We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Beach”
Review of Seaway Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Trincomalee
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seaway Hotel
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Reviewed April 17, 2013

The hotel is basic but clean and comfortable. The food was good. We did not try western food though. The beach was out of this world (it is the season now though). We went in a group of 20 so I can only say that we as a group had the whole hotel to ourselves which gave us all the necessary privacy and the cuisine was made to our requirements.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sepali R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
There are newer reviews for Seaway Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 43 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed in this guest house in May 2011. We spend two weeks travelling throughout Sri-Lanka. I could say that Nilaveli (Trincomalee) is the best beach place in Sri-Lanka. There are long beaches with white send and calm ocean. Pigeon Island which close to the hotel looks like maldives atol.

The guesthouse is basic, but the rooms are clean and have fan. There were no AC at the time of our visit and it was a little bit hot at night. We were the only guests in the hotel. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. They did almost all that we asked)))

The resttraunt and its cheff worth separate compliments. We ate so many various and tasty dishes (crab soup, devil fish and calamari, gambo shrimps).

You could ask the staff to bring you to the local fishermen. There you could buy fresh (huge size) shrimps and fish at very cheap prices (usually we paid about usd 10 for few kilos of shrimps and few fishes).

There is a navy base right near the guesthouse, therefore, there are no beggars (and little of locals) in the beach. We were the only white people on a 1 km beach))))

This place left for me the best memories regarding Shri Lanka. I visited plenty places in Sri-Lanka but would return only here.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kseniya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We only ate here, so can't comment on the rooms. The restaurant was terrific - devilled sear fish fantastic. Great banana fritters for our daughter. Lovely views out to sea. We were the only guests but made to feel very welcome. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Trekkers999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
Thank Hachiko2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambres à l'étage du nouveau bâtiment
  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sylvain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Birgit178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndreySal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.0 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trincomalee
7 reviews
0.0 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
352 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
488 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
250 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaway Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaway Hotel

Address: Nulawely Beach, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing