We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location, good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Arkanchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Arkanchi
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
London
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Perfect location, good hotel”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Khiva is magical in the evening when the day tourists have left, the shadows are long, subtly coloured lights play on the walls of gorgeous buildings and there are enough good places to eat, sip green tea or have a beer. This hotel is perfectly situated: as soon as you walk out you're in the heart of Khiva, yet it's apart enough from the beaten track to be quiet and restful. Perfect location and the hotel itself is fine: clean, well organised with very good breakfast, helpful staff and a spacious lobby with comfortable chairs. My room was basic but fine: clean, good water supply, not a room to spend the day in but who would want to with Khiva on the doorstep? I was on a tour so don't know the prices but with this stunning location and everything else good I'd certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank changemaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    36
    14
    5
    3
See reviews for
6
30
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Difficult to get a better location than the Arkanchi in old Khiva. Friendly staff, a clean room and an ample breakfast that will fuel hours of meandering around old Khiva. Arkanchi does have the feel that an elderly Sicilian Grandmother was involved in the interior decoration, which personally I found very comforting. I love the staircase next to the entrance - think Gloria Swanson in Sunset Boulevard. All up Arkanchi is a geat place to stay in ome of Uzbekistans most magical cities.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
76 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I stayed here with a group of 33 students that I was co-leading on a school trip. The hotel met our needs and was in a very central location in order to access the sights of Khiva. Rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The restaurant provided very god meals for breakfast and dinner. The hotel blends with the natural architecture of the old city and is very close to the main entrance.

Room Tip: upstairs is quieter as the rooms downstairs are closer to the lobby and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jarrodd1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
181 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Inside city walls and easy walking to all the sights, shops and restaurant. We also went with an overland tour group, so don't know about the value for money. Staff is friendly. Water pressure is weak. Breakfast served was excellent, with peanuts, jam, honey all available along with eggs & sausage. Stayed 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tbwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Lots of character and perfect loaction, in the old town. At night, easy to go out wandering. Room was big, clean, comfortable and airy. We were travelling with a group, so can't comment on value for money, or staff, though they seemed very friendly, as we did not deal with either personally. But if ever I get the chance to return to Khiva. would happily stay here again..
Negatives?The only one I can think of was that the water temperature and pressure in the shower was somewhat unpredictable. (But that's the tradeoff for the location, the plumbing & sewerage systems in old towns like this weren't designed to cope with large volumes of 20th century tourists. If these things bother you, best to stick to modern cities.)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank paw0407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

Inside the city walls and around the corner from the main West Gate entrance, this boutique hotel is affordably charming. The lobby and front patios are invitingly spotless and the staff on duty very kind.

The decor, color and trinkets hanging around the rooms and in the lobby remind you that you are indeed in Khiva, Uzbekistan. I cannot begin to express how wonderful the value was of this delightful locale and would return in a heart-beat. Only downside for some - No WiFi yet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gossome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Inside the city walls, the restaurant provides good local cuisine. I was even sick for one night i stayed there and the staff made sure i had enough water and was ok. The daybed outside is also popular at sunset so if you are planning to relax get there early :-)

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khiva
0.0 mi away
Hotel Asia Khiva
Hotel Asia Khiva
#4 of 6 in Khiva
330 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#4 of 23 in Bukhara
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#2 of 23 in Bukhara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
115 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 38 in Tashkent
30 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#7 of 38 in Tashkent
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arkanchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkanchi

Property: Hotel Arkanchi
Address: Pahlavon Mahmud 10, Khiva 740000, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arkanchi 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel in the heart of historical old city Fortress 'Ichan Kala' in Khiva. Our Hotel under new ownership has gone major renovation in Spring 2015 and upgraded to 3 star status with newly decorated spacious rooms, restaurant, yard and terrace. Free wireless Internet is provided in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Arkanchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arkanchi Khiva, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing