We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-preserved Stellae”

Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$332.49*
and up
Copan and Quirigua Overnight Trip from Guatemala City
Ranked #1 of 1 things to do in Quirigua
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kinnelon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
97 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Well-preserved Stellae”
Reviewed January 12, 2013

This site is definitely worth visiting to see the well-preserved stellae and other carvings We visited as part of a tour on our way from the Tikal area to Guatemala City and if you are taking that route it’s worth detouring to Quirigua.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank seek-scenic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    51
    9
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
292 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Best Stellae in Guatemala”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stopped here on our way to Copan, Honduras from Rio Barrios on the the Caribbean coast on 12/21/12. There were probably a couple hundred people at Quirigua that day. It appeared to be the most crowded of all the Mayan sites we visited. And of all those people there, I don't think we saw more than 5-10 other European-looking faces. The rest were all Mayan. Stella C actually has a reference to the 12/21/12 date on it. These are some pretty tall stellae and represent the largest collection that I'm aware of in any one place in the Mundo Mayan. They are impressive. There is one small temple there that has been excavated, but go for the stellae and the sacrificial altars. Very cool place and worthy of the hour or longer that you will want to spend there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BrianAtTheBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Very good site, not as good as Tikal or Copan, but still worth a visit.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

If you are heading from Rio Dulce to the capital of vice-versa, this is an excellent place to visit. It is only about 5 minutes from the highway and you have to drive/walk through a banana plantation to get there (which is pretty cool to see the workings of a banana republic). Some of the best stellae in the Mayan world were here at Quirigua. It is NOT Tikal and really should not be compared to the Mayan capital, nor is it as expansive as Copan... but still very much worth the visit. I give it 4 starts instead of 5 only because there are better ruins in Guatemala and nearby Honduras.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coldwater,Mississippi
Level Contributor
37 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A must see for Mayan Archaeology lovers.”
Reviewed June 1, 2012

It has been a few years since I visited this AMAZING SITE but I want to take this opportunity to encourage everyone that has an interest in Mayan Culture to see Quirigua.
My wife and another couple were traveling from Guatemala City to Copan, in Honduras. Thankfully, our driver and guide insisted that we go to Quirigua on our drive down. I had already visited most of the major Mayan sites in Central America and Copan was a must see for me.
Little did I know that Quirigua was A MUST SEE.
By some standards it is a small site but beautifully persevered and well cared for.
I believe that much more work needs to be done there to see the full existent of the original city.
You will not see the great temples and pyramids that you see at Tikal and others. What you will see is the best of the master stone Mayan carvers. The amazing Stellae are better preserved and much more elaborate. Their history is there, (if you have a good guide). The story of this small city conquering the mighty Copan. This site is not on the same scale as the larger sites but in its way, it is one of the most amazing.
I can imagine that if Quirigua was the only Mayan site that you ever saw, you would think that you had seen it all---it is wonderful--don't miss it if you have the chance.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mississippijay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Level Contributor
307 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Best of the Stellae”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

Quirigua is about ninety minutes from Rio Honda and double that from Copan, even though Copan is only about 35 miles by a crow's flight. It is one of the best collection of stellae in Guatemala, all from a single king who began as a subordinate city to Copan, then conquered Copan and executed its king Eighteen Rabbit, claimed he did so personally with an axe. As usual, only the king writes the histories and we are thus uncertain about their accuracy. The site is a small, elongated rectangular area with unexplored portions of the remainder of the good-sized city on both sides of the open area. The dozen stallae are in much better shape than usual, with exquisitely carved glyphs with wonderful art blended with text. The heat is much higher at Quirigua than in the highlands, as it is only at 1500'. The city served as a port for goods and people transporting from the Caribbean Sea to the heart of the Mayan highlands. This is well worth a visit simply for the stellae; unfortunately the buildings are not impressive.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Dunsmurian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua also viewed

Izabal, Rio Dulce
 
Livingston, Rio Dulce
Copan, Copan Department
 

Been to Archaeological Park and Ruins of Quirigua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing