We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashest place in town.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2013

Perfect location and excellent for a night. Price is too much for what you get though, and they wouldn't negotiate and give a lower price than what you can get on the web. We stayed 1 night then walked along the beach and found a perfectly adequate place next door for half the price. The best part of Chaaya Blu is the beach and it was the same 50 metres down. Who needs the pool when the water is perfect? Staff are lovely and food was great but you can always come back to visit the restaurant while saving your money elsewhere.
Also while in the area you must take a diving or snorkelling trip with Angel Diving (at Golden Beach Cottages) They were fantastic and highly recommended. We had a great morning at Navy Island... despite the regular test firing of ordinances from the military base. Fortunately not AT us! Our Diving Instructor was delightful and very attentive.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catherine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feedback. Areas which fell short in satisfying you shall be improved for your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,384)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

831 - 837 of 1,384 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

This review will be similar to others I see here on TA. The location, on a wide swath of golden sandy beach, is just about ideal. And the tourist industry on the island's east side, while still experiencing some growing pains, is starting to come into it's own.

From your room you're about 20 steps from the beach which is also very nice. Most of the rooms, however, which correctly face the ocean, are blocked by trees from an ocean view! Now, everybody loves trees, right? But at the beach, we want an ocean view. Our suite, the most expensive room in the hotel, had a view of... a big green tree.

The service: you have to ask for everything two-three times. By the second day we were making a game of it. Need laundry? Call twice. Need your room cleaned? Call three times. Need your bill at the restaurant? Ask three times. The restaurant food is okay, and the drinks basic but also okay. The service, however, is slow and sullen. I just think these people shouldn't be working in the service industry.

With a few changes and a great deal of staff training, the CB could be spectacular; it has the location and the building for it. But as of my stay, it's just not ready for prime time.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on the suite. Get a deluxe room as far away from the front desk as possib...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marco20009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and observations. Attention will be paid to areas which were not able to satisfy your expectations to better the experience on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Our expectation was that the excellent Keells Hotel Group would have turned Chaaya Blu into a property on par with its other hotels, which we travel to very often and are always impressive. We were somewhat disappointed.

Doubtless, there has been a major investment in getting the hotel ready after the damage and neglect it suffered during Sri Lanka's war. But it is far from the standard of other Keells hotels (Chaaya and Cinnamon brands).

The beach itself is not as good a many other beaches in the Trincomalee district. It's located between the town and a fishing village, plus there's a neighbouring military camp. So the beach isn't at all private, and not very clean either. It's a huge beach, but there are better ones in the area.

The room was nice. But again, nothing fantastic.

The service wasn't great. I was particularly irked when a steward rang our room doorbell at midnight to have us sign a bar bill (the barman hadn't been able to find the bill when we asked for it earlier). Plus, when we were checking out, another guest's bar bill had been added to ours, and it took time to sort this out.

The food was excellent. Hats off to the chef.

The new pool is nice, but again nothing special.

The rate was alright - not too pricey, but not cheap either.

I think Keells should get some of its professionals to work on the hotel's facilities and service, to bring it up to standard. That would be easy for such an excellent hotel chain.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 410Traveler410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and observations, attention will be given to areas which were not able to satisfy your needs during this stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When you walk in to the lobby and look at the beautiful colours of the ocean past the pool and the beach you feel like this is a little slice of heaven. The check-in process was quick and hassle free and we were taken to our rooms almost immediately, despite having reached the hotel early (but we did travel with a 2 year old and i did request for an early check-in). The concept of the room design was good, but the execution wasn't great. You did't get a sense of 'classiness' or sophistication - it was a standard hotel room - all white with blue (denim) accents. The bathroom was really small (with only a shower - no tub).

The meals were disappointing mainly because one would expect some really good seafood in a hotel off one of the best coasts of Sri Lanka. The beach stretch was also disappointing (albeith gorgeous) as there wassea weed / algea (gross green stuff) just as the water met the sand - so you had to pass that strip to get to the water .... which I didn't do so can't really comment on the sea just in front of the hotel.

Tips for travellers: 1. Find a way to get permission from the airforce (if you know a Sri Lankan this won't be hard - someone will know someone who knows someone in the airforce!) and visit Marble beach ... it is no doubt one of the most beautiful beaches I've been to - a truely amazing experience not to be missed if you're in Trinco.

2. If snorkeling is your thing and pigeon island is on top of your list, staying at Nilaveli beach hotel might be a better option - it's right opposite pigeon island (10 min by boat, as opposed to the 45 min boat ride from Chaaya blu). The coral was destroyed by the Tsunami but if you go early morning I hear the snorkeling is quite good. And Nilaveli has a nice beach front.

Enjoy Trinco! And the east coast of Sri Lanka

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SAR28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2013

A large group of my extended family and I had a amazing stay here and wish we returned. The staff were friendly, and on arrival greeted us with fresh tropical juices and carried our bags to our rooms, which had a great view of the pool. A mere step onto the balcony and you could see the ocean.
The beach was lovely and it truly felt like paradise. It was a magical experience helping the fisherman pulling in the nets right in front of the hotel and gave a real authentic experience. The buffet was large and had lots of tasty things to choose from, whether you like traditional Sri Lankan food or more Western food.

The rooms were very clean and suited the beach location. There are options to go on boat rides and other acitivities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniela307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are continuously improving to satisfy the needs of our valued customers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

When my wife and I arrived at the hotel our first impressions of it were great. The view looking out to the pool and beach beyond were stunning. We were asked to sit down with a cool refreshment and then waited about 20 minutes before I had to get up and see if anyone was going to check us in. The guy who brought in our bags told me that our room was not ready but I'm not too sure that could have been the case when they didn't know who we were. I asked if we could get some lunch before checking in and that seemed to be ok. We went and had lunch and it took ages for some one to bring us menus. Even then no one did and my wife had to get up and obtain them. The food a long time to come out. Even asking for the bill took a long while, it wasn't until we stood up that anything happened. We checked in and the guy started taking us to the wrong side of the resort. He the Realised that we were going the wrong way and took us to a room with two single beds. Not what my wife and I were looking for. We then finally got a double bed room which looked over the pool and the beach. The room was really nice, with a big comfortable bed. When we didn't have contact with staff our trip was perfect, the pool was great, although at times it felt like you were in a Alfred Hitchcock movie with the 100s of crows flying around. The internet seldom worked and when it did it was super slow. my wife and i both had wifi devices and apparently the password we were given enabled two devices to connect to the internet, it didnt.

When we checked out on our last day, despite telling the staff the night before that we would like some breakfast, it wasn't ready in the morning. The guy who fixed up our bill ran around asking for something to be made quickly and that was the first sign of good service, shame they still got the order wrong. Most of the places in Sri Lanka that we have been to seem to have far too many staff, however chaaya blu is the exact opposite. They have too few staff and it seems like no one communicates with each other. The other thing we found strange is that when we asked the check in staff about transport options it would often be three different people we spoke to. You would think that questions about transport would be something they get asked all the time. The staff were extremely attentive in asking us for our room number however, funny that.
I think management really need to get their staff into some proper training as it is really letting this great hotel down.
Unless you are here to unwind and not really communicate with the staff and are happy to wait 30 minutes plus for service I wouldn't bother staying here. Very disappointed!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sunnyjim007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments and feed back. Areas which fell short in satisfying you shall be improved for your future visits.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Having a room with a beach a short walk away is my idea of heaven. When the water is so warm that you don't want to get out and when you do there are showers to wash off the salt water and plenty of recliners,etc for lazy times. Bliss. Add to this, beautifully appointed rooms, friendly and helpful staff, and peace and tranquility, and you have the makings of a great stay. We were particularly appreciative as we had been spending time in the interior where it was extremely hot. he only downside for us was the attitude of senior restaurant staff which left a sour taste.

Room Tip: Choose a room with direct access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John_MtEden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for observations and comments. We are happy that you had a good stay. We will strive to further improve for your next visit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 11 in Trincomalee
392 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
476 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#5 of 11 in Trincomalee
9 reviews
8.5 mi away
C Beyond
C Beyond
#4 of 6 in Nilaveli
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: $59 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing