We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Motel on the Bay
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This motel has a beautiful view of Lake Superior - the cars in the parking lot block the view a little but it is beautiful nonetheless. It was also nice to be able to walk out of your room and go swimming.

The room was clean and fairly comfortable, although a bit outdated style-wise. It was a little small for my husband and I and our 7 month old with her Pack 'n' Play. However, the worst part was that our room was situated between two bigger rooms for larger groups / familes and the walls are thin...so it was a bit too noisy for us and our daughter.

We were supposed to stay three nights, but ended up asking for our money back on the last two nights. The owner reluctantly obliged and acknowledged it was a bad room setup for that particular room. I think we stayed in room number 14 (2nd to last from the southern end).

If you're a heavier sleeper, aren't looking for a fancy room and love looking at God's creation...by all means go for it! Otherwise, pay an extra $30 a night for something a little nicer. We stayed at the AmericInn for the other 2 nights and it was very quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Loua08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (403)
There are newer reviews for Sunset Motel on the Bay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 403 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2008

My husband and I stayed 3 nights at Sunset Motel in room #103 from August 23-26th. We really enjoyed our stay. The Sunset Motel staff does an excellent job in maintaing the cleanliness of the rooms. Our room was always quiet, we never heard any noise from the rooms next to us.

In our room we had a kitchenette, which was stocked with pots and pans, and every untensil needed to make meals. We ate in for Dinner each night to watch the spectacular sunset (at 8:30pm) unfold from the Sunset Motel lawnchairs - my husband and I both agree that we have experienced the most beautiful sunset we've ever seen during our stay at the Sunset Motel.

We'll be returning guests to the Sunst Motel, and I think that is the highest compliment a customer can give!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bluelagooneyes33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We stayed at the Sunset Motel for two nights and wished we could have stayed longer. It is an older property but has been well maintained and is very, very clean. It is located on Lake Superior with a nice view of Munising especially the lights at night.

There was a nice 'family' atmosphere which is rare in larger motels and people were happy to share information about places they enjoyed. Several of the larger rooms were already booked for next year.

Our room had a microwave, small refrigerator and coffee pot. Especially considering the price, this can't be beat.

The Pictured Rocks boat trip was excellent and we returned with many good pictures. We also enjoyed eating at the Falling Rocks coffee house and the Birch Tree Cafe. I loved the Jilberts Ice Cream, especially the Mackinaw Island Fudge.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RetiredHawkeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2008

We had a very pleasant stay here. Our room- two beds, two rooms- was clean, quiet and comfortable. The beds had nice linens and were in good shape. Even my son's rollaway was nice- most times they are not! The bathroom was a little small but appeared to be recently remodeled. We had a nice microwave, small fridge and a coffee maker, and there is a little patio in front of the room as well as a grassy area on the water front. The sunsets were beautiful! The hosts were very friendly, giving us maps and suggestions for what to do in Munising. They have menus for most area restaurants in the lobby, and snacks and drinks for sale at reasonable prices. They even gave us ice packs for our cooler and refroze the ones we brought with us. The Sunset was only minutes away from the Pictured Rocks Lakeshore and some spectacular beaches and scenery. Munising itself is a delighful little town- lots of little shops, places to eat, things to do- this was the highlight of our trip to the south shore of Lake Superior. I hope we can come back sometime and try out their larger suites.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShantyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2008

We had one of the upstairs rooms with king bed. The room was very large for a motel, as was the bathroom. We found the bed to be comfortable, especially enjoyed the big king sized pillows. We do like firm mattresses so the comfort can be questioned.
The room was kept very clean, and the view of lake superior was beautiful. The check in was a breeze, and very friendly with lots of area information provided without even asking. We were a little worried about the location a bit away from the town, but found that that is not necessarily a bad thing, as there is not much (if not nothing) to do in Munising without a car, and don't know how many other places offer such a nice lake setting.

The waterfalls & pictured rocks are beautiful.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2008

I took a chance booking our stay at the Sunset Motel on the Bay based on reviews I read on this website, and I am so glad I did. The motel is small, but very quiet and peaceful with a wonderful view of the bay. Our room was nicely furnished with everything we could need and very clean. The staff was very freindly and helpful. I would highly recommend this lovely motel and would absolutey stay there again.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank PickyNebraskan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2008

Sunset Motel on the Bay is a good value (we paid about $60) with an outstanding view. It's a classic style motel that has been nicely updated over time. In our room, the carpet was new, and the bathroom had been updated. The bathroom was sort of an odd layout, though -- there was only about 18 inches between the edge of the tub and the opposite wall -- kind of a squeeze to get in there!
The room had a small refrigerator, microwave, and coffeemaker. There were two separate bedrooms, each with a queen bed. The beds were a little mushy, but the sheets were very clean and crisp. All in all, it was a very quiet motel, even though all the rooms were occupied. There was a copper waterpipe running down from the ceiling to the floor of each room, and every so often, you could hear water rushing through it. It actually woke me up in the night (i'm kind of a light sleeper) -- it sounded like a person splashing in the bathtub. I put in ear plugs, though, and got back to sleep just fine.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shall07834
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.4 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
1.5 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
14.0 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
207.1 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Motel on the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Motel on the Bay

Address: 1315 Bay St, Munising, MI 49862-1511
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $99 - $168 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunset Motel on the Bay 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Munising's best waterfront motel invites you to sit back, relax and enjoy the view! All rooms have a spectacular view of Lake Superior. One, two and three room spacious units are available with Lake Superior just steps away! All rooms include microwave/refrigerator/coffee maker or full kitchen and are smoke free. Wifi is available. Use our complimentary outdoor grills and picnic tables to enjoy a lakeside dinner while savoring the dazzling sunset. If staying for a week or more, take advantage of our fully furnished 3 bedroom vacation homes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Sunset Motel on the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Motel On The Bay Hotel Munising
Sunset Hotel Munising
Sunset Motel Munising

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing