We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a standard room which was very basic considering the price tag and bathroom was horrible. The location is fantastic and the pool is nice as well, but the rooms and food are both overpriced. We also had some guy trying to get into our room late at night which is disconcerting as 2 female travelers especially when the curtains were transparent. Would stay elsewhere if back in the area again in future.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fizzle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    70
    42
    33
See reviews for
79
88
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Diss, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013

It is somewhat difficult to review this hotel as it is in a Tamil area and until relatively recently was affected by the civil war. Subsequently not many tourists visited for safety reasons and the staff are not very used to Westerners and only a few speak English or Sinhala.

The hotel is in a superb location, right on the beach. The sea on this eastern side of Sri Lanka is so calm compared with the west. The sand is white and a joy to walk on. There is snorkelling available and watching the fishermen bring the trawl net in early in the morning is a great experience. There is a very good swimming pool.

The hotel looks really good from the outside and the rooms are quite big. The air-conditioning worked well, the beds were comfortable, and there was a fridge, TV, table but no tea/coffee making equipment. The bathroom was a bit disappointing - the shower was warm and just about passable but no real hot water for shaving. The only toiletries provided were two sachets of shampoo.

The English speaking staff are courteous and friendly - especially the restaurant manager but it is a bit difficult to communicate with those who don't. Dinner was served on the beach but initially we were put in an uninviting table in the grounds near a wall. Our tour guide arranged for us to be moved onto the beach. Service was painfully slow and we had to get our tour guide to intervene again in order to get served. We were on half-board but eventually given a tatty a-la-carte menu before having to ask again for the basic one. The food was quite good when it was eventually arrived. Breakfast was served in the restaurant. It was a limited buffet but the chef would make you an omlette. Fruit was nice but needs to be covered.

There is no internet available and you should expect a couple of power-cuts – though the staff sort them out fairly quickly!

It is early days for tourise and at the moment I would not return. However maybe with an increase in the tourist trade the management will have more funds for improvements and become used to dealing with foreign tourists.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a good view of the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

According to the Rough Guide (UK edition) this hotel is significantly better value and equally as nice as Chaaya Blu (next door), foolishly I trusted the guide book. It is NOT to be believed. I ended up spending just one miserable night here, before trying out CB next door- the low down is: Chaaya IS more expensive but infinitely better than the Sea Lotus, so it's 100% worth it. 

Although I was a lone traveller snd just wanted a basic single room, they insisted all they had left were beach front chalets for 6600 rupees a night. Too tired to argue with the overbearing and rude owner, I agreed. The room was poky and ill-cared for with holes in the sheets and a wonky sink- which if you are paying 30 pounds per night can, I guess, be overlooked. The hotel was barely occupied though- apart from a few other poor souls in the beach front chalets an consequently had zero atmosphere. Thewhole place was dilapidated and unpleasant. 

There was only one access point to the beach (despite the beach front claim) and you had to walk along a long muddy track to get there, in front of all of the other "chalets" views to the beach, so leaving people very little privacy. In the midst of all of this there was a sort of a staffroom that was full of men drinking and shouting until all hours. There were no beach loungers either for hire or for complimentary use. It just felt like the owners had not thought about how people migh use the space at all and that the entire sit was just thrown together as cheaply and quickly as possible.
Unfortunately, the wifi only worked in the hotel lobby, not in the restaurant, by the pool or in the room. When I was sitting in the lobby, along with a few other guests using it, one of the (all male) members of staff struck up a conversation with me. No problem. But it quickly became apparent that he was keen for something more, with his friends egging him on, he was quick to tell me that he was the "night porter... which means I am here alone all night". As a female traveller alone this made me feel really uncomfortable and was totally unprovoked (and unrequited!) he would not leave me alone, so I left, back to my room- not confident that the night Porter had my best interests at heart and genuinely quite vulnerable.

The pool was the best bit- as it appeared clean and well maintained. The food was also nice too, well cooked and served on the beach by candlelight- so come here for a meal if you are in Uppuvelli but do stay elsewhere!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Trincomalee hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bengaluru, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Nice clean rooms. We stayed in a standard room that had AC and large beds. The local fare and seafood at the restaurant is excellent.we did not try any western dishes. You can contact the hotel for snorkelling trips to Pigeon Island. Dont miss out on this when in trincomalee. We were taken by aquadreams who had a desk at the hotel. He was kind and patient with our 6 year old and made sure our experince was amazing.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmrithaShenoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

we visit this hotel as part of a tour with slimline tours , which was booked but when we got to the hotel after a long trip , we were shocked to find out that the price we were given when we booked as a tour , was not what we thought , when we arrived , with our tour gide the prices were total different then the tour giude had arranged on booking the hotel , the price we were given was more and as this is a 2 star hotel , we were vey disapointed , this is very poor management , the hotel wa not very good , and as we had traveled along way to get there , we stayed , i think this is discusing , and fuse , when our tou guide , had booked it before ,and they changed the price , its not right , to give false prices , to tour guides , who are doing there job , we will not be going there again , but i would like to thank slimline tours , for trying to sort it out , thank you sumudu perera

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SLIMGIRL9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Where do I start. Value for money the worst I've seen. Expensive but completely tacky- it has a great location which it could use so well but unfortunately has ruined it with ugly finishes- a concrete wall blocking the views of the beach from the bungalows, fixed glass in the restaurant area restricting the sea breeze and beach atmosphere, dirty old curtains in the bungalows, murky pool water etc. Food was also disappointing- overly sweet orange juice, 40 min wait for boiled eggs when we were the only ones in the restaurant etc.The staff try hard but it isn't enough- you get the feeling it's owned by someone with only the profit motive in mind. Also, see reviews of 'lotus park hotel' on tripadvisor- a name change clearly wasn't enough to change the experience at this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickering, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

This hotel is an area that was badly affected by the war. It has started a refurbishment programme and these rooms are excellent. There is some work to be done on the the shore chalets but these are quite adequate but are only two star quality. The food offered is limited but very good quality and quantity, the & chef waiters are not used to westerners but try very hard. The maid and laundry service is high quality. Trincomalee shoud be a destination for all adventurous visitors and this hotel is the place to stay.

Room Tip: Dont choose the chalets unless you want fast access to the shore.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.3 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,296 reviews
7.2 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
475 reviews
6.8 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anantamaa Trincomalee
Anantamaa Trincomalee
#2 of 90 in Trincomalee
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lotus Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lotus Park Hotel

Property: Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Address: 32 Alles Garden, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sea Lotus Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing