We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The lower lodge is a dump”

Buckhorn Resort Motel and Lodges
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Munising
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buckhorn Resort Motel and Lodges
Michigan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“The lower lodge is a dump”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

I normally take a grain of salt with my reviews of UP hotels, most if not all need the bathrooms updated but this lodge…well let’s say the building inspector was paid off.
When walking on the upper floor there are places you feel like you are going to fall threw, the lower bathroom has black mold in the shower, the water goes scolding hot when water is used in the kitchen at the same time.
At one time there was a gas stove that has been removed, there is a towel shoved in to open vent pipe and a 30 year old TV now replaces the stove.
The heat and lack of it, the first floor, all of it was cold but one of the bed rooms was an Ice box that had no heat at all, the upstairs was hot because all the heat went up there.
The place is put together with scraps of wood and OSB, the carpet is nasty and old and the beds got to be 40 years old and have 6” dips in the middle that you roll into.
Bottom line, this is a place I would rent if I was in my early 20s, and was with a bunch of drinking buddy’s that would ride all day and drink all night…..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    6
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
6
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

This place is awesome!!! Rooms are spacious and you can get 2 doubles or 3 doubles if your family is big! Rooms have a fridge, microwave, TV..not air conditioned but it was still comfortable! The restaurant and bar lounge is an atmosphere to die for! We had a later evening supper at the table overlooking the lake and saw a swan family in the lake below, a hummingbird, right in the window and the sunset was amazing! The food was fantastic and the staff are super friendly! And they have more business in the winter, I'm told with snow sports up there!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Peaches2564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrill, Michigan
Level Contributor
165 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

i go on a snowmobiling trip with 10 to 20 people for the past 5 years we have stayed at the buckhorn for a week we stay in lodge 1 it is a great place to sled. the lodge does need a good carpet scrub and could use some new furniture. no big deal we arent their to watch tv hopefully the new owners will spruce it up

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlw11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munising, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We visited the Buckhorn on New Year's Eve (December 31, 2012) the service was great and the quality and portions were great. All you snowmobiliers and ATV riders take a break and drop in at the Buckhorn Resort. We have a cabin near the Buckhorn and will definitely make a return trip there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level Contributor
411 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I, along with our adult son and daughter-in-law, spent two nights in the Munising area, primarily to take the spectacular Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore scenic cruise and to do some hiking. We were unable to obtain lodging for a Thursday and a Friday evening in late July at any one of ten Munising motels. However, after doing a fair amount of Internet searching, I found the Buckhorn Resort, hidden in the Hiawatha National Forest approximately 12 miles outside of the small town of Munising. The resort consists of 20 rooms in two motel buildings, two lodges for larger parties, a restaurant and lounge, all situated on a small and picturesque lake. Each room has a microwave, small refrigerator, coffee make, and wireless Internet access. The rooms are clean and the beds reasonably comfortable. However, the facility is showing its age, and it was impossible to lift the storm windows to let in the fresh summer breeze.

The staff is very friendly and hospitable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LouBobHarborSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
10.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
7.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
8.4 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#2 of 11 in Munising
5.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
7.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
6.8 mi away
Alger Falls Motel
Alger Falls Motel
#8 of 11 in Munising
4.0 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buckhorn Resort Motel and Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buckhorn Resort Motel and Lodges

Property: Buckhorn Resort Motel and Lodges
Address: N3990 Buckhorn Dr, Munising, MI 49862-8844
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Munising
Number of rooms: 22

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing