We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in cute town.”
Review of Alger Falls Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alger Falls Motel
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I've been wanting to visit Munising for sometime now and was pleasantly surprise by how nice this motel was despite the other reviews. The staff was very attentive to all our needs. Complaints regarding the traffic noise is exaggerated. The motel is located next to the highway but that was no surprise as we also choose it due to its location. It was clean and affordable. Will defiantly stay there again

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Qwert0987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmotel, Owner at Alger Falls Motel, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We really appreciate it! Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 144 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2013

The owners are very pleasant. The rooms need help. I had to ask for a blow dryer and a coffee pot. I think these are basics today and should be automatically included in every room. The lamp next to the bed did not work. The windows opened, which I liked. However, the noise from the trucks and traffic was very loud. There wasn't adequate room to put our suitcases. All in all, I would not stay here again. I was surprised by the trip advisor rating. Trip Advisor gave them a pretty good rating. This is the 1st time I have found I disagree.

Room Tip: Good luck.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fun2gogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Never again. We did not get any sleep because the rooms sit so close to the highway and the noise of the highway kept us up ALL night. We tried to turn on the fan and have that muffle out the noise, but the fan would not stay on constistently-it was rigged with thermostat. When I spoke with the management about this all I got was, "I've never heard that before." What a bunch of hogwash. Our window was shut completely and also was the door. She told me they never had that complaint before. IMPOSSIBLE! If you are looking for a good night's rest-STAY AWAY from the Alger Falls Motel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmotel, Owner at Alger Falls Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

I told the customer that I have had people mention the road noise, but once the door and window were closed they couldn't hear it. The room they were in was on the end, closest to the road. The heater units do go on and off with the temperature but only if you have them set to cool or heat. There is a fan only setting as well which will keep the fan running all night. The customer also complained about the rate saying it said different on the internet (which he admitted he was wrong about). He did not have any complaints about the room, just the road noise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I were disappointed with this property. It had been rated highly as being clean, comfortable and affordable. It is affordable, but you get what you pay for. Our room, #102 had a terrible musty smell when we checked in. We thought the room just needed to be aired out. It never got any better, on the last morning we looked under the sink and found a 4-5 inch circle of black mold from a leaking drain. We told the desk clerk on our departure and she told us she knew nothing about it, perhaps some time checking their rooms might help. The person on duty never offered to compensate us in any way for this unacceptable condition.

My wife did laundry and could not get the washing machine to start,she asked the front desk and was told it was tied into the light circuit. Turn on the light and the washer works.

The motel is older and needs some attention, the towels are small and thin, open windows are noisy due to how close the road is to the property.

The owner responded to his last poor rating with a number of excuses and promises for action, if he is truly dedicated to customer service, I invite him to contact us and discuss our concerns.

Room Tip: Check the room before you give them your credit card.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bubs126
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afmotel, Owner at Alger Falls Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

I do not make excuses only state facts. We take great pride in our motel and the amount of work we have put into it. We can't please everyone and can't catch everything, but I can say that we have a lot of happy customers that return. Unfortunately, the unhappy ones are the ones writing the reviews. I just wish you could have seen this place when we got it 12 years ago.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Visited during the Ice Festival. It was a two night stay. Thought it cost a little more than I wanted for a simple hotel, but overall found myself really satisfied.
Clean Rooms, helpful staff, fun rec room, good location, decent coffee

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank momnhongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

Sweet little hotel with very nice owners. A little older, but very clean and with some nice updates. The bed was very comfy! The town of munising has some wonderful things to see, and this motel is in a great location. We will be back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heatherlyn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

WE stayed two nights while sightseeing and taking the Picture Rock Boat trip. Hotel personnel very friendly and extremely helpful. Gave us very good advise on what to see and where it was. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask owner for local information.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chipperhigh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Munising
4.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Munising -  Lakeview
2.9 mi away
Roam Inn
Roam Inn
#1 of 11 in Munising
138 reviews
0.9 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Munising
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Boarders Inn and Suites by Cobblestone Munising
5.4 mi away
White Pine Lodge
White Pine Lodge
#1 of 2 in Christmas
155 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach Inn Motel on Munising Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alger Falls Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alger Falls Motel

Address: E9427 State HWY M-28, Munising, MI 49862
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Munising
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Munising
Price Range: $82 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Alger Falls Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year-round in Munising, Michigan. Our clean, comfortable, and continually updated motel consists of 16 units and 2 housekeeping cottages. Park your car, snowmobile, or ATV at your door and enjoy your stay! All rooms include a microwave, refrigerator, in-room coffee, electric heat/air conditioning, and free WI-FI. The two bedroom housekeeping cottages sleep up to 6-10 people and have a full kitchens. We have a heated garage for snowmobilers and a recreation room available which includes a pool table & coin laundry. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Alger Falls Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing