We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just what you need to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Chaaya Blu is the perfect spot to have a couple of days on the beach while touring Sri Lanka. Recently (2010?) refurbished it is a quality hotel in a quality location. Friendly motivated staff take care of you. A very nice beach, good pool, what more do you need in between the historical and cultural richness of the island. It also gives you a good feeling to spend time in the north so that this part of the country gets going again after the troubles. A great place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platinumcitytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to have you stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

859 - 865 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed February 15, 2013

Lovely open view from the lobby to the sea over the poolside. Not quite such a good hotel as our other two but still good enough. Felt a good clean up would have worked wonders in the rooms but the food as usual was of a very high standard. This hotel had free wi fi in the rooms although signal varied. A British war cemetery was close by and well worth a visit otherwise only things to do was swim and walk along the beach. We had a few VIP's staying for a night or two to attend the Independence Day celebrations in Trincomalee. Unfortunately it poured with rain all that day and then thundered and lightened all that night so no more sun for us. No alcohol on that day either - tut tut. Again this hotel had some monkeys but never really saw them.

Room Tip: Go for superior if poossible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank margaretc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Thank you for your review. We look forward to have you stay with us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

I last stayed here during the height of the war when the place was called Club Oceanic, so the hotel was a pleasant surprise with a few hiccups. The architectural entrance is a bit retro and very 1970s; the lobby has been renovated in a lovely open way except for the garish disco columns. The new pool is great for laps, and borrows from the infinity pools one sees at Bawa-designed hotels, a nice touch. We stayed in one of the beachfront chalets which are worth the extra bit of money. The rooms are fine, though we were missing a few basics: hair conditioner, a torch that works, an umbrella (it poured one day), and some pillows for the outdoor mattress. The added bonus was the lifejackets: the tsunami decimated this place, so just in case.... The service at the hotel was good but not great. Some staff seem half-hearted but most were happy to help. A good variety of food/cuisines was available at the buffet, but a bit more staff training would add some nice touches. For example, breakfast stations for omelettes and hoppers were appreciated but often the food would get cold sitting there, since there was no one to bring it to the tables. One could wait, but often there were queues to get things. Keeping these details straights and hovering with the coffee and tea pots would be great. Things are looking pretty great but could be better. I presume the manager spends a lot of time on email because I did not see him during my stay. Most good hotels have a very present manager who appears from time to time to ensure that all is well at dinner and such. There was no gym, which was a surprise.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, attention will be paid to areas which did not satisfy your stay. We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

The sun had returned after several days of rain as we got to Chaaya Blu, the 6th hotel of our tour. It was very different to the others we had stayed at, and was what it said on the tin - a beach hotel. We arrived late afternoon the day of the Full moon, or Poya, festival and the place was absolutely heaving - you could hardly see the pool for little heads bobbing! We had been warned that alcohol was not served in hotels on that one day, and there was a notice stating this in the bar. I'm not sure why some reviewers give the approach road such a hard time - it was no worse than those leading to nearly all the hotels we stayed at, although perhaps the surroundings were a little less salubrious - but in no way threatening. We had a 2nd floor room above reception, looking straight out over the pool and to the beautiful beach. It was quite small compared to our previous vast chambers, but the bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was very tiny, and had been given a cursory mop-round in the shower and outer area, pushing various bits of hair & gunk to the edges. I imagine the beach chalets are somewhat larger, and if staying for more than a couple of nights are probably a better bet. We had to call up for towels, key to the mini-bar, (we were parched and thought extracting a beer was called for - but there was only 1 Lion between us). Obtaining the passwords for the wi-fi seemed to necessitate someone actually bringing it up, but hey-ho, it worked. The staff were seemingly all very young, and quite laid back, but as ever, helpful and charming. We went down to the very busy dining room (no dress code, plenty of shorts) and despite loads of very small children running hither and thither, there was a warm and jolly atmosphere. Congrats to the Maitre d for keeping his staff on the ball and to the catering team for resupplying the food on a regular basis. It was all local food that evening,and it was delicious, and hot. We'd seen light and sound systems being erected on the beach, and wondered if we were in for a noisy night, but we need not have worried. We enjoyed the Bollywood style crooner during dinner and then after a final few whoops and splashes in the pool, the collected children were all packed off to bed by around 10pm. Breakfast the next morning was equally busy, and queuing up for egg hoppers, I chatted to a lady originally from Sri Lanka who lived in the UK; we agreed that they were the test of a hotel, and apparently are very tricky to make, and not something regularly attempted at home. We went out for the morning, and when we got back, everyone had gone and the place was deserted. Apparently firms sometimes pay for employees to go on Poya days, and as they have to be back at work on Monday, they all leave by lunchtime. The staff said there were now only 20 or so rooms occupied and we had most of the beach and the pool entirely to ourselves. The beach was stunning, although still too rough to bathe in. The langurs came out in the evening to play in the trees by the beach, and on the roof of the Crab restaurant. My husband later duly did messy battle with a giant crab in sauce - no implements provided, fingers came into play. We enjoyed our dinner right on the beach, with a lovely cool breeze and hardly anyone else. This was a lovely hotel on a stunning beach, and while Trinco doesn't have a huge amount to do and see, it is still recovering from being in the front line of the long and bitter civil war. The Sri Lankan Naval base was still being fired on as recently as 2006/7. I'm not sure you would want to spend a week there, but it is good to see tourists coming back to the area and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms facing the front have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cornwallgurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Thank you for your review, we look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

having been to Trinco many times during my youth, i was quite appalled to see the state of the beach, the white sand beaches are dirty and dead fish litter the sand. the food was good and the service was decent, but the uniform for the servers were not coordinated, the rooms are small, and not very spacious.

plus points would be the playful monkeys in the garden and the pool

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranika_palihena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is unfortunate that you were unable to experience the full effect of the crystal clear waters Seasonal currents unfortunately sometimes wash up the plastic and litter to the beach, The Hotel continuously cleans the beach at least a minimum of three times daily to keep our guest comfortable.
The uniform were designed to go with the retro chic beach theme, however consideration will be made for the suitable changes in the future We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Chaaya Blue over Christmas 2012. The location is very good and our children enjoyed the beach and the hotels pool close to the beach. Also the christmas party was well organised. The rooms could be a bit more spacious though and the kitchen-staff needs some training as the food provided was really terrible and sometimes even served cold. But its nontheless worth a visit. You can walk up and down the beach and do some sightseeing in the area. Unfortunalty they didnt have any kids activities nor a playground. But then again, the beach made up for this. All in all an average hotel which is a little pricy. Good for 2-3 nights max.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we intend on further developing the existing play area in the near future, attention will be paid to areas which did not satisfied your stay. We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice but cramped room and and the bathroom is definitely too small. The TV went out of reception (displaying check TV cable) from time to time and automatically restored after several frustrating restarts. I liked the idea of having a sitting area outside the room with a stairway to the pool and beach.

The Staff was nice and polite but took a while to attend to things when informed (Like the TV issue).

My wife was eagerly awaiting to try some Crab and prawns prepared in local style of cooking. But it was a shame to find no crab or prawns for dinner or lunch. The only sea food available was fish. Too bad! Big minus point.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor or a chalet on the beach which has direct entrance from the beach sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we regret that we could not provide you with sea food requirements, unfortunately as we do not stock shell fish for more than 3 days in order to ensure the freshness and the quality
During the rainy months of November & December the Mud crab is in short supply that hinders availability of menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
466 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
497 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: $67 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing