We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“this is not an HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House
Ranked #63 of 93 Trincomalee B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

I would rather say this is a refugee camp. we arrived on a rainy day and the situation was depressing. of the 2 AC rooms we requested there was only 1, all guests packed in a small porch outside to cover up from the rain, the kitchen produced smells all over. the staff is quite rude and doesnt speak good english. I would never suggest you spend anytime here

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clauz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

If your alternative is sleeping under the stars this could be an option..
Staff does not speak any English, the food is not great (if it comes at all), you don't feel welcome but rather in the way and don't open the windows facing the dump next door.
I would explore all other options before choosing this guest house

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HenrikGamborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We are an Indian family of three & visited / stayed for 2 nights (18th & 19th of this month). The rate published on the website is about USD $ 50 for a/c triple occupancy ($40 for an a/c double). Room only. Actually works out to about Rs.5,000 or 5,500 LKR if booked directly. Travel agents could hike that up & charge higher, so may be worthwhile to pay the slightly higher USD $ rate & book through the website / payment gateway. We were in touch with Poseidon Dive Center which is located on the property through the divesrilanka website & they offered us accom options in the vicinity at different price levels. We choose to stay at this guest house since it would be convenient for diving, snorkelling & had direct access to the secluded beach. Rooms are basic but clean & neat. Some level of completion required (doors need painting, beds are under 6 ft long, unpolished etc). Food was local fare. Being Indians, most of this - food, accom standards etc were not alien to us. A fair / working knowledge of Tamil the local language was also very useful. Food choice though limited to local fare was always made to order & none of the meats were frozen, all fresh. The owner - a very kind, friendly & helpful gentleman was most helpful & always attentive to our needs. Our requirement of a clean, comfortable, safe & conveniently located place to stay was certainly met on all accounts.
For guests who are not from the Indian sub-continent, the language, food & isolated location could be somewhat intimidating. If particular about food or other requirements, may be useful to check if they can provide or carry your own. Bottled water, aerated drinks, Beer & short eats (fresh) are available / possible or the resident trishaw guy could be sent out to pick up specific items from the market. Nilaveli is about 9 kms out of Trincomalee, so don't expect a lot of conveniences near the guest house. The diving at Pigeon island is great & this guest house will meet the need for basic accommodation. Other properties in the vicinity may offer better facilities, luxurious standards, water sports activities etc but cost upwards of US $ 150. So we had no complaints. We wanted an affordable activity (SCUBA etc) based holiday & got it.
Poseidon is the oldest dive school in Sri Lanka since 1973.

Room Tip: You can ask to see all the available rooms & pick what you like out of them, when checking in...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Capt_H_Reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This hotel is very basic, with no loo paper and one towel to share (maybe you'd get if you asked but we were there for only one night and came equipped!). Dinner was good (breakfast only very average, toast and lumo jam) although we misunderstood the price.

Garden needs a lot of work, and the "restaurant" area is just two tables. We had to sit inside because the staff were on the outside table, which wasn't great.

Staff are okay, altho we had a nasty fight when we left because the owner was not there and had not told them the rate he'd offered us, and they tried to charge us for air con. English not great among staff.

Be warned - Nilaveli is VERY quiet - there's nothing to do near this hotel except sit on the balcony and drink a beer, alone. No bars, no other restaurants, nothing. It was a Sunday - there was nowhere even to buy lunch. Beach is nice but plenty of litter etc.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

we arrived at 8pm with no booking. The main building was dark and empty. We were offered accomodation in an annex, but had to bargain hard to get a half decent price. They clearly did not want to let us have a room in the main building for some reason. Communcation was very hard, the rooms were clean but basic. we asked for dinner and it arrived, good rice and curry, but had to wait till 10pm. We had high hopes for Nilaveli, but the beach was grotty with rubbish everywhere including in the guest house grounds. The final insult was charging 2500rs for a room for the driver, who was not impressed with the place either. We left early the next day for Palm Beach guest house at Uppaveli, what an unbelieveable difference, stay there instead.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank kiwit0ny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

I always think a list of pro's and con's is best. So here you go:

Pros:
- location. Right at the beautiful beach of nilaveli. Couldnt be any closer
- owner (or at least the old man that worked there) is the sweetest thing ever! He took really good care of us
- food. Okay. The breakfast wasnt great, but normal sri lankan style what you get for having a low budget. The dinner however was pretty good (rice and curries).

Cons:
- not clean enough. Pretty sure the bathroom hasnt been cleaned at all since the last guest stayed there
- price. It is overpriced Unless you are a volunteer or student (they will give you a pretty good discount).

Overall it wasnt a bad nor a great place to stay. Bur probably the best option around there when being on a low budget.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NiinaJuliia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

The hotel building is brand new, the rooms not decorated yet. the staff does not speak any english and is very lazy. The kitchen does not serve lunch. Diner is awful, we waited almost 2 hours and were served cold rice and noodles. And they charged more than written in the LP.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
10.5 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
10.1 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
461 reviews
10.0 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
353 reviews
3.6 mi away
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
#2 of 10 in Trincomalee
1,326 reviews
3.1 mi away
Shiva's Beach Resort & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House

Address: 9th Mile Post | Nilavali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Trincomalee
Price Range: $10 - $19 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Pigeon Island View Beach Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing