We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tries hard to accomodate, sweet staff, pleasant atmosphere”

Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store
Ranked #1 of 3 Dessert in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A charming cafe bookstore. Great food, friendly service, coffe and espresso drinks, 25,000 books, music, art and much more to choose from!
Connecticut
Level Contributor
314 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Tries hard to accomodate, sweet staff, pleasant atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

The parking is easy and the location is great. If you love coffee shops and bookstores, this is a must stop. The staff tries hard to accomodate. There are several gluten-free options. They are very customer-focused and child friendly. I highly tecommend a stop here while in Munising.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 2462skiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    430
    155
    36
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Ice Cream,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2011

The ice cream was great. I was impressed that they went above and beyond for our child with a nut allergy. They opened a new Super Peron ice cream container for her to make sure it was safe for her to eat. HIGHLY RECOMEND!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 248spartan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A regular stop on our UP trips”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2011

Through the years traveling through the UP we always make it a point to spend time at Falling Rock. Whether it's for breakfast or ice cream, it's always good. We also like to pick up gifts for folks back home, like coffee, handmade jewelry or pottery. It's also a good place to get on the wi-fi. Don't pass it up.

Visited August 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank amyjen2697
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Lovely place, good bagels”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

We went to Falling Rock cafe with the recommendation from the owner of Terrace Motel. Nice, friendly atmosphere. We only had bagels with cream cheese, and it is probably the best bagel I have ever had.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cx007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff, fun collection of books to browse”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2011

I visited here twice during my time in Munising, once for breakfast and once for dinner carryout. I had a yogurt parfait and coffee for breakfast--picture of the parfait attached to this review. It was delicious and beautifully presented. The coffee is of a high quality. I spent quite a lot of time browsing the books which cover many subjects. There is a large science fiction/fantasy section, a nice travel section, and lots of fiction and cooking books. For dinner carryout, I tried the veggie burger which was fine and also had ice cream. The menu is mostly sandwiches with a few breakfast items as well as Muldoon's Pasties available. Ice cream I believe is Jilberts---very good stuff! The staff was super friendly and helpful, even when I kept changing my order. The cafe also has live music and open mic nights and they seem to contribute a lot to the community. Definitely go here while in Munising!

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Falling Rock Cafe & Book Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing