We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago
Level Contributor
63 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Stunning views”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed in the Beach Inn Motel during a fall color tour of Wisconsin and Michigan. I thought the motel was brand new as I had been told it opened over Labor Day, 2012. I now believe it is a refurbished motel. The inside of the motel had new furniture, however, the bathroom seemed to be a bit worn. Below is the good and bad of the hotel.
Good: Great beds. (My parents staying in the room next to us slept very well, too) Stunning views of Lake Superior. New TV. New furniture. Microwave and refrigerator in each room.
Bad: Physical motel room a bit worn. Table too tiny to be functional. WiFi spotty. Very poor selection in continental breakfast items. Desk clerk very unfriendly. Missing soap in bathroom.
Additionally, when I made the reservation, I was asked if I had a discount card such as AAA. I do and was given an AAA rate of $99. I found out later if you have an AARP card, the charge was $79. I am a member of AARP, also. Clerk reluctantly told me he would refund my $40 (I booked 2 rooms) if I showed him my AARP card. I wasn't carrying it. If you make a reservation here, make sure you ask about ALL discounts. If in the Munising area, I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USAroamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    59
    24
    3
    6
See reviews for
53
71
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We made an unscheduled stop in Munising during a 10 day road trip from Duluth, MN to Boston. Our plan to stay just one night stretched into two as we found Munising a great place to use as a base to explore the Pictured Rocks National Seashore - which turned out to be our family's favorite part of the entire adventure.

The Beach Inn was recommended to us by the owner of another hotel in town that was full and it turned out to be far better than the place we had originally intended to stay. The hotel's appearance from the street is really plain (just doors, no windows), which ultimately was a great plus since once we were in our room, we couldn't hear any noise from the road. The room was appropriately sized for the four of us (two adults, 2 kids) with flat screen TV, small fridge and good sized bathroom. The whole place was brand new, super clean and well appointed. The windows and other door opened directly onto a large lawn leading down to the shore of Lake Superior. This back side of the hotel was large, with lots of lawn chairs, yard games, a fire pit and a small beach all with a view of the town of Munising and the surrounding area. The water in the bay the hotel sits on is shallow and warm - it looked like my kids were a quarter mile out in the water and it was still only waist-level deep.

Continental breakfast in the lobby was standard fare, but well stocked. Coffee, juices, cereals, waffles, muffins.

Staff was friendly and willing to help with local recommendations for activities and dining options.

On a related note, Pictured Rocks and the surrounding areas (high cliffs, waterfalls, huge dunes, hiking paths, etc.) make for the most interesting spot to stop in the Northern UP. If you're even slightly adventurous, I'd highly recommend doing a guided kayaking tour of the area - it was amazing!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cublooded
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This is a new hotel right on Lake Superior. It was a little more expensive than others in the area but worth it. Each room has a door out to the water side. Plenty of chairs, bbqs, picnic tables and a fire pit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dar241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed at the Beach Inn in early August 2012, not too long after it opened for business. The rooms are large, comfortable, bright (great large sliding windows facing the lake), quiet for sleeping, modern (flat screen TV's and small fridge) and very clean. All rooms have beautiful views of the bay at Munising. Doors on both sides of the rooms with one leading out to either a balcony overlooking the bay (second floor), or directly onto a large lawn area with a fire pit, available grills and lawn games. Obviously very family friendly. Comfortable lawn chairs available for sunset viewing and just lounging at the property's waterfront. (Not really a sand beach, but the water is very shallow in that area of the bay so you can get in the water and enjoy right there if you like.) We were on Harleys, so the fact that the Inn was within easy walking distance (1 mile) from downtown Munising was great as well. Friendly and helpful staff. We would definately stay at the Inn again if we came back to Munsing. Continental breakfast is included, and is the "normal fare" these days.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room which allowed us to walk out to the lawn. Great. Second floor rooms migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We only planned to stay one night and ended up staying two. Lovely, very clean motel! Loved the layout with a back door that opened out onto a common balcony with a beautiful lake view. Nice path leading to a patio with 3 grills and lots of chairs for just relaxing and enjoying the view. There was even a ladder ball game on the lawn. The people were very friendly and helpful (generous with the ice), especially with restaurant suggestions including a wonderful place called the Brownstone Inn just a few miles west of town past the town of Christmas. Super food!!!

Room Tip: No direct access to the ground from the lake view balcony so if you want to grill, I would request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGirl59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed here one night planning to go on Picture Rocks tour the next day. Very cute, updated, friendly location. Very clean and staff was very helpful. Would definitely stay again if we were in the area. Doors on both sides of room. One going out to yard with lawn chairs and a fire pit. Water edge is rocks not sandy beach was only draw back. Had breakfast, but just bagels, toast and cereal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Loves2Travel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrison, Michigan
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Booked a room at the Days Inn in Munising; however, a large group of people arrived and wanted to be together so we were upgraded to the Beach Inn Motel which was lovely! The beds seemed new and comfy. They must have sprayed for mosquitoes because we sat outside near the water until well after 10 p.m. and so did many other visitors. The continental breakfast was ordinary but the room and view was spectacular! The next morning we went on the Pictured Rocks tour and that was wonderful too.

Room Tip: Every room has a view of the bay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.4 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
2.5 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
1.0 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay

Property: Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Address: E 9360 H58, Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Number of rooms: 24

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing