We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
to far from the mouse
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2011

We had a great time at this hotel. My kids loved the pool and the room was big and clean. The hotel sits on top of a hill overlooking Grand Island. It was nice to sit outside and watch the sunset. The front desk staff was very friendly. The only drawback I could see was if you booked a room with a balcony or walkout room on the first floor, there is not much privacy. But, overall, this is a great hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovwdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    205
    62
    20
    4
See reviews for
188
249
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kaneohe, Hawaii
Level Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

We are on a getaway week while my husband is home from Afghanistan on R&R. We thought a trip to the UP would be perfect, and decided to stay with HIs because we are members of their rewards program. Compared to every other HI we have stayed in for this trip, this one was at the bottom of the list. Interesting, since it was the most expensive. The room was nothing more than OK. At least there were no bedbugs! The fixtures in the room were cheap, the armchair at the desk was ripped and torn and just looked pathetic. The bed was as hard as a rock. There was green corrosion on the shower head, and the shower liner needs to be changed. So yeah, housekeeping is an issue. Didn't partake of the breakfast. The staff was friendly. Wouldn't pay the money to stay here again. They charge for the location, as the property overlooks the lake, but our overpriced room was not lakeview. Nope, won't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SonriseBMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
69 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

It's the view outside the hotel that makes this hotel overcharge their customers - nothing else !! Rooms were OK - nothing extraordinary . Breakfast was bad - everything seemed to be out of boxes and heated in a microwave, stale bread, yucky eggs, rotten bananas ! C'mon if you charge 200$ a night then atleast have a decent breakfast !!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poogiewoogie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comstock Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed here on our way back from North Dakota to Michigan. The hotel lobby, dining room and elevators smell terribly musty. I am allergic to mold/mildew and had to leave the dining room because the smell was so bad. Hallways and rooms are not that way so I'm not sure if the smell is from people in wet suits dripping on carpet in those areas or what but it's bad. For $199 that we paid it certainly didn't seem worth it. Breakfast food was good. Asked if they had a rollaway bed, they did, for an extra $10 charge. Skipped that.
Bathroom and room were very clean. Won't stay again...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bkchizmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flint, Michigan
Level Contributor
85 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2011

The room with a view was grossly overpriced. Although the view was beautiful, the small veranda with plastic chairs didn't measure up. Walls were paper thin - could hear everything from above, the hall, next door. The ammenities were substandard - basic at best. The morning breakfast staff person was rude. The lobby smelled terrible. Location was outside of town - had to drive everywhere. Ventilation in the pool area needed.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pac0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johns, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2011

We checked in early afternoon, of course all of the lakefront rooms were taken. Our room faced the road and the road is very busy and loud from the room. Room was okay but carpet was dirty. Building on the outside was impressive, but cheap on the inside as we could hear everything from the room above us. Hot tub and pool area was nice but only a few jets were working in the Hot tub. The unrequested 6:30 wake-up call was really bad, we were both sound to sleep. I was disappointed, and felt way over charged for this room.

Room Tip: Book ahead if you want a lakefront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVanElls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

Nice hotel- beautiful view of lake from our room, great pool/sauna/whirlpool, excellent continental breakfast and close to town. Staff was also very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elle076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.0 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.6 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#3 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
2.3 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
4.1 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview

Property: Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview
Address: E8990 M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Lakeview sits atop a bluff overlooking one of the most pristine sites in Northern Michigan. You can gaze at the breathtaking views of the world famous Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore or historic Grand Island from our great room or one of the lake view rooms or suites. Located one mile east of Munising, and minutes away from Christmas Kewadin Casino, you can enjoy the Pictured Rocks Boat Cruises voted #1 Boat Cruise in Michigan or the Glass Bottom Boat Shipwreck Tour, cited as one of Michigan's top travel secrets by the Detroit News. You can also lounge around our spacious pool and enjoy our indoor pool with children's play area. For the snow lover, we have access to hundreds of miles of some of the finest snowmobiling in the United States from our doorstep. Conveniently located minutes away is Valley Spur cross country ski trails. Our smoke-free hotel, constructed in 2005 has lake view suites, hilltop suites, private balconies, high-speed Internet access and large color TVs with plenty of in room entertainment options. We offer meeting space, a fitness center and a pool with hot tub and custom built sauna. Our staff is eager to welcome you to make our hotel your new home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Munising - Lakeview Hotel Munising
Munising Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing