We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Asia Khiva

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Asia Khiva
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
Lahore, Pakistan
Level Contributor
167 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“excellent location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

our group of 22 stayed in this hotel 9th of May 2012. The rooms were large , the bathroom had everything, the staff were friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was good. Our room window opened up on to the back court yard which had a nice pool and a place to sit in the evenings. The hotel is in a clean and quiet location only 5 minutes walk to the center of the beautiful and clean old city, .. Would stay here again if we re visit Khiva. i would spend 2 nights in Khiva to be able to take in the history and the beautiful city at a slow and leisurely pace.. its a 3 star facility

Room Tip: i would opt for the rooms overlooking the inner court yard. The front rooms with balconys face the O...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Shereen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    152
    127
    20
    4
See reviews for
24
106
31
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow UK
Level Contributor
358 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2012

Surprised to see some of the other reviews.The only distinctive thing about it is that it is close to the gates of the old city (few minutes walk to the centre, but can be disconcerting in the dark) but other properties are actually within the city walls which makes them much more charming, if noisy maybe.

The property is clean and reasonably comfortable but shower had to be 'fixed' twice in four days. At 5 PM you have to wait 10 minutes for hot water to come through. WIFI is advertised, but only accessible in 1 of the 5 blocks. Compound is well fenced and secure. Buffet dinner runs out after 8, breakfast adequate, with the usual Nescafe the height of luxury. Room very clean generally, but rubbish bin not emptied one day, and had to make up own bed once. Room telephone not answered, currency exchange not functioning. Our room had the mosquito net missing, which can be pretty dire as AC control is very crude. Laundry is daylight robbery by Uzbek standards: $5 for a shirt, etc. Bottled water CHARGED at $1.50, so is street map $5. ATM exists, but only accepts Maestro. TV 15", only 20% of channels available at poor quality. The only potential plus I can think of is the pool, but waiters from the 'poolside bar' just ignore you.

Room Tip: Block 1 for Internet and other common rooms access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mosolygo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Khiva hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

This hotel is just outside the southern gate of the inner old town (Ichon Kala) of Khiva which is very convenient. You can walk into the town, but you would need a torch after dark.
It is a modern hotel with a swimming pool (not in use when I was there) and a pleasant bar in the courtyard. The rooms are furnished in an old fashioned style but they are spacious and comfortable. Very quiet at night.
The bathroom did not feel so modern however. The showerhead was high up on the wall and the sliding bar to which it should have been attached was broken, This meant that when you turned on the shower, you could easily flood the whole bathroom. As well, the water was not always hot.
The buffet breakfast was fine and there was little to complain about.
The staff were friendly and smiling. The chambermaids were shy and dressed in pink uniforms and the reception staff were willing to help you buy stamps for your postcards though with a small mark up. Tea and drinks ordered in the lobby appeared quickly.
Be careful on the tiled stairs though as where they change direction it is easy to lose your footing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms looking onto the car park in front could be noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank oddwomanout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pakistan
Level Contributor
123 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

This is simply the best hoel in Khiva. Most travelers stay 1 night in Khiva and thus this (relatively expensive) place is not a real burden on the budget.
This is probably the only hotel in Khiva with a swimming pool. Rooms are nice and the restaurant is also good and economical.
Mini bar is a bit expensive, try to avoid it.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank arrahman74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

The hotel was ok, depending on what you were looking for. My friend was ill during our stay in Khiva and was well-supported by the hotel through requests for pots of tea and other things to help out. It was clearly an hotel best suited for group tours and in hindsight, I wish we had stayed in the old town in a smaller hotel. That being said, the hotel was just outside the old city - a five minute walk from the centre, it was clean, the room was a good size, security was good and breakfast was fine. It does offer free WiFi but it's variable and during our stay, the hotel had not paid its internet account so we couldn't access WiFi on day two ; (

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JB3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Italy
Level Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2011

This hotel is the best offered in Khiva even if only 3 stars rated. The rooms are nice, clean, comfortable. The position is excellent with a wondeful view on the walls around Ichan Cala. There are no particular services, only a small shop at the entrance, near the reception and cambio valute. There is a restaurant on buffet and a bar. The food was good. Swimming pool was not functional during my staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tamerlano77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
453 reviews
231 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 773 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

I stayed here one night. The room was very large, had air conditioning and was clean. The bathroom had a few caulk issues. THe breakfast was really good. THe pool looked nice but i didn't use it. The staff were friendly and spoke some english. there is a business center with internet that worked fine. The location seemed ok to me, a few minutes walk into old Khiva, nice view of the walls from some rooms. There was only warm water in the early morning, not at night. No real shops nearby to walk to.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pattayainsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Khiva
0.0 mi away
Hotel Arkanchi
Hotel Arkanchi
#5 of 6 in Khiva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#7 of 38 in Tashkent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.0 mi away
Orient Star Samarkand
Orient Star Samarkand
#11 of 35 in Samarkand
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Qosha Darvoza
Qosha Darvoza
#1 of 9 in Khiva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Kala
Hotel Kala
#3 of 9 in Khiva
4.0 of 5 bubbles 28 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alibek Guest House
Alibek Guest House
#2 of 18 in Khiva
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Asia Khiva? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Asia Khiva

Property: Hotel Asia Khiva
Address: K. Yaqubova Street, Khiva 100125, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Xorazm Province > Khiva
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Khiva
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Asia Khiva 3.5*
Number of rooms: 132
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Asia Khiva reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Asia Khiva Uzbekistan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing