We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach”
Review of Marble Beach

Marble Beach
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Perfect Beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

This was a private beach belonging to the Sri Lanka Navy, until a couple of years, where it was opened to the public. However only one section of the beach is accessible to the public. There're 4 beachfront villas which can be booked through marblebeach.lk site.

Without a doubt, this is one of the best beaches in the country.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Sanka W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    83
    48
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

One of the best beaches in the world. It's super calm - so ideal for kids (my 2 years old loved it and as fine with her floats on - no waves to be worried about). Beautiful surrounding view of lush green hillocks - heaven on earth for sure.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Day Trip With Mohan”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Marble Beach is a great swimming and lunch stop. It's an unspoilt beach with an Army barracks at the back of the beach. Generous portions, surprisingly good food and not over-priced. Great selection of drinks too. We spent over 2 hours over lunch! Rs.20 entrance fee per person incl tuk tuk driver to marble beach.

We had the best day with Mohan (+94 (0) 779017207). For Rs.2,200 he picked us up at 9am took us shopping for lungis/sarongs, found us great local breakfast, took us to all the places we wanted to go (Suwami Rock and temple, Marble Beach etc...). We spent so much time at Marble Beach that by the time we topped up our phones, collected our lungis, got take away dinner etc. it was already 7pm! So we didn't get a chance to see the hot pools but Mohan was prepared to take us anywhere that we wanted to go for the same price within a certain time frame (which we clearly went over!)

For Rs.250 he delivered red wine and takeaways to our hotel in Uppuveli (6kms away) - there was just nothing that he wasn't prepared to do for us. He was so kind and easy to be around. I shed a tear when we left because his kindness and generosity had touched me so much.

And he does not take commission if he collects you from the bus station and takes you to a guesthouse. For Rs.250 he took us from the bus station to three different guesthouses on Uppuveli Beach (6kms away) until we decided which one we wanted. He did not come inside so he had nothing to do with the prices we negotiated with the hotel we stayed at. Whether or not something was arranged without our knowing we'll never know, but I think he was sincere. Genuine human being!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Global_Bumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Stunning location”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This beautifully kept and stunningly pretty beach was the perfect location for a lunchtime stop. Lunch was very good too. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UKbadiabranca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Absolutely Amazing Beach & Resort”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

All photos on their website were taken at location, but do not do justice to the resort....one of the worlds best & among Sri Lanka's top 5 beaches, the resort run by the Sri Lankan Airforce only adds to the charm...private, secluded, secure beach & villas....far from the maddening crowd for sure....

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capt_H_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Beach also viewed

Trincomalee, Eastern Province
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
 
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
 

Been to Marble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing