We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Trincomalee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sober Island Resort
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Nice place, very nice walk. Very friendly service ..

Rooms are a bit long walk .. so might be bit hard if you have small kid. food is good, not too much choice though. Good place for a get together of friends etc.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SrinathPerera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (46)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

28 - 34 of 46 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2014

The island is full of trees. Feels like we are in the mid of a dense forest. Calm and quiet environment. Nice view points, places to sun bathing and swimming and almost every other activity and it is also amidst of a forest! Feeling of freedom, without buildings and artificial creations. Great service . Very worth of the money spent. It was a new and different experience.

I'll plan to go my honeymoon there!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hasitha W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

Our visit to Sober Islands was an awesome experience. We only stayed one night because after our long drive on the 13th, sightseeing the many beautiful places in Trinco, we really just needed a place to relax for the night. The sad thing is, we found that the Island itself has many things to explore. The view from the top was amazing - beautiful and absolutely breathtaking. The Resort was lovely too, quiet, peaceful and an ideal place to relax and unwind. While the spread of food could be improved, my family and I agreed that the quality was far better than some of the "Cafes" in the town itself. Overall, our experience was amazing and we would love to come back just to explore the many other things we missed on this Island. Some advice, Sober Island is ideal for the adventurous traveler. If you enjoy trekking, hiking or exploring things or just need some peace and quiet, then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank The Mel's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We were very excited as we went to the dockyard & the people were so nice & welcoming! The boat ride with the SL navy was absolutely lovely! Beautuful surrounding of the SL trinco harbiur n ships & other small islands around. Trinco is the world's second largest harbour after hawaii. Absolutely stunning. Staff were friendly, welcoming, helpful but maybe requires a bit more professional training. We booked luxury rooms, must say that the rooms were clean n veery spacious, comfortable new furniture, all amenities were available.

However, unfortunately the good things were only about that as the food was not upto the standard . It was a very cheap offering of food fr d price we had paid. Plus, it was not appealing to the eye. WE HAVE TRAVELLED SO MUCH, BUT FOR THIS PRICE in trinck you dhall find better hotels offering much much much better food. If this place recruits a better chef, it would be an absolutely great location which I will reconend to all & gi back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nutsybuds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We visited sober islands on 14/4/2014....

Staff are very friendly and the location is breathtaking... The boat ride to the island is an awesome experience. Hats off to the navy on converting this old run down colonial heirloom into what it is today.

Rooms are large, toilets are clean and all amenities are available.

However I have to say that at a full board double rate of lkr 16.000 it's overpriced...the food is really below par with other places in this price range. We found the food to be unacceptable really.

The dishes were so mismatched as if the chef didn't know what dishes to make that would compliment each other.

I must also add that we noticed staff loitering about the bar when really their was no need for more than one person. I.e the bar area....we felt a bit uncomfortable....

Further when we called and enquired we were not told that the hotel would charge service charge on top of what they said was the full board price for two. So when you call then and ask them what "all inclusive" rate is so that you don't end up been surprised at the extra charges.

I thought this was really shady by the hotel and we felt ripped off when we checked out.

It truly is not value for money...sure it's a great location but i would really not go back. If a family getaway to you is a great relaxing location + good food then this really isn't the place for you.

Thanks
Suresh

Stayed: April 2014
1  Thank Suresh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

beautiful destinations very clean perfect location for hiking good people. best hideaway way from everybody... and very romantic..
when it comes to food I would add more items when it comes to alcohol would like different types.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank menuka j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

The SL Navy have made a wonderful job of refurbishing and making these derelict areas habitable. The whole concept is first class - the staff learn the hospitality business, and provide a wonderful experience for the guests. They are 'trainees', so give them some patience and encouragement.

Once again, the staff were excellent overall, and the location totally unique. Don't go for the food - there's plenty of 'sterile' places which serve better. This is all about a unique experience.

Rise early and go to the observation tower for sunrise. Be careful, and if you're stupid, and have an accident, please don't sue - the world needs more places like this, bereft of HSE and political correctness.

Room Tip: 200 +, but watch out for the tree!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbybooker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
5.2 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,361 reviews
5.2 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
16.6 mi away
Jungle Beach by Uga Escapes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Anantamaa Trincomalee
Anantamaa Trincomalee
#2 of 98 in Trincomalee
248 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bluewater Beach Resort
Bluewater Beach Resort
#6 of 98 in Trincomalee
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sasvi Holiday Inn
#26 of 98 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sober Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sober Island Resort

Address: Naval Dockyard | Trincomalee Harbour, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 61 Specialty Lodging in Trincomalee
Price Range: $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing