We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The star of the East coast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 23, 2013

In my opinion, Chaaya Blue has created the perfect balance of luxury and relaxed living. It's hard to pinpoint exactly how, but I will give it my best shot! It's luxurious surroundings have a character so many 5 star establishments seem unable to capture. The building in is a semi circular design creating a sense of intimacy and privacy, centering on a warm pool that is so delightful it is difficult to remove ones self from its relaxing grip. Entire afternoons disappeared floating within its realm with the lulling sound of the ocean as a backdrop. Heaven.
The grounds blend seamlessly onto beautiful Upperveli beach, and snorkeling tours to Pigeon island leave here in the early morning.
The beach Vs bling theme lends itself to both a sarong/ boardys and bare feet, to the latest resort wear from Europe - whatever you are comfortable in, will fit here, where snobbery is a dirty word.
The laneway leading to the hotel is full of character and dotted with ayevedic spas that are excellent and reasonably priced. With a short tuk tuk ride into trinco town one could easily stay for a week (or 2!).
Fantastic service, incredible buffet ( I didn't try the restaurant, but did I mention the cocktails?), beautiful rooms, stunning location - what more can I say?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darkydoors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and sharing your great experience. We were delighted to know that you were really enjoyed the service and the serenity.
Your kind sentiments are highly valued and appreciated while looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

767 - 773 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed here for 7 days after a week of cultural tour. This hotel is laid back and well chilled! Just what you need after touring in heat! Our room had a pool view which meant just a few steps to the grass area with sun beds. Give a 100 rupees to the pool attendant and you will be well looked after everyday ! All the staff are friendly and happy to chat but don,t expect a speedy service, as I say it is laid back! Take a short walk left along the beach to where the river cuts into the village, wade across the rive ( low tide only) walk across the rough rock area, up the path and you will see an amazing Hindu temple on the beach! So unexpected! The locals of the village will allow you access for a small tip! But ladies, cover up with a little more than a sarong as you may find the local temple caretaker will have a crafty feel of your bottom! At the entrance to the hotels is a small shop run by mr Hameed, he can arrange a tuk-tuk to the fort and temple for a small cost. You can also get supplies - water, soft drinks, beer, crisps, order in the morning and he will have it ready for 5 pm!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank loftylad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on Trip Advisor following your stay with us at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee
The entire team was delighted to know that you and your family were pleased with the service and the product received at our resort. Your comments with regard to the service of our associates have also been noted. Being a social responsible service provider we do recruit many of the hotel staff from the vicinity and we constantly train them.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya Blu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately we could stay only one night at this wonderful hotel. The staff were so helpful and unobtrusive, something rare in Sri Lanka. The owners have obviously taken the time to train their staff well. We had the best buffet dinner, in fact the best dinner we'd had in Sri Lanka at the hotel. The pool is excellent, the views beautiful and the beach was brilliant. At about 10am you can watch the net fishermen hauling in their catch - a fun and fascinating experience! We have stayed in 5 star resorts in Sri Lanka and this place trumps them!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank AmyB1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the warm hospitality. Your kind sentiments are highly appreciated.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya Blu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We went there for a family outing. We loved the location and the friendly staff never forgetting to smile. I loved the view from the lobby. The rooms were excellent nothing to complain. I love Chaaya hotels for their rooms and the lovely atmosphere. My little daughter loved the room and the pool.

Food was excellent catering to all tastes. My parents loved the hot butter crab and chicken sharma. We loved the varieties served in the hotel catering to different tastes. Delicious food and excellent service. They allowed me to carry food outside the restaurant for my little daughter.

The only complain I have about the hotel is the reception. The staffs were really friendly but were not organized. We had booked our rooms from Colombo, one double and one triple. However, we were given 2 double rooms. They took half an hour to arrange an extra bed to make it triple which i thought they could have been done before we arrived as we have already booked the rooms 2 days before.

Note: Please do something to avoid cats entering the main restaurant.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rashiya1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Location is good - right by a beautiful beach. Staff welcoming and helpful. Rooms in main building seemed at have had a hasty makeover. with ill fitting sinks etc. Electrics a bit aged - several power cuts. Restaurant close by and food was ok but there were several themed meals with no real alternative other than salad.

Not bad but not up to the price charged - but then there isn't much around Trinco to compete.

Room Tip: Try and get a beach bungalow or room not in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pwall0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience in Trincomalee.

We are continuously improving our product, There will be a new look and feel for next summer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed the few days that we had here. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the food in the restaurant was excellent and catered to all tastes. Particularly enjoyed the breakfasts, especially the croissants! Had a dinner in The Crab beach-side restaurant on a couple of occasions - highly recommended if you enjoy seafood. The rooms were well appointed and very comfortable. Took a couple of excursions organised through the Nature Trails office in the hotel - one early morning trip to see the dolphins (hundreds of them), and a visit to Pigeon Island to do some snorkeling and view the sea life. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay with us at Chaaya Blu.

You have not missed out on your visit to Trincomalee by Checking our Dolphins and Pigeon Island, it could have been topped off by Whale watching which is available in March to June.

Although some sightings have been made recently due to the influx of algae in the deep sea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

we arrived to chaaya blu after a long drive and the staff really looked after us. we had a great room in a section that was separate from the main hotel. it was really well-appointed and comfortable with a great view of the beach. the food was fantastic. the breakfast buffet was highlighted by egg hoppers, but lots of delicious choices. the buffet dinner was also excellent with nice, live music. the beach was a little disappointing but the pool was great. we would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: the two storey section on the south side of the hotel was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience during your stay at Chaaya Blu.

Our Breakfast if appreciated with a wide variety of items from Western to Eastern and most cooked to order while you wait

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 11 in Trincomalee
392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
476 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#5 of 11 in Trincomalee
9 reviews
8.5 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: $59 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing