We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Meros B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Meros B&B
Ranked #1 of 19 Khiva B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2012

very friendly, with a really great location....quiet but by the city gate - inside the walls.
The rooms are a bit basic, and probably they dont have hot water...
But this was more than made up by their friendliness and price - quality relationship is fine

Room Tip: We got the room where Christopher Aslam wrote A Caravan to Khiva....a great book!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonathan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 212 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2012

I have really enjoyed my time in this hotel. They were very helpful with lot of information. It is in the old city and you can walk everywhere from there. It is also very easy to find. The breakfast is good but the view from the roof is even better. The also sell drinks for good prices.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ferio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2011

This B&B has a beautiful location, inside the Khiva walls and so very close to the interesting spots. The room I had was nice (even though the bathroom was a bit “abandoned”), and the dining room too was nice. The family who owns/manages the place is very kind, and they arranged a tasteful dinner “on the spot” since there was no open restaurant. The only problems I experienced are connected with the unusual period I chose for my visit: winter is not a tourist season in Uzbekistan (I probably was the only obviously Westerner in town…), the cold is intense, and the structure is not prepared for winter (one of the mornings I stayed there I had to cope with an almost cold shower…). One noteworthy aspect is the price (just 20 $ for a single room).

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We stayed here for three nights in a double room with balcony overlooking the city wall. The room was basic with a double bed. The bedding and pillow were a bit musty and the sheets didn't fit properly (but this is pretty normal in budget accommodation in Central Asia). The bathroom wasn't the cleanest but it was adequate.

The main problem with the bathroom was the shower head – it was cracked so the water came out the side of the hose instead of the shower head. We couldn't be bothered changing rooms and we liked our balcony so we just showered with the shower head off. The staff were nice enough but we had to ask several times for the bins in our rooms to be emptied. They finally did it the night before we left but they still didn't empty the toilet paper bin in the bathroom. Breakfast was fine – nothing special and the bread was stale, but it was still better than some breakfasts we've had.

The guest house is in a central location and is reasonably secure. The rooftop has a great view over Khiva and is a perfect location to enjoy an afternoon beer. There is no wi-fi (but then not many budget places in Uzbekistan have wi-fi anyway), but there is a relatively expensive internet cafe with only two computers close by. The staff can also help you arrange a taxi. We booked a taxi to Shavat at the Turkmenistan border for USD20. There is also a bus that would be significantly cheaper but we were feeling lazy. The border doesn't open until 9AM but it's worth turning up early because it takes up to two hours to clear both sides.

For 30USD/night, Meros is good value. However, there are probably some equally cheap and cleaner places around Khiva, especially during the quieter season when prices may be negotiable. When we were there in late September, Meros was only full for one night and virtually empty for the rest.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clare_nz_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

+:
located inside the old town
very beautiful lobby with big table, where you can communicate to other guests, have a breakfast and drink evening tea
helpful hosts
-:
dirty bathroom

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WunderTATb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

Ok, maybe the rooms are a bit old and the place is not the shiniest, but if you're looking for an authentic Uzbek homestay, this is the right place. All the people there are good and helpful, the building itself is pretty interesting. On a down note, beds are not so comfortable (but it could be in our room only)... Great breakfast and possibility to have delicious dinners.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raquelita82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2011

the room was big enough for three people but VERY HOT with a noisy and not functioning air conditioning.
the bathroom and the toilet were not clean.
very nice terrace with a spectacular view. nice decoration in the common rooms (e.g. breakfast) and good breakfast.
unfortunately the price communication was not clear (double 30us$, triple 40us$) but anyhow good value.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samarkanski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khiva hotels
0.1 mi away
Orient Star Khiva Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Asia Khiva
Hotel Asia Khiva
#2 of 7 in Khiva
374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#4 of 7 in Khiva
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zukhro Boutique Hotel
Zukhro Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Khiva
15 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Islambek
Hotel Islambek
#4 of 19 in Khiva
68 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest House Orzu
Guest House Orzu
#3 of 19 in Khiva
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meros B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meros B&B

Address: Abdulla Boltarev 57 St., Khiva 220900, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Khiva
Price Range: $19 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Meros B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meros B&B Khiva, Asia - Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing