We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Views and Water” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore

Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Owner description: Park located on the shoreline of Lake Superior encompassing cliffs, dunes, waterfalls and lakes.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Views and Water”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We did the boat tour, it was cold but so incredibly beautiful. I wish we would've opted to kayak instead, so we could get closer to the caves and rocks and Beaches along the way to stop and sight see. Gorgeous! Must see!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,163
    138
    15
    4
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
405 reviews
137 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Fabulously Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

This is a breathtakingly beautiful park. It is quite spread out and a little difficult to navigate if you are not familiar with the area. The state and county road system is what gave me problems. You can see vey little by car. You really need to hike the trails to appreciate the stunning beauty of the lakeshore and lake.

This is one of those norther parks where many attractions are only open during the summer months, basically from Memorial Day to Labor Day. Attractions closed during fall, winter, and spring are the Au Sable Lighthouse and Museum, Grand Sable Visitors Center, and Miners Castle Information Center.

While the Sand Point Headquarters is open year round it is only open Monday through Friday and closed on weekends.

The Interagency Visitors Center in Munising is open year round but closed on Sundays. Check your dates carefully when visiting this park or you will drive a long distance to see the park and sites you want to visit may well be closed.

I would highly recommend a boat tour to view the park from the water. Those are probably the best views anywhere in the park. There are several companies located in Muising that offer boat tours.

Great park and well worth the effort to get there. Very beautiful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GilB867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Closed”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We took the sunset cruse this was a very nice view from the lake but that's all we could do it was little cloudy so the colors did not pop. I did not like the fact that and open park was closed

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
National City, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pictured Rocks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2013

Beautiful Fall colors and scenery! The trails are extremely well kept and the people friendly. Met lots of travelers that were enjoying Upper Michigans beauty.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bart S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marinette
Level Contributor
53 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolutely Breathtaking!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This was our first time viewing the waterfalls and coastline between Minising and Grand Marais and it was absolutely breathtaking!!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarinetteInn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore also viewed

Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 
Munising, Upper Peninsula
Munising, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Pictured Rocks National Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing