We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fix the beds, add wifi- and it'll be amazing.”
Review of Hotel Arkanchi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arkanchi
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2012

This is the case of a great hotel having one down due to stress.
The lobby is excellent. The hotel is spotless, well laid out and Clearly used to be fine. Indeed excellent. The location is superb, the rooms well laid out, air con in summer, perfect.

There were two deal breakers here. One was wifi. I needed to be online these days, and they had no wifi. I don't mind being cut off in the mountains, but I do mind it when I am in a town and everyone else in connected but me. every cafe had it, and our hotel staff were adamant that the whole town was off so they did not have it. I had to go to another hotel cafe and use theirs in between sightseeing. No train smash- but I like to call my wife on Skype at night to say goodnight. Even for 2 mins- not possible here.

The real bugbear though were the beds. The beds were either mushy or lumpy. I tried both in my room and chose lumpy. This gave me back ache for the next 4 days and made me regret staying here.

The water was there, but asthmatic.

I think the key here is that the owners have two hotels. One of which is not doing so well so they need to sell it, thee stresses of this experience are playing out on the Arkanchi.

It someone goes on trip advisor and says - the mattresses have been changed and there is wifi available and they serve tea and coffee in the day- then ignore my review- it'll be the best place in town. It is Si clean and well laid out, it's just the beds!

Room Tip: Read TA and see when they change the mattresses. When they do, all will be good.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank turkbalikadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saad A, Owner at Hotel Arkanchi, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2016

Thanks for your review Adam, we bught tis hotel from former Owner Dec 2014, and renovated 100% including new matrices and fiber optic Internet beside much more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (86)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Arkanchi
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 86 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

The hotel is nicely located in the old town of Khiva, so you can see all there is to see within walking distance.

The staff is quite friendly. Like 99.9 % Uzbeks.

Our room was large, with 2 single beds that were awful to sleep in. Like being at the bottom of a rubber raft.

No hot water at night, and when I say water, I mean, a trickle of water. In the morning the trickle was tepid. No hair dryer. A bit of soap, nothing else in the toiletries dept.

All loooked fairly clean, fairly.

Breakfast was served in another building. Not much to talk about.

If you can go somewhere else, go.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josieWashingtonDc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saad A, Owner at Hotel Arkanchi, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2016

Hi Josie, we are new Owner since Dec 2014 and have renovated completely incl. new eco friendly solar water heaters, water pumps, hair dryers. Our customers are 100% satisfied now with quality of Toiletries in bathrooms, breakfast and all other amenities.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Very pleasent stay in the familyhotel in Khiva. Warm welcome by the staff and an an excellent welcome-lunch. Rooms are nice lovely soft beds. Sanitair is oke. The restaurant of the hotel is excellent. If you make a reservation before you can order anything you like. If you want to eat Plov , they make it for you. The hotel is situated in the middle of the museumcity and therefore excellent for walking around the site. very friendly staff good cook and good service.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SaffraanReizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Hotel Arkanchi is just a few steps away from the old, totally restored, centre of the city of Khiva.
The rooms are spacious, clean and I agree, the beds are not that stable, but they they are adequate enough.
I had dinner in the hotel one night and it was very tastefull, for about $ 7,50,--.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jerbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2012

The hotel is in a fantastic location, within the old city walls. Service was good. Rooms were fairly basic but clean. The only problem was the terrible beds - soft, saggy and with springs digging into our backs.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saad A, Owner at Hotel Arkanchi, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2016

Hi Swansbrough, we are new owners since Dec 2014 and had major renovation including new matrices.sorry about your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

The hotel is well located within the walled city; the hotel is traditionally built and has a certain charm. The room I had was good size, with air conditioning. The beds could have been firmer, the mattress was rather basic, the metal springs protruding into my back . It was reasonably clean, staff were friendly and helpful and the hotel also provided lunches and evening meals which had to be ordered in advance. The breakfast was fair comprising of the usual Uzbek breakfast fare of tea, eggs, fruit juice and bread, though the bread was similar to cardboard. The rooms would have benefited from having a fridge. It would also have been useful for the hotel to have Wi-Fi and internet access, I was however directed to another hotel about 500 metres away for WI-Fi which cost around 2000 som per hour.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKH50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2011

I arrived Arkanchi hotel as some Spanish girls I shared taxi from Bukhara had booking there. Good: The hotel is right in front of the old town, pretty modern and well decorated. Rooms are spacey and clean. It's great value for 7,000 som a night (with official rate $40 per night but with blackmarket rate about $28).
Bad: The mattress is too soft that I had strange dreams at night. It's too hot without air conditioner at night but too cold with airconditioner. (tried to control temperature but it was hard).. The service was almost non-existent and breakfast was pretty basic compared to all other hotels I stayed in Uzbekistan. So it depends on your preference really!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank SuyoungKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saad A, Owner at Hotel Arkanchi, responded to this reviewResponded December 8, 2016

Hi Suyoung, we r new hotel owners since Dec 2014 and have major renovation including catering and sleep quality achieving 3 star international standard.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khiva
0.0 mi away
Orient Star Khiva Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Malika Bukhara
Hotel Malika Bukhara
#3 of 23 in Bukhara
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Asia Khiva
Hotel Asia Khiva
#2 of 7 in Khiva
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Palace Hotel
City Palace Hotel
#8 of 40 in Tashkent
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
City Hotel
City Hotel
#12 of 35 in Samarkand
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arkanchi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkanchi

Address: Pahlavon Mahmud 10, Khiva 740000, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range: $43 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Arkanchi 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small friendly hotel in the heart of historical old city Fortress 'Ichan Kala' in Khiva. Our Hotel under new ownership has gone major renovation in Spring 2015 and upgraded to 3 star status with newly decorated spacious rooms, restaurant, yard and terrace. Free wireless Internet is provided in all public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Arkanchi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Arkanchi Khiva, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing