We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely place!”

Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A charming cafe bookstore. Great food, friendly service, coffe and espresso drinks, 25,000 books, music, art and much more to choose from!
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

Finding this place in the wintery Munising was a really happy thing: good food, good coffee, interesting books and really nice service. A wonderful place!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nellcote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    155
    36
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

good coffee, freindly staff, pleasant atmosphere and the wi-fi works great. a good place to spend some time for lunch or a snack, browse the selection of new and used books. relax and listen to music.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank mrakron907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid-Atlantic
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Falling in Love with Falling Rock Bookstore and Cafe”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

For two weeks I hiked segments of the Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore, east of Munising, Michigan, while bunking further westward in Marquette - all in Michigan's Upper Peninsula. Before the hikes, and after the hikes, my destination was Falling Rock Cafe, a charming and homey combination bookstore (50,000+ books arranged by category on endless shelves - a booklover's delight!) and wonderful cafe.

I craved the coffee - hot and fresh morning, noon, and night - especially the Grand Island dark brew, my favorite. (I brought a bag home.) And I loved the fruit smoothies and yogurt parfaits - perfect for energy before a hike and to restore calories after a rather strenuous hike on the high cliffs and dunes, and on the North Country trails that wind through forests.

The moment you enter Falling Rock, you're sure to feel at home. Perhaps its the overall atmosphere - an assortment of mismatched chairs and tables; friendly conversations; wireless internet access; streaming sunlight with a view to the street and harbor; and amiable, smiling "take your order" staff. And it could be the off-chance that you'll stop by when a group is tuning up for a musical performance, or a poet is preparing a reading.

Oh, and do notice the racks of Falling Rock mugs on cup hooks. Residents, and some travelers, support FR so it can stay open year round. They each get a mug and (I think) free coffee when they drop in. It's a wonderful idea - one I hope other small cafe/bookshops will emulate.

Don't miss Falling Rock!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seaurchin1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Great coffee and treats!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stopped in here daily during our stay in Munising. Sometimes for breakfast - we both had egg sandwiches that were delicious and shared a pastry; and sometimes in the afternoon for a coffee. They have several different brews available. There are LOTS of books, wi-fi, and local art. We didn't have lunch there, but saw others getting sandwiches and they looked fresh and amazing.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ead_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Junta, Colorado
Level Contributor
124 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Delightful Place for Bibliophiles & Kafephiles”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

A delightful stop for coffee and sandwiches - coffee that tasted like the real thing & good sandwiches including some gluten free items. Plus the books makes this a community treasure!
When in Munising take the time to drop in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DrCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing