We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach and pool, need to improve on the services” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
80 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach and pool, need to improve on the services”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

Beautiful view, great pool, great beach chairs and the sea is perfect for swimming.
Friendly staff (but definately not the most efficient).
Breakfast/Dinner was nice, not a lot of non-spicy options.
Had some problems with hot water and internet that were not fixed.
Overall. a good option in the area, but they still need to improve to be a worthwhile resort.

Room Tip: Rooms above the lobby have a perfect sea view, but the beach bungalows have beach access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nokipa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience during our stay at Blu
We are happy to have met your expectations
The property is 40 years Old and is continuously improved, your comments will assist us to better our facilities.
Await your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    437
    465
    190
    59
    31
See reviews for
399
456
38
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

Fantastic place at the most wonderful beach in Sri Lanka. Friendly staff, comfy rooms, brandnew pool, manicured grounds, good food - all perfect. Ask for the beach bungalows vs. the rooms in the main building.. trust me, you will like stepping out to the beach directly. Looking forward to next time!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susannita77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for your great comments on Blu
We are happy that your stay was memorable
Await your return on your next holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

The hotel is not more than 4 star at best. The hotel needs an overall refurbishment. The pool and beach are nice but the sunbeds are old and too few. The rooms are small but all look onto the sea with balcony. The bathrooms oldish but i found clean. The food was good and service on the whole ok- the staff tried their best. Excursions outrageously expensive. The hotel is overpriced and take advantage of being the only big "luxury" hotel ni Trinco. Ive stayed in much better hôtels in Asia for less.

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kattalaina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your comments of your stay at Blu
We are happy to have met your expectations.
The rates During peak season us high due to occupancy.
Rates are discounted from October to March
Await your arrival on your next holiday
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2014

It was a nice stay but not that much great. Everything was good but there was nothing special. The room was average but very much clean and calm. The staf was friendly and helpful and their service is excellent. The food was also tasty and there was a good variety in the food. The beach is absolutely great but the hotel does not keep it vey clean condition comparing to the other hotels in the area. Overall it is nice and memorable stay but the quality of the stay in this hotel could be improved into a higher level.

Room Tip: There rooms facing to the beach are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Achini d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
thank you for your comments during your stay at Blu
We o have one o the best beach on the east coast which is a well known secret.
Await your return for memories worth repeating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

It was my second stay at Chaaya Blu in 3 years. I was with my mum and 2 local friends.
We arrived around 11:30 am and were greeted warmly. Welcome drinks, a smooth check in, and a request for rooms next to each other were all dealt with efficiently. We were escorted to our rooms within half an hour of arriving despite being early for checkin.
Unfortunately my mum took ill the next day. The staff were very helpful with directing our driver to a local medical centre. Their further offers to help and concern for mums well being were much appreciated. Restaurant staff were always friendly and happy to chat each day.
Buffet was plentiful and always well presented. Thank you for a memorable, relaxing stay away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for the Comments on your stay.
WE are delighted that your needs were met.
Hope to see you on your next break for memories worth repeating
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

Mildly run down hotel that shows it.

I booked two rooms with interconnecting door. The a/c in one room was faulty. They tried to fob me off with " leave the interconnecting door open". After insisting on the maintenance guy check it. It appears the freon level was low. Fixing this took well over an hour the last thing I needed after a long road journey.

Food was excellent. Buffet every night good quality. breakfast buffet very good. Open dining area not air-conditioned with fans only. Breeze helped. Like most higher end hotels they tend to gouge you on extras like bottled water and drinks.

Service was good, not super fast but adequate.

I would stay hear again but would check out reports out the competition in this forum first.

Room Tip: A room away from the pool area and reception also means you have a longer walk for services.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itakephotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your stay
We are happy to have been able to meet your expectations.
Areas of improvements are noted and will ensure that they are rectified on your return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

We arrived at the hotel through the guarded entrance. The road leading to the hotel is lined on both sides with locals, small shops (cheaper than the minibar in the room, and worth it to grab some extra drinks/snacks since there is no real snack place at the hotel) and other hotels to the well landscaped and taken care of front of the hotel. Check in time is normally 2pm, we arrived around 11 am knowing that we would have to wait obviously. We were greeted by great service, our bags were marked for us and placed near the counter safely. There was also fresh juice (strawberry was amazing) given once we arrived and tilled out the single sheet of paper. We took a short tour of the property to see what was around and burn a bit of time. It is a very beautiful location. Everyone is friendly, its well taken care of, and doesn't feel old or run down like some places nearby.

We were notified around 12 that our room was ready. We ended up with a Beach Chalet, which is well worth the extra money to be away from the noise of the main building. The beach view and sound is amazing. You can hear the ocean even with the doors closed. It is that close! Rooms are well equipped with a great smelling great tea shampoo, toothbrushes, toothpaste, shower gel and a hairdryer. You do need conditioner if you require it as there isnt anywhere close to buy it (or much else that we found). Wifi is extremely slow.

The food is mediocre. Breakfast wasn't bad, eggs, waffles, bacon, potatoes, bread, nothing special but not bad. Satisfactory. Lunch and dinner however are not worth the price. Very mediocre and bland to us, though some loved it, so at least try it once.

The issues we DID have, weren't that bad. There was a BIG thunderstorm the night we arrived which knocked out power, and the phones, and wifi in our part. The hotel responded amazingly by providing cell phone numbers for all areas and they were answered quickly as well. Things happen, and it is how the hotel copes with this, that makes it great.

All meals, drinks, etc can be charged to the room. So it makes it a bit easier in the end to not have to carry around everything. A 10% service charge is added to everything. They kind of bite themselves in the foot because i would tip more than 10%. The only options are the seafood restaurant or the buffet

Dive center prices are on par with other places. 90 usd for discover scuba, and 40.00 a dive. its +-5usd as everyone else. They also rent the only jetski around for 4000 rupees for 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay.
We are happy that you had a good stay.
Concerns have been noted and will be attended to by your next visit.
Await your arrival
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 431 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
Sea Lotus Park Hotel
#5 of 10 in Trincomalee
3.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Property: Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing