express regulars. The location is perfect to display a view of Munising Bay in the direction of Pictured Rocks. The Inn is out of town, but only about two miles from the Munising business district. We were also struck by the accommodating and friendly service, the layout and furnishings of the large room, and the more than adequate breakfast. Not all rooms have a view, but the breakfast room does, including a patio area for use during warm weather.

The only negative, as mentioned by some of the other reviewers, is that the walls are not sufficient to block noise from other rooms when people started getting up in the morning.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have a view, so make sure you specify that if you want one. Also, not surprisingly, v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear David R,

Thank you for sharing your comments. I am glad to hear our services and amenities were very accommodating for you. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you choose to stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Took a motorcycle trip to Munising and Grand Marais, MI. This hotel is on a bluff overlooking Grand Island and the harbour of refuge between Grand Island and Munising. Terrific accomadations with new rooms that were large, clean and comfy. The ones on the Lake Superior side
have balconies. The breakfast room was well stocked and the gift shop was a delight. NIce folks run it and check in and out was easy. We got good advice on where to go for dinner. There is both a swimming pool and excercise room and it was possible to eat breakfast outdoor. Price was very reasonable.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, stay on the Lake Superior side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLV007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Dear TLV007,

Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful comments about your recent stay at our property. I am glad to see many aspects of your stay were very delightful. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

There are properties here with lower costs and higher TripAdvisor ratings - however, all hotels in this area are pretty basic. When I say that the rooms reperesent "a typical Holiday Inn Express", this, alone, makes it less rustic than other hotels in the area. (And climate controls are much better than other area hotels, if you're coming during a season when the weather isn't perfect.) If you're looking for five-star lodging in Munising - you're in the wrong city. (Or even 3-4 star.) In my opinion, the higher cost over other area hotels is fully justified.

And, if it weren't for the water view - I'd end my review there. But, if you get a lake view, it's spectacular. Sunrises over the lake are fantastic.

Room Tip: Unless you can't afford it - get the lakeside view. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott_L42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear Scott_L42,

Thank you for sharing and for staying with us, glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Come back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
135 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#2 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
2.1 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
15.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $99 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing