We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly & clean - but horrible beds/pillows”
Review of Alger Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alger Falls Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2014

Staff here was very friendly - even called us an hour before the office was to close because hadn’t checked in yet. Very accommodating in making arrangements with us to check in. Just outside of Munising, it was only a 5 minute drive to town. The room was very clean, included a fridge and microwave. Decent size, big enough for the 2 of us. The only complaint I have is the bed and pillows. I can’t believe the cleaning staff even put our ‘pillows’ on our bed instead of tossing them right in the garbage. Unbelievably flat ; not much thicker than a notebook. Staff was very accommodating in getting us extra pillows when we asked for them, however. The bed was rock hard and neither one of us slept very well. If they would update the bed and pillows this would be a 5 star hotel! At just under $100 a night, with the quality of the beds & pillows, hence the great hospitality - i cant even give it an average value.

Room Tip: Don't stay right next to the office (there's rooms on both sides as the office is in the mid...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
There are newer reviews for Alger Falls Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 141 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2014

We've stayed multiple times around July 4, first in the housekeeper cottage and then, after it was added on, the big cabin. It's worth springing for the big cabin, especially if you have a group or large family (like mine). Still rustic enough to know you're in the UP, but with modern amenities so you don't feel totally in the woods. Staff has always been very helpful. We haven't stayed there in the last few years, but that's no reflection on the hotel -- we wanted to stay in a cabin on water. However, the location is good (close to town, some falls, and shopping for your basic needs). I've heard people talk about the highway noise, and yeah, it's there, but it's not like a freeway outside your window. I would recommend Alger Falls.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
Thank Robert C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

As soon as I walked in, the owner asked if I was taking the boat tour and I said I was --- the last one of the day. She said there was a prediction for storms so she quickly called over and RE-SCHEDULED my boat tour for an earlier time! LOVED my quaint, super-clean room. I got on the last boat tour of the day before the storms did indeed, move in. It was very cozy to be in my little room while the storm drenched everything outside. Will definitely come back!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked two rooms and the staff upgrade our room to a cottage for free! It was way better than the standard room, which has full kitchen and dining area! It was a great stay!

But note that, there are tons of mosquitos there! Tons of! I don't know if this is the problem for this motel or the area. Remember to bring mosquito repeller!

Room Tip: Remember to bring mosquito repeller
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lazinet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2014

The owners were amazingly accommodating! The room was basic and it did have a slight mildew smell; however, everything was very clean. Given the area, the smell is understandable. The bed was comfortable and nothing felt worn or dirty. That's the main thing I look for in a hotel/motel and it met my standards exceptionally. For the price, this place was very well worth it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank spinaltap4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We frequently travel to Houghton and occasionally spend the night in Munising. This was our first stay at this motel.

PROS: The employee who took our reservation over the phone was very friendly. The price was right for a quick, inexpensive overnight stay, with close parking to our room. We were pleasantly surprised by the updated bathroom, newer carpet, and overall tidiness of the room, which had a king bed, and was equipped with a microwave, small refrigerator, and a small table with two chairs.

CONS: We found that the room had a very unusual odor that we couldn't identify - musty; chemical? Whatever it was, it was uncomfortably strong, irritating our sinuses. By morning it didn't seem quite as strong, or perhaps we were just used to it? We were glad that we had only planned a quick overnight stay. Had we read all of the reviews we would have found that another reviewer had complained about the odor in several of the rooms, including room #101 Have no idea what the source of the odor is. Also, the door knob had to be jiggled quite vigorously in order to get it to open, and we found it odd that the room had no facial tissue, and an almost empty roll of toilet tissue on the dispenser, with no spare roll of tissue in sight.

We really wanted to like this motel, but I'm sorry to say, all things considered, mostly because of the disturbing odor, we would be hard pressed to stay here again, and will look elsewhere for our next overnight stay.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank justthe2ofus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmotel, Owner at Alger Falls Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 21, 2014

Thank you for your review. We are well aware of the room odor. This odor DOES NOT exist in all of our rooms but is limited to 4 of them and we have been working very hard for the last several years to try and get rid of the source. After much time, money and frustration spent trying to figure out the problem, we made a huge investment this past spring to stop the source of the problem (we had standing water in our crawl space due to our foundation having cracks in it). Although the problem is fixed, and the rooms smell better than they used to, the scent still lingers in a couple of the rooms and it will take a while to "air out"; especially since we have had such a long winter and wet spring.

We have many, many happy customers and we work hard to keep our motel updated. In addition to fixing the crawl space, this past spring we had brand new triple pane replacement windows installed throughout the motel, new bed spreads, new curtains in a few rooms, desk lamps with 2 power outlets, new microwave/refrigerator cabinets, and in-room 4-cup coffee makers. Most people only review if they have something negative to say. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2014

I've stayed here a number of times because it isn't particularly expensive. Whoever runs the front desk staff is not always extremely friendly, but they do get the job done. The rooms are ok, though they could use some updating. For the price, it's definitely worth some of the older qualities. If you're hoping to have quick and easy access to some of the things in Munising, this is a little bit further out, as are some of the other hotels in the area. You won't see Lake Superior from here. You can easily drive and see Alger Falls, which is not particularly big. Wagner Falls, which is more impressive, is also nearby.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gittinsj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
0.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.9 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
12.1 mi away
North Star Hotel – Pictured Rocks
204.9 mi away
Pictured Rocks Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alger Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alger Falls Motel

Address: E9427 State HWY M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $87 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alger Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round in Munising, Michigan. Our clean, comfortable, and continually updated motel consists of 16 units and 2 housekeeping cottages. Park your car, snowmobile, or ATV at your door and enjoy your stay! All rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, electric heat/air conditioning, and free WI-FI. The two bedroom housekeeping cottages sleep up to 6-10 people and have a full kitchens. We have a heated garage for snowmobilers and a recreation room available which includes a pool table & coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Alger Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing