We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not even worth one star.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Ranked #56 of 98 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Reviewed December 14, 2012

THIS so called hotel shouldn't be catering for any paying customers as they would be paying far too much money. The rooms are a good size and are clean, but that is about it. For what you pay, you could stay up the road at Nilaveli Beach Hotel, get 5 star service, beautiful grounds and pay LESS. The staff can barely speak English, which is not a problem unless you are dealing with foreign guests. The manager is a rude, arrogant man who does not have the best interests of his guests only what money he can make from them.

I put a silk skirt in to be ironed with very specific instructions which came back burnt (they would not allow me to do it myself). When asked the hotel denied all responsibility despite the fact that the garment had very obviously been ironed. They then lied about it. We also went out for the day and when we came back, our room had not been made up. When we tried to discuss this with the manager, he took a phone call in front of us and then left us sitting there. Extremely rude. I would NOT recommend this hotel to a stray dog let alone tourists. I am very disappointed at the thought that foreign tourists in particular will stay here and think that this is the type of service that Sri Lanka has to offer.

DO NOT STAY HERE.

Room Tip: To choose a good room, stay at another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erica R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 98 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent location on a really pretty and peaceful beach.

Sadly the hotel was pretty disappointing. We were given an ok room which was spacious and clean with a shared balcony. Unfortunately the resort was totally dead and there were only one or two people besides us staying there which didnt really make for much of an ambience. It often suprises me when staying at somewhere like this why they dont upgrade guests to the better rooms given that they are empty anyway as it would certainly lead to much more positive feedback about the establishment but they seemed largely indifferent to the needs of their (few) guests.

We intended to eat lunch here but walked out after looking at the prices. I almost burst out laughing. Bog standard dishes in the empty restaurant here are priced more than in five star resorts in busier parts of the country. We ate somewhere further up the beach for half the price and were glad we did when we sampled the breakfast here the following morning and it was barely palatable.

Not somewhere I will be rushing back to.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mr_conway_twitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Really good location right on the beach, the beach bungalows were a bit tired and therefore a bit overpriced, however the view out over the ocean was just gorgeous. Service was pretty slow so we chose to eat out, nice beach bar next door for daytime snacks.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisapoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We got a bargain compared to where we were staying for the first 3 nights. They gave us their cheapest room with airconditioning, tv and a comfortable bed. We were right on the beach. The pool was well looked after as well. We found the staff to be very helpful, although the service was slow at times.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Adrienne388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

The photos don't represent what the hotel is actually like run down and shabby. We were staying in lovely guesthouses that cost 2000-4000rupees that put this hotel to shame. It is worth paying extra 20 dollars and booking the Jungle Beach Resort instead because your sure to be disappointed with Lotus Park.

The food was disgusting, they burnt an omelette which takes a pretty rubbish chef and as with everything with the hotel it was very overpriced, you are much better off walking around the corner to Chaaya Blu and using their restaurant where you can actually pay less and have a beautiful meal in a fantastic hotel.

The staff tried to be friendly but were slow and didn't really know what they were doing, clearly lacking training. The manager just sat at a table all day not sorting out any of the numerous problems the hotel has. The place was probably once quite a good resort but seems to have been run into the ground, the atmosphere was that of an abandoned theme park, depressing.

Every one of the deck chairs around the pool was broken in some way, they were large bits of broken glass leant up against one of the walls of the hotel which is really dangerous for kids.

There are building works going on next to the hotel which is fine if your an early riser.

The only positive thing about this hotel is the tame deer that wanders around.

I hope they sort out the problems soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JT2356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We arrived late night after a very long car ride from Colombo very exhausted and ready for bed.

We were greeted by reception staff who were clad in dirty attire and were quite unkempt. Once rooms were sorted for our group at reception we proceeded and were misled by the porter who did not know which floor the rooms were on. After this workout we arrived at our room to discover a partially closing door that a child could possibly break through and an AC that was rattling its last few weeks of life.

We were told we can upgrade to a Deluxe room for 110USD (15,000Rs) inc breakfast which we took after seeing the room and finding it in much better shape. We should have been given this complimentary given that our original room was defective but they have no such concept here and explaining this would escape any managerial staff. The door locks were solid in this room. This was a garden access room and had a very good AC unit – no ceiling fans. The garden access door had a lock that was at the ground level which you had to align right in order to lock making this a painful exercise at the best of times. There are also no ‘do not disturb’ tags and the cleaning staff will barge into your room unannounced. Luckily we had a door stopper in our room which prevented them from entering. We opted out of any cleaning for the balance of our stay given this incident.

We were also greeted with ongoing powercuts at night most likely from overloads on the system.

The build of the place has been done in afterthought with many a construction fault – it seems like the hotel was a learning ground for new construction workers who all had different ideas. There were many odd placements and illogical fittings that just boggle the mind. However, we are talking about a post 30 year war community that is struggling to catch up.

That struggle should however not come at the price charged for the quality provided. Food quality was abysmal consistently. Food was not edible unless you didn’t know what good food was. Over salted over sauced to compensate for a lack of culinary skill. You just eat because there simply are no options down the road or anywhere in sight for that matter. Food items are loaded with potatoes – a feature of each dish it seems – having said that if you like your taters you’ll be in heaven. If you value your health stay away from salads/juices or any food that’s containing fresh water/residue that hasn’t had any heat applied to it – tap water cannot be assured here neither can the quality of healthcare in Trincomalee. Bottled water is available in large 1ltr sizes at 150Rs each – please ensure the seal is intact.

Please note that staff are unaware of pricing at this hotel for food and beverages. I was told a beer was 650Rs with taxes and later found out it was 430Rs with taxes. Do not bother to ask for pricing instead just follow what’s in the menus – the menus themselves are an entertaining read – my favorite still remains ‘Spagathi Carbarana’. Try not to modify menu items either as it confuses the staff to no end. If there is a buffet and they/reception insist that you have to eat from this it is not true – you are welcome to go to the kitchen area where the buffet is and ask one of the waiters to prepare something from the menu. Also there is no room service here that you can use the phone to order from (if that phone works). They will send a waiter to your room with a menu; it was faster for me to walk to the restaurant and give the order than wait.

The staff are seemingly very friendly and very accommodating however that’s where it all comes to a screeching halt. Beyond the pleasantries they lack an ability to execute even the most simplest of tasks that can be accomplished with even an infants level of aptitude. The hotel obviously does not train the staff even though they charge 5 star rates. This lack of service quality is a nightmare to put up with given the price you pay – had it been a 40-50Usd room night you wont ask for much in this war torn township but at a 100+USD you’ve got to be kidding.

The beach is nice with waves that break beautifully. Its hotter than hell here so be prepared with ample sun lotion and coverage – there are a couple of beach huts on the sand but only a couple.

Advice for the hotel - drop the price, train the staff and get a competent chef who can actually cook a decent edible meal that doesn’t induce vomiting.

Advice for tourists who happen on this trap. If you cant afford anywhere else and /or this is all you’ve got then this is all you’ve got. Better value profiles available at nilaweli beach hotel and chaaya blue – there is an Indian restaurant somewhere that has decent food as well I’ve heard. Given the long drive to get here and what you get to see around the area and what you ultimately have to pay for I would say this is a bad deal for a few years to come until they get their act together and you get what you pay for. Please also note the road is littered with opportunistic police officers eager to be bribed for speeding offenses on the 50-60km/hr road - rates are Rs500 for locals with a 15 min lecture or substantially more for foreigners.

Room Tip: Garden/ground level rooms are convenient to access the pool and beach and restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank reviewsplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We (and children aged 16, 13 and 9) stayed here for 3 nights. Our rooms were OK, slightly shabby, but everything worked. The best thing about this place is its location - right on the beach, and our rooms were less than a stone's throw from the curving white sand of Nilaveli beach. Apart from breakfast (which was included for us) we didn't buy water/drinks or eat in the hotel as it was expensive, but close by, down the beach are a selection of other restaurants and eateries, so we had no trouble finding alternative places to eat. Take a torch, as it helps to find your way back again after dark. The staff were helpful, and we had some washing done very reasonably. Our children enjoyed the pool, but swimming in the warm waters of the sea was wonderful, and the beach was very uncrowded. Had a great game of volleyball too! Watch out for the tame deer that roam around the grounds on occasion.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snooks_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Trincomalee hotels
0.4 mi away
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
#7 of 10 in Trincomalee
257 reviews
0.4 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,361 reviews
0.4 mi away
Anantamaa Trincomalee
Anantamaa Trincomalee
#2 of 98 in Trincomalee
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sasvi Holiday Inn
#26 of 98 in Trincomalee
5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Alex Rooms
Alex Rooms
#17 of 61 in Trincomalee
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lotus Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lotus Park Hotel

Address: No. 33 Alles Garden, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka (Formerly Lotus Park Hotel)
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee
Price Range: $47 - $49 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lotus Park Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your Sea Lotus Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing