We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to recharge the batteries” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Palm Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palm Beach Resort
Ranked #12 of 74 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to recharge the batteries”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

After three weeks in SL, our kids were a bit over rice & roti, homestays and guest houses.
We were getting jaded. Then we came to Dona & Luca's place. Firstly, the rooms are clean and comfortable. Secondly the guest house is enclosed, so we were happy for thekids to run around and then there's the food.
Each night, a different hand written menu depending what the market had to offer.
It's true that the prices are higher than for SL foods, but many of the ingredients are imported from Italy. However, breakfast, drinks etc were comparable to other places, so the final bill was not a shock.
The coffee drunk short and black, unexcelled in SL.
So 4 days later we left palm beach resort with the energy and enthusiasm we had been running low on.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fallfans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    67
    26
    9
    10
See reviews for
41
125
22
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights with my husband and my son, and we had a wonderful holiday with Dona and Luca. Room is simple but clean and comfortable. Chatted with Luca while having breakfast then off to the beach. Come back to have Dona's crostini with beer for lunch, playing cards or games and back to beach again. Then here's the best part of the day, Dona's dinner is waiting for us! If you like to spend your beach holiday like us, this is the place for you. Lovely beach, lovely food and lovely people... What else do you need? I want to go back to Trincomalee to see Dona and Luca again. And we will!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keik0_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Palm Beach Resort is just a good place - atmosphere is beautiful, rooms are nice and clean, food is really good, owners are kind and helpful.
We stayed five nights and felt absolutely comfortable. (Extra plus: three little puppies at the time we had been there.)

The only thing we didn't like was the polluted beach! Plastic waste everywhere. Maybe we had just been unlucky these days (had rain and the sea was rough), but it was shocking!! I don't know if anybody is regularly cleaning the beach - we didn't see anyone doing it.

Nevertheless: We can highly recommend The Palm Beach Resort !!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Overall a nice and clean accomodation with a lovely garden - in a very European atmosphere. If you come to sri lanka to meet other European travellers and enjoy Italian food, the place is perfect. If you want to experience sri lankan hospitality, then this may not be the ideal place.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place has really clean rooms with very comfy beds. We slept very well under the mosquitonets and the fan. Like almost everybody else we also liked the food cooked by Dona a lot. Not that we were fed up with rice & curry, but pasta made the way it should be made is very nice for a change in Asian countries. Also a good coffeemachines with excellent espresso and capuccino. We stayed the end of february and the season just started on the East Coast with the rains of the monsoon just a week behind us. Still we had lovely weather but the downside was that the beach was not completely cleaned up and the mosquitos were still abundant. However this was easily solved with mosquitonets and fans installed even on the terrace in front of your room which blew the bastards right away. We took a trip to Pigeon Island for some nice snorkeling and also loved the town of Trinco. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoelenKarin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We arrived at the palm beach resort after an uninspiring night at the sea lotus park hotel, unsure of what joy uppuveli was going to bring. A morning coffee speaking with Luca was all that was needed- the local knowledge, relaxed atmosphere and pleasant setting had us booking a room in no time. Luca was very upfront with the accommodation- basic but clean- to which I think he has undersold their offering. The rooms were good size, very clean with nice big beds and good bathrooms- all that is needed in a tropical beach location. Air con was optional but gladly taken up. Accommodation is great value for money. Even more impressive was the food- Luca and Dona serve up some amazing italian cuisine, which was much needed after eating curry and rice 3x a day. Wine was also eagerly sought. While the palm beach resort is close to the beach, it isn't on the beach, but given the tropical setting and lack of inspiring options on the beach, this didn't matter at all. Things to note- the palm beach resort books up quickly so try and book in advance. We had some friends travelling with us that couldn't be accommodated. Also, laundry was a little expensive but clothes came back in terrific shape- washed with drinking water as opposed to the local water. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here in September 2012 with my girlfriend. Very nice place, awesome beach (swimming, not surfing). Owners (Luca and Dona) are very helpful and great people. They really care about your stay and experience.
We had great fun here and would highly recommend this place to anyone visiting the area.
Basically, there is nothing much to do in this part of Sri Lanka except chilling / going to the beach. What is better to do this in the only place 100 miles around where you can get a real coffee?
Doppio, per favore!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hlocher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
2.7 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,182 reviews
2.8 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
10.2 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Anantamaa Trincomalee
Anantamaa Trincomalee
#2 of 74 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dyke Rest
Dyke Rest
#1 of 74 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
8.3 mi away
Shahira Hotel Nilaveli
Shahira Hotel Nilaveli
#3 of 74 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Beach Resort

Property: Palm Beach Resort
Address: 12 Alles Garden, Nilaveli Road | Alles Garden, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Palm Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Beach Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing