We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It is all white”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Bolton Lancs
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“It is all white”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2014

The first impression was everything was white with splashes of orange and blue.
The room was very clean and comfortable with amazing view of the sea, swimming pool and grounds and the bay. Our room had a balcony with steps leading down to the swimming pool and beach my husband was very impressed by the tap at the bottom of the steps to rinse the sand off your feet! The pool attendant was brilliant at organising sun beds, on the beach, by the pool or in the grounds. The beach is spectacular although a lot of debris is washed up but the hotel do work hard to keep the area in front of the hotel clear
The food was very good and varied, the waiters helpful and friendly. The chefs were on hand to cook the days specialities, more than willing to discuss and explain the dishes. All of the staff were helpful and friendly

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olive064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
thank you for sharing your experience during your stay.
Channa Dasswatte the architect in the refurbishment selected white to better bring out the 40 year old property to a modern look.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    450
    470
    192
    59
    35
See reviews for
406
465
39
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (310)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Slough Berkshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Lovely location super food comfortable rooms and very friendly staff - overall excellent only 2 very small minus points - the beds are very hard and the pillows lumpy and please teach your staff how to make and present a Cappuccino and Cafe Latte - those small 2 things apart it was a very nice getaway from Colombo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emandt20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience at Blu.
We are happy your stay was to your expectations
Await your arrival to repeat memories worth repeating.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

My dad and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. I have to say that I was really satisfied with the hotel, the amenities and also the wonderful location. On the second night we each got upgraded to a Beach Villa, and I was really amazed at the quality of the rooms - both spacious and luxurious. The staff were great here - Suresh , the Assistant Manager was very warm and welcoming, and this was same of his wonderful staff who gave us every attention.

I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone who want both luxury and a welcoming surrounding.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the ground floor where you can just walk to the beach or the pool. Beach Vill...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuwara Eliya, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent one night in this hotel with my wife and little angel...This immaculately presented hotel of Trincomalee in a peaceful lagoon side location. Guests can enjoy the pristine swimming pool and dine at the exceptional hotel restaurant (Western food is the star here but also do very good si lankan menu). Attention to detail is second to none- from welcome drinks on arrival and attentive waiting service from friendly staff.. highly recommended.... i will come back definitely....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asantha G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield England
Level Contributor
80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2014

We spent two nights here and loved it ,the staff were very friendly,the room was a ground floor ,had mini bar fridge and safe ,loved the decor very clean .The food was good and plenty to choose from ,we ate at the beach restaurant and that was also good .The grounds and pool area very well kept ,we will be back next year ,oh and the beach is amazing .

Room Tip: ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mwe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooper City, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

If you are looking for a comfortable beach hotel while in Trincomalee, arguably this is as good as it gets!!

I am biased towards beach accommodations and so I can relax in most hotels as long as I have a nice and safe beach to walk on.

The rooms are nice, the bathrooms are a little dirty and so the management could ensure that the staff are trained to notice such thigns and even use some bleach to clean the bathroom floor and give it a nice clean look and feel.

There was a good selection of food when we were there and even the staff were pleasant to deal with. The F&B Manager of the hotel was nice enough to make sure we were given something special as there was an issue when we went to The Crab restaurant for dinner - basically, most of the dishes on the menu were not available so this was a little more than just frustrating, but he made an effort to show that the hotel cared. I will definitely go back should I visit Trinco.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio2611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coudes, France
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

We came for the second time in this hotel. It is really a topper in Sri Lanka. The rooms are beautiful and have all a sea view. The bathroom is unique, the shower is in fact outside, no roof above your head. A private terrace makes the rooms complete.
The restaurant is also from a very good quality. A lot of good sea food can you choose in the crab, a small restaurant on the beach, fantastic!
All the personnel is helpful and very friendly.
This hotel is your visit worth!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Property: Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing