We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Subway”
Review of Subway

Subway
Ranked #12 of 30 Restaurants in Munising
Restaurant details
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Just another Subway”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

I personally don't like chain restr. when I can enjoy great local foods (you can usually get their foods to go) from local residents who always need our support.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JP7844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    15
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fine Sandwiches AND FAST!!!”
Reviewed August 24, 2014

Let me be candid, we eat at Subway here in Chicago, and while we are traveling regularly. It is better than all the burger joints. Still, it isn't a gourmet meal, and we were rather jaded with Subway service after two really bad experiences while on the road in June and again in July. But we needed food for the kids, and fast, ahead of our 6pm Pictured Rocks Boat Cruise, and this place was right on the way. We were running late.

We hoped for the best.

We did not leave disappointed. Sandwiches were standard fare, and Subway tasty, but where these folks NAILED it was with speed and friendly service. You can't pay employees enough to work like this, and I am sure our sandwich maker wasn't getting rich making Subway sandwiches, but there was pride in getting the job done right and having us leave with a smile, and I really, really appreciated that.

Made the sandwiches taste even better as we left port on the top deck of the Grand Island for our three hour tour.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff_Skrentny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Level 6 Contributor
245 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“This Place Cranks Out The Subs!”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

I eat here about 5 times per week and am never disappointed. It is usually very very busy in here and they can really crank out the sandwiches fast, locally owned and managed very well. I have seen some crabbiness to customers from time to time but 90% of the time they are all very pleasant. Always a good choice for a quick healthy meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dexter5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“great sandwich”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

we stopped for a quick meal after the local deli didn't look to appealing. Nice locally owned and operated. Great staff

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Randy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Service needs some work”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The food was fine your normal subway fare. But the service was terrible the workers were so rude I can't believe they act like that and they were not young people even. In fact the only two that were friendly were the youngest ones there. Work on your staff to smile and maybe your business wil increase.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Subway also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Subway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing