We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unspoilt and beautiful Marble beach”
Review of Marble Beach

Marble Beach
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Unspoilt and beautiful Marble beach”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

fabulous unspoilt beach with great accommodation facilities and a neat little café that served a lovely lunch and cool beer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank AKBNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    81
    48
    21
    12
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't see a reason to go there”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I felt awkward being the only woman at the beach with literally hundred of local men around. Decided not to go swimming. Beach bar looked poor. No sense going there as the beaches in Uppuvali are as good as Marble Beach.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank horsefan_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Air Force Resort @ Marble Beach!”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

What can one say? The Marble Beach is simply breathtaking! Nowhere in Sri Lanka can one ever find such a beautiful beach and a memorizing sea!

We stayed at the Tamarind Bungalow which can house 6-8 people, although we were a party of 6.
The rooms are comfortable, except the room below which smelt of dampness. The bathrooms were OK but more work needs to be done. We were fine with this, as we were planning on a fairly rustic holiday. The good news is that there are new chalets coming up and should be ready by end of 2012.

Bar that everything else at this resort was simply - magical! The staff couldn't do enough to make you feel at home..yes, the crabs were great but so were the rest of the food! The beers were chilled and we certainly couldn't keep our eyes away from the sea!

Aloka Bandara - the lifeguard was exceptionally good taking us snorkeling and keep a sly eye on us whilst we were at sea! Eranga Rukshan - who manages the facility is a remarkable young man who ensures everything is in place and more often than not does the impossible!

Great place to be and next to Maldives, this is the best ever beach I've ever been on!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Krishanperera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Marble Beach, Air Force Resort”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Stayed at, the "Tamarind Bungalow" Air Force Resort Marble Beach, Trincomalee for 3 nights. Food was excellent. The rooms were air conditioned, with hot and cold water, tea and coffee making facilities and a fridge. Although a bit small, mattresses are provided for up to 2 adults and 2 kids to sleep in a room. Two of the rooms in the bungalow had ensuite toilets and the room down stairs had a separate toilet. The view is out of this world !. A bit of a walk to the dining hall so would not recommend travelling for a holiday during the rainy season. The staff were very helpful and friendly, starting from the two Mr. Bandara's at the reception to Sanjeeve our Airforce Life guard who stood guard by us while we had sea baths and took us snorkeling. This Bungalow is ideal for 2-3 families with kids. However, double rooms are also available.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank yenufern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin NZ
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“secluded beach with character”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

The beach are is controlled by the Air Force ( from memory) and has beach front accomodation, an excellent restaurant and a separate bar . Unlike the beach at Trincomalee this is really a bay with bush down to the waters edge and is reasonably sheltered with good swimming and snorkeling ( so we were told)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank HDRennie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marble Beach also viewed

Trincomalee, Eastern Province
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
 
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
Trincomalee, Eastern Province
 

Been to Marble Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing