We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect location, manky room, crap service”
Review of Malika Khiva Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Khiva
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malika Khiva Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
london
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“perfect location, manky room, crap service”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

electricity was off most of the time i was there. front desk service was fairly crap, and i had to beg them to give me dinner (it was november and every restaurant within walking distance was cold). no hot water.
while this could all be expected in uzbekistan, the malika i stayed at in samarkand was lovely, and therefore i was even more disappointed by this experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freddagg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    96
    55
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
57
30
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
lincs UK
Level 6 Contributor
446 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 379 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2011

The good points - great position opposite the West Gate, pleasant receptionist. & at least we did have heating in our room courtesy of the air con machine, which was somewhat variable! Reading previous reviews I cannot relate them to this hotel - OK it was November (about 7C outside & not much warmer inside in some rooms; the dinning room was simply cold) - but I think it is reasonable to expect the water for a shower to be at least warm, preferably hot. No explanation as why there was no hot water was given - no apology offered.

My bed was appalling, no safe or kettle (although we ordered a pot of tea which was brought to our room), hair dryer by request!

At breakfast there was nothing freshly cooked - you might like cold fried eggs - question is when were they cooked? Fruit pre- cut. Yogurt & cold boiled eggs were likely the best.


It should, however, be noted that the incidence of gut upsets ran at 80% over a 9 night trip. Which restaurants need to improve their hygiene and/ or cooking practices is not known - but until standards lift in Uzbekistan - treat food like you would in the sub- continent.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kaw118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khiva hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

OK, most hotels want you to eat there. We had to convince the lady working in kitchen to make lunch. And it was fantastic! She says they just make breakfast but there is a lunch and dinner menu? Anyway, maybe it was just language barrier. Rooms clean, functional. Wifi in beautifully decorated indoor courtyard. The workers very helpful. Would be nice if it had a small fitness center gym.

Room Tip: Basic local breakfast but the cook knows how to make several special request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treborsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, UK
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2011

Well placed just outside the citadel gates, and very convenient for going out to eat at night. Very comfortable, quiet and a good nights sleep. No bar, which was a slight disappointment, but breakfast was fine. I can recommend this hotel.
The receptionist promised to post the cards. Still waiting for any of those to arrive......

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pisumcorporum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2011

Rooms were nice, bathroom a bit small. Wi-fi on all the time. Only a 2 minute walk to the West Gate. ( I liked this hotel, but would probably try to stay at the Malika hotel inside the walls, as it look very nice.) The people at the front desk were so helpful and very friendly. The breakfast was perhaps the best in my two weeks in Central Asia. They bake stuff fresh and had a huge selections

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,185 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 421 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Well there were some good things - the staff went to a lot of trouble to help me on a particular issue, despite facing technological difficulties (NB: wifi is reliable but slow and didn't reach far into my room). Location is good but Khiva is so small that no tourist hotel would really be badly located. Lobby is nice but setup to sell handicrafts. My room was mostly nice, although somewhat small and fridgeless, with views of the west gate. Breakfast was good, an interesting selection of Uzbek-style breads, pastries, cold cuts, fruit, eggs etc. I didn't have any other meals because - get this - you have to order at least 3 hours ahead.

My bathroom wasn't good though - it was stinky, it only had a handheld shower with no wall clip, water leaked from the pipes or tub onto the floor and the rubbery floor mat soaked up the water well but then took all day to dry. So I threw towels on the floor to stand on (ignoring the "please do not throw towels on floor" sign - I wonder if management has noticed lots of towels on the floor but hasn't worked out why they're there).

Laundry was expensive (they charge by the piece; I paid 20000 som for a small load). But that was made clear in advance. The biggest problem was their exchange rates. They offered me 1900/USD at first. Eventually I changed some with them at 2200. The big jump alone shows that they were trying to screw me but 2200 is a ripoff anyway and I knew it at the time, as my hotel in Nukus gave 2350 and the dodgy guys at the market had offered 2400. Furthermore, when I checked out, they tried to mislead me as to the availability of shared taxis to Bukhara, no doubt hoping to sell me their own taxis.

Overall I would say the hotel's bad value anyway (right now I'm in the Amulet in Bukhara, which is better and cheaper; as for Khiva, several of the cheap B&Bs inside the old town were highly recommended to me) but the moneygrubbing attitude of the management suggests that they're a shonky operation relying on captive tour groups.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrdom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Experience spoilt by a very pushy porter who wanted 'tippy' for every little thing he did.
There was wifi, but very slow. A place to sit and relax would be nice.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KandMOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khiva
0.0 mi away
Hotel Asia Khiva
Hotel Asia Khiva
#3 of 7 in Khiva
351 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#4 of 7 in Khiva
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bibikhanum
Hotel Bibikhanum
#1 of 35 in Samarkand
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Minzifa Hotel
Minzifa Hotel
#3 of 23 in Bukhara
162 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wyndham Tashkent
Wyndham Tashkent
#5 of 39 in Tashkent
410 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Uzbekistan
Hotel Uzbekistan
#15 of 39 in Tashkent
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malika Khiva Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malika Khiva Hotel

Property: Malika Khiva Hotel
Address: Polvon Kori Street 19A, Khiva 220900, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Malika Khiva Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Also Known As:
Malika Hotel Khiva
Malika Khiva Hotel Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing