We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-priced, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 17, 2013

In summer, this Holiday Inn Express's prices are easily twice as much as some of the mom-and-pop places that also feature lake views. But it's worth it. We had a great view of Lake Superior, a clean and comfortable room, and good complimentary breakfast. It was very pleasant to sit out on our balcony and enjoy cocktails and morning coffee. We also enjoyed the pool and spa, which we had to ourselves one afternoon. The front-desk staff is friendly and helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Spring for a lakeview room. The view is worth the price.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Upnorthdeborah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (642)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

470 - 476 of 642 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Discovered this place about a year ago by accident -- very glad I did. If I didn't live 12 hours away I would be here a lot more often.
I'm always looking for quiet room with a view and a balcony. This is it. I always ask for the top floor, lakeview. I like it here because it is a great place just to get away from it all. Munising is not for the traveler who is looking for fancy restaurants and trendy hot spots...which I'm not.
Love to keep the sliding glass door open at night -- I'm female and often travel alone so that's one reason I always ask for an upper floor, so I can keep the balcony door open. I didn't encounter the issues some other commenters had with the HVAC -- the first thing I did was switch everything off everything and let the fresh air in. I don't care how clean (or upscale) a hotel is -- there's always some dust from vents.
The rooms aren't fancy but they are large and comfortable and clean. Things are a little worn around the edges (the carpet in my room could have used a steam cleaning, I think) but that is the only thing I can find wrong with this place. For what it is worth, there is a good cable TV channel lineup, but I spent most of my time just relaxing on the balcony with a book or my laptop, and going on a Pictured Rocks cruise.
I loved literally watching the fog roll in after a perfect day last week. At about 2 a.m. I woke up and went out on the balcony. The fog had lifted and the night sky was clear as a bell and strewn with stars.
Like I said, I love this place, and will be back as often as possible.
And I, too, wish we could keep it a secret. :-)

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadtrip6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear roadtrip6666,

Thank you so much for sharing such wonderful comments about your experiences here at the Holiday Inn Express Lakeview. I am so glad to hear you are able to relax and enjoy the wonderful views from your balcony when you visit our property in Munising. It is indeed a small town with lots to do if your looking for boat tours, picturesque views of the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, waterfalls, beaches, hiking trails, or stay in to enjoy our new high definition channel lineup, pool an hot tub, or maybe even catch the stars or northern lights right from your room! Hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Lets keep this our secret. This is one of the best Holiday Inn Express locations I have ever seen. No view of a big box store parking lot here, just a beautiful view of Munising Bay on one side. Even the view on the other side of the buildings is pretty nice. Unfortunately for us, the bay was fogged in most of the evening of our stay. The rest of the hotel amenities and the room were clean, comfortable and what we have come to rely on from this chain. Nice place to stay.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Tomatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria S, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview, responded to this reviewResponded June 21, 2013

Dear Tomatraveler,

Thank you so much, it is very pleasing to hear that you consider us one of the best. We strive to provide superior service and accommodations so that guests such as yourself can rely on our family of brands throughout the world. You never know what kind of weather Lake Superior will bring, I hope you are able to make back soon to enjoy the spectacular view we offer here without the foggy conditions!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights, its a little outside town, but looking at the other hotels they all seem to be. Nothing in walking distance, but I can cope with that for the views. The walls seem too be very thin and you could hear people talking next door, and also hear heavy footed people upstairs.
Whilst we were there they started building a bigger patio area for breakfast, which will be very pleasant during the summer months.
Pay the extra for the lake views, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leaphill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Looking out at Lake Superior from my balcony, hearing the birds nearby, and enjoying the amenities made this a special place. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more attentive. The hot tub and pool were a welcome joy on a chilly May evening. My room was clean and comfortable. The walls are a tad thin, but the hvac unit helps with that. It was a little noisy. And that is really the chief reason for the 4 instead of 5. I loved the location. Such a great view. Not too far from town and the docks. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindyLou2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We spent a night there on way to Northern Michigan University Commencement in Marquette in early May. It was an unseasonably cold day/evening but this Holiday Inn Express is so warm and comfortable, it did not matter. Staff were very friendly and engaged in their work. Our "godson" enjoyed the indoor pool area and kept commenting at it's size. We have stayed in MUCH larger hotels where the pool area was half the size. The breakfast was excellent and certainly addresses every possible diet and taste. The views are phenomenal, stunning even on the dark day we were there. I would give the property a five but only negative was that we could hear people above us. We know both rooms on either side were occupied but we did not hear anything...
the noise issue is far from being truly troublesome but think needs to be mentioned. We look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoadTripFans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during Canada victoria day long weekend. It is a very beautiful, quiet and peaceful hotel. The staff is very friendly, hotel is very beautiful and clean. Breakfast is very good with a lake view. From the balcony of the hotel room, I saw the most beautiful sunrise I have ever seen, it was breaktaking, amazing and magnificent.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
94 reviews
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
209.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
2.4 mi away
Superior Motel & Suites
Superior Motel & Suites
#2 of 4 in Munising
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $102 - $328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing