We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just as good as before”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just as good as before”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

After the latest lf several visits to Chaaya Blu I can report that it is just as good as before. Well laid out hotel. Comfortable rooms and very friendly and efficient staff. The beach location is great, miles of sandy beach which is kept clean by hotel staff. An ideal location for all the things Trincomalee has to offer. Whale watching, snorkelling, scuba, fishing or just lounging. Visit Koneswaram Temple and Swami Rock at Fort Fredrick There is now a cool drinks shop at the top of the hill, very welcome!
Don't forget to visit Trincomalee town, it now has some good shops and eating establishments. Go and meet the friendly local people.

Room Tip: Best rooms are the beach side chalets, but you get what you pay for, they are more expensive. Most r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank knightmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya BLU Trincomalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    476
    194
    60
    37
See reviews for
409
471
40
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

This was our second visit to Chaaya Blu. As with our first visit, we took the two suites. Both rooms are spacious and have a separate sitting/dining area with a second TV. The bathroom is small compared to other hotels.
This hotel is beautifully situated with a lovely pool and private beach.
The staff are friendly and accommodating. Special mention must be made of Wasantha at "Crab" restaurant, Prakash in the main restaurant and Lankesha, the General Manager who all did their utmost to make our visit comfortable and memorable. We had a late check-out around 6pm and Lankesha called Cinnamon Lodge to alert them of our arrival for dinner. They had set up a table by the pool and we were able to have our meal quickly in order to set off for Colombo as soon as possible.
Visitors should definitely have at least one meal at "Crab" the seafood restaurant. I recommend the Chef's Special: Jaffna Crab Curry - spicy but delicious.
We have recommended this hotel to many of our friends and will definitely be going back for many years to come.
Travelers should know that many of the roads are in bad shape and traffic is awful so travelling takes quite a while. Be prepared with pillows, water and a comfortable vehicle as it took us about 6 hours from Colombo even though we left at 5am!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PTNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are truly glad you choose the Chaaya Blu for your holiday & enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your comment about the food at the Crab. The team of the Chaaya Blu thanks you for staying with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed April 28, 2013

From the early stages of preparation until the final waves goodbye the entire staff were amazing. With two different nationalities getting married in another country it made the paperwork side of things rather complicated but with their help everything became smooth and easy. The extra efforts put in by the staff was humbling - private dinners on the beach, an exclusive snorkelling trip, a personal tour guide and all topped off with a transfer to another hotel, within the companies chain, for one night just so we would get the chance to ride an elephant.
This was the absolutely perfect place to have our own private wedding. The weather, the secluded beach with warm, bright and clear water, the smiling staff and friendly locals...the list goes on. If you are thinking of getting away, whether for a wedding or to simply relax in beautiful surrounds then this is the place. Thanks especially to Virginy the Assistant Manager - she is an absolute legend.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed to be pretty good but try and get on the ground floor - then it's just a st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jalbrownlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya BLU Trincomalee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorfen, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Our second stay in this wonderful hotel. In 2011 we left this hotel and promised to come back in 2013 and we keep our promises.
Coming back to this hotel after two years was like coming home... So many familiar faces, a great welcome by the wonderful staff of the hotel, a great team. The restaurant and the food are still very good, we think it even got better. The service is outstanding and we thank the entire restaurant and kitchen crew for everything they did for us to feel so comfortable and enjoy the 10 days we stayed in the hotel.
Having visited three other Chaaya/Cinnamon Hotels before our arrival we consider this hotel one of the top hotels of the John Keells Group. If there will be better and larger mirrors in the rooms soon (we already mentioned this in 2011), even better :-)

A trip to Trinco market and the Fort is highly recommended (for names and contacts of drivers please contact us directly), also a must see is the little village of Salli especially the fish market early in the morning (6 a.m.)

Many thanks to Mr. Sunil Makehelwala and Mr. Suresh Athukorala and best regards to the entire crew (Dinesh, Karuna, Bandaranayaka, and and and)
We will be back again in 2015.


Some words to our fellow travellers: please do not feed the dogs! Compared to 2011 there are a lot more dogs roaming the hotel which is getting a real nuisance! We do not understand why guests take food from the buffet (!) to feed those dogs (they can survive on their own!) though signs in the hotel clearly ask to refrain from doing so...

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holger_Birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience. Your kind sentiments are highly valued while looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya BLU Trincomalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at Chaaya Blu for two nights in April 2013 during a tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is situated right on a stunning sandy beach where, apart from sunbathing, you can watch local fishermen at work. The food in the hotel is excellent, and the chefs are ever willing to explain the local dishes to you. The fort and temple are a short drive away and worth a visit. It's also a very short distance from the beautifully kept Commonwealth War Cemetery. The hotel organises whale watching trips, although sadly we did not have time for that. The bedrooms (at least the one we were in) could do with a facelift. Overall a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you for your review & we are truly glad that you enjoyed the beach and the hotel, the peak season starts from March to October, During that period you can enjoy the sun, can experience snorkeling at the Pigeon island deep sea fishing and diving. We like to host you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo
1 review
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I did not stay at the hotel but i joined team that takes guests out to catch a glimpse of whales and dolphins. By the end of the we did not see whales. However, I did not leave disappointed. We saw maybe a million dolphins all in their natural glory and a diploma on the subject of whales, there habitat and behaviour.
The team that took us out was very well educated, professional and friendly. If anyone is out in trincomalee I recommend going out on the hotels dolphin/ whale adventure as it is a unique experience where 4 to 5 people are in a a boat looking for the largest living being on earth.

I did learn one thing though during this trip. Dolphins are little whales.

Total value of money!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Salman N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and we are glad that you enjoyed the dolphin watching trip and comment about our naturalists. The peak season starts in Trincomalee from March to October, during that period you may be able to see Whales and Dolphins. We are looking forward to welcome you to Chaaya BLU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Very nice place with excellent food. Well designed but cleanness not perfect. I would recommend to stay here especially if you are looking for a relaxing stay. Both restaurants are highly recommended. Check out the fort with its temple in trinco center.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Crikx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank you very much for staying with us and glad you enjoyed the experience your kind sentiments and comments are highly appreciated Looking forward to welcoming you back at Chaaya Blu Trincomalee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
3.9 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#4 of 10 in Trincomalee
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nilaveli
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Property: Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing