We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious hotel just outside the city wall”
Review of Hotel Asia Khiva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Asia Khiva
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
Reviewed May 12, 2013

The Asia Khiva hotel is located just outside of the old city - walking towards the entrance gate only means crossing the parking lot and a small street, perhaps 50 meters. Being outside of the city walls is a good thing for this hotel: while it is all very modern, marble tiled and glitzy, it is a bit of an eyesore compared to the inner town with its romantic old architecture.

The room we stayed in was on the first floor on the front of the hotel, directly overlooking the (lit) entrance gate. This also means you get the full blast of sunlight in the morning and since the curtains are fairly translucent, you will probably wake up early.

The room itself was very spracious, came with a good en-suite bathroom and a private balcony with a couple of chairs and a table on it. In spring this is a nice place to sit at night with a drink and a smoke. Wifi is available, but at times the outside connection fails so you cannot actually use the internet even when you are well within range of the wifi system itself.

Breakfast is a very nice buffet offering a large selection of both bread, cheese, meats, pancakes, eggs and such.

There seem to be different room types in this hotel however, and some may be smaller, not have a balcony, etc, so make sure what kind of room you make a reservation for, and ask to see it if you have not made a reservation. The hotel has a courtyard with a swimming pool, and some rooms will face that. Having this could be a big benefit if you go in the hot season.


Payments are accepted in Uzbek Som at the official rate, so you can save greatly on the prices if you change your western currency into Som at more favourable market places - plenty of shops a few steps into the old city will accomodate your needs.

Room Tip: Ask to see which options are available before accepting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (386)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 386 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

Small two storey hotel with 42 rooms. Well situated within the old city walls for the sights of Old Khiva. Clean and comfortable but no heating. Staff attitude and service both very good. Can recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank forest-46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We are doing a private tour with a car and driver through Uzbekistan, organized from Australia.This hotel was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price.
As previously stated by others, this hotel is located just outside the old city walls, near the south gate.
Its a large complex presumably getting great use by bus tours.
Our room was in the rear building which is a bit of a walk to the front of house. The first room was unacceptable since there the shower was not connected, but laying in the bath.

We were then shown another on the ground floor of the same building and this was fine. Room 63 was a twin room of nice size and importantly for us, the window is openable. The hot water takes a long time to come through the pipes, so perservere. There are minimal toilettries provided, so bring your own. There is no complementary bottled water.

Breakfast was held in the restaurant. It was a buffet style with plenty of choice, which was replenished regularly. Some of the items like bread was stale.

Free internet wi-fi is accessed in the main foyer. It worked well.

We found the service pretty impersonal, reflecting a large hotel, so a lthough everything was fine, there is nothing to really rave about.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

International style hotel, nothing todo with the splendid city archtecture.
Outside the city walls, meaning a five minutes walk in the dark (i.e. no lights) from the main sites.
Rooms are defo overpriced compared to what we got in the country- by far the most expensive and surely not the best staying.
Open inlow season (probably the main merit and the basis for our choice - most places were closed).
Staff helpful as we got a problem with the shower and the so-called plumber arrived few mins after.
Overall nothing bad, price aside.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fabs81_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel is ideally located right outside one of the gates of the old city walls. I came in low season and didnt think to ask to change my room to one facing the walls. From the hotel lobby you can see the giant tower of the old city. Staff was friendly, room was comfortable. Breakfast was mostly pastries and fresh cooked egg.
As it was low season my only issue was with hot water. They said the boiler is on the other side of the hotel so to leave the shower running for five minutes first for the water to travel thru the pipes. Once the hot water came there was no problem with supply and it didnt run out. This may not be a problem in warmer summer months when people wont notice the difference.
They sell lots of souvenirs in the lobby. I got a fridge magnet for $3 which seemed overpriced and it was a bad digital photo with pixels showing.
In warmer weather they have a courtyard and restaurant behind with a pool. For high season this would be a great place to stay right outside the walls by the gate for some great pics.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LondonE7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The hotel is situated in many small buildings surrounding a garden. Rooms and facilities are basic but clean and quite. Service was average. The restaurant was sometimes overbooked and I had to wait for dinner, but food was better than in many other hotels. Only the coffee is poor, but this is usual in Usbekistan. There is a garden bar.

The location is outside the city walls, five minutes by foot from the south gate. The old town of Khiva is easy to explore by walking.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pzinken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

This is a very basic hotel however the location is good. Opposite the old city so all sightseeing can be done walking. The breakfast is very good and satisfying. Generally you spend just one day in Khiva so the hotel serves its purpose of being clean, functional and well located. The old city is really worth visiting.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank onthemoveBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Khiva hotels
0.3 mi away
Orient Star Khiva Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#4 of 7 in Khiva
91 reviews
0 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Shams-Khiva
#6 of 7 in Khiva
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Zukhro Boutique Hotel
Zukhro Boutique Hotel
#2 of 11 in Khiva
18 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meros B&B
Meros B&B
#1 of 19 in Khiva
216 reviews
0.8 mi away
Qosha Darvoza
Qosha Darvoza
#1 of 11 in Khiva
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Khiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Khiva

Address: K. Yaqubova Street, Khiva 100125, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range: $98 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asia Khiva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Asia Khiva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Khiva Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing