We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home away from home!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Munising, Upper Peninsula, Michigan

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
01s
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Home away from home!”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
2
people found this review helpful

This charming cottage is just right, like Baby Bear's in Goldilocks! The location is perfect for walking everywhere around town and features an incredible view of Munising Bay and Grand Island. The sunrises and sunsets are in full view right from the kitchen window. The newly renovated cottage features all the modern conveniences of home while retaining some of its former charm like the old plaster door archways.
We truly felt like this was our home away from home.
The cost was cheaper than many of the econo-priced hotels in town with many more comfortable features like the fully stocked kitchen ready to prepare anything, a gas grill and outdoor patio. While we didn't cook dinners, the convenience of having snacks, drinks and breakfast and lunch on hand was great. The linens were high quality cotton with a good thread count and towels were more than plentiful and thick and fluffy. The mattresses were in great shape. The living area featured a satellite dish with flat screen TV, loads of great books and was well appointed. The WiFi was never a problem connecting or maintaining a connection.
website: http://www.hiawathashideaway.com Lisa Schramm, the lease agent, is very easy to work with during reservations. (Note: the name of this place is the DOWNTOWN COTTAGE, NOT Harbor Cottage) If you're not familiar with Michigan's Upper Peninsula, Munising is centrally located along Lake Superior and can be a jumping off point to many mini-excursions to other towns and attractions about the peninsula so you can come home to the same place every night.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it truly felt cozy and comfortable (and clean to my expectations!)
Liked least: Leaving . . . I could spend a month in this cottage easily and someday I might!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Ledge
Reviewed March 10, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2018
Thanks for the review and I hope you will return!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Illinois
Reviewed January 25, 2013 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
michigan
Reviewed January 24, 2013 for a stay in July 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 8, 2018
Thanks for the review and we hope you will return! All of the ammenities are listed in the confirmation and Important Points information that you received prior to arrival. You can also find the information in the binder inside the cottage.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ohio
Reviewed January 19, 2013 for a stay in July 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Happy to hear you had a good time, please visit again and give me a call when you are ready to reserve 906 202 2677
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Michigan
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MI
Reviewed January 17, 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Feb 12, 2018
Thanks for the review! Call or text me anytime you'd like to return 906 202 2677.

Lisa :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing