We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chaaya Blue”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Trinco Blu by Cinnamon
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 29, 2013

having been to Trinco many times during my youth, i was quite appalled to see the state of the beach, the white sand beaches are dirty and dead fish litter the sand. the food was good and the service was decent, but the uniform for the servers were not coordinated, the rooms are small, and not very spacious.

plus points would be the playful monkeys in the garden and the pool

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranika_palihena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, it is unfortunate that you were unable to experience the full effect of the crystal clear waters Seasonal currents unfortunately sometimes wash up the plastic and litter to the beach, The Hotel continuously cleans the beach at least a minimum of three times daily to keep our guest comfortable.
The uniform were designed to go with the retro chic beach theme, however consideration will be made for the suitable changes in the future We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,361)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,361 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Chaaya Blue over Christmas 2012. The location is very good and our children enjoyed the beach and the hotels pool close to the beach. Also the christmas party was well organised. The rooms could be a bit more spacious though and the kitchen-staff needs some training as the food provided was really terrible and sometimes even served cold. But its nontheless worth a visit. You can walk up and down the beach and do some sightseeing in the area. Unfortunalty they didnt have any kids activities nor a playground. But then again, the beach made up for this. All in all an average hotel which is a little pricy. Good for 2-3 nights max.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lidsor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we intend on further developing the existing play area in the near future, attention will be paid to areas which did not satisfied your stay. We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Nice but cramped room and and the bathroom is definitely too small. The TV went out of reception (displaying check TV cable) from time to time and automatically restored after several frustrating restarts. I liked the idea of having a sitting area outside the room with a stairway to the pool and beach.

The Staff was nice and polite but took a while to attend to things when informed (Like the TV issue).

My wife was eagerly awaiting to try some Crab and prawns prepared in local style of cooking. But it was a shame to find no crab or prawns for dinner or lunch. The only sea food available was fish. Too bad! Big minus point.

Room Tip: Get a room on the ground floor or a chalet on the beach which has direct entrance from the beach sid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madura E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we regret that we could not provide you with sea food requirements, unfortunately as we do not stock shell fish for more than 3 days in order to ensure the freshness and the quality
During the rainy months of November & December the Mud crab is in short supply that hinders availability of menu items.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Chaaya Blu is an older resort that has been refurbished in recent years. The decor has a 1970's appeal (complete with mirrored disco ball mosaics) and so would probably benefit from some updating. Service in the main restaurant is very good and the breakfast buffet is excellent. The rooms are clean and comfortable but you definitely want to pay the extra price for the beach chalets rather than the regular rooms. The pool is clean but pretty basic in shape and appeal. Overall, the resort is a bit over-priced and is more like a three-star hotel rather than the four-star it claims to be.

Room Tip: The Beach Chalets are lovely- directly on the beach and away from the main hotel. Ask for a ground l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beebalm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, peak periods may have premium prices but there are specials that you may consider. we look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This hotel shows great promise, yet at the moment will have to give it three stars as it is nearly there in a few ways:

> Crab, which is an excellent restaurant, didn't have any crab in the days we stayed there
> The table tennis table advertised in the room brochures doesn't exist
> Finishings in rooms, approach road etc are not to a high standard
> There is not a lot to do when it is raining - everything kind of shuts down

Having said all this, the staff are friendly, food excellent and I can imagine on continuous hot and sunny days this would be a good place to stay. Visits to this region should definitely be encouraged and will be worth it in the future I think - unfortunately our trip over three days we were not so lucky. Visit in the best seasons I think for a great stay.

Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank pa_gill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, we regret that we could not provide you with sea food requirements, unfortunately as we do not stock shell fish for more than 3 days in order to ensure the freshness and the quality,during the rainy months of November & December the Mud crab is in short supply that hinders availability of menu items;

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We are a family of four (2 older girls) so we had 2 Beach Chalets for 9 nights. The chalets are well situated, right on the beach and are very comfortable. The staff around the resort are friendly and will do what you ask within reason. As many others have written the road leading to the resort is shocking and needs repair not a good intro to a 4 star resort.
The resort has two restaurants, the main one does only buffets and the smaller one called The Crab does al a carte. We did not have the buffet dinner as we don't like buffet food so we mainly ate at the Crab. The food and service was good however 9 nights was too long to eat at one restaurant.
Our mistake was staying 9 nights in one resort, the resort like most in Sri Lanka is remote and you are imprisoned when it comes to choice of restaurants. I would suggest staying no more the 2/3 nights in this resort.
The reception staff are not forthcoming when questioned about what to do around Trinco, we did however finally meet Wasantha who is the head guy at The Crab restaurant. Wasantha was able to advise and organise a trip around Trinco to the Buddhist ruins, Hot Springs (has to be seen to be believed) Hindu temple and a visit to the local beach after 5pm to see the families gather, play and eat, very interesting. If you are going to Trinco dont waste your time talking to the staff at the resorts, they know little and do not have a good command of the english language, the person you need to contact is Wasatha he speaks fluent english amongst other languauges and has a good idea of what tourist need to see in the area, can also organise transport. Wasantha's number 0094774737680, email Wasantha05@yahoo.com - thankyou Wasantha, I promised to put his contact details in because he was so helpful and charges a fair price, not the normal tourist prices others do!
We also ate at the little cafe outside the gate of the resort, and the food was fantastic and much much cheaper, many get turned off eating at these place but I assure you the food is fantastic and safe, we had 5 meals there and no one got ill.
The beach and pool are safe and the staff around the pool are very helpful with towels and setting up your chairs....no gym! generally the service was good but the staff do not have the same level of training or competence of staff in resorts in other developing countries. This is possibly a consequence of the war years, so hopefully there will be more training provided and development of staff in the future years.
Chaaya Blu is a good resort on the east coast but stay only a few nights as the choice of food and entertainment is limited.

Room Tip: Beach Chalets are very good and are priced quite well on the internet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review and encouragement, we look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We got a first floor room looking out on the sea. The room was clean and the a hotel staff friendly and very helpful. The food in both restaurants was good, we had the buffet in the evening and we felt there was a great selection of food. The swimming pool is large and clean.

Room Tip: Look for a room with a view, we liked our room on the first floor. We felt you had some more privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lankesha P, Manager at Trinco Blu by Cinnamon, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you for your review, We look forward to have you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Trincomalee
0.1 mi away
Amaranthe Bay Resort
Amaranthe Bay Resort
#1 of 10 in Trincomalee
379 reviews
6.5 mi away
Anilana Nilaveli
Anilana Nilaveli
#2 of 6 in Nilaveli
466 reviews
7.5 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Resort
Nilaveli Beach Resort
#1 of 6 in Nilaveli
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Blue Ocean Hotel
Blue Ocean Hotel
#6 of 10 in Trincomalee
8 reviews
6.4 mi away
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
Nilaveli Beach Hotel
#3 of 6 in Nilaveli
497 reviews
7.0 mi away
Pigeon Island Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trinco Blu by Cinnamon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trinco Blu by Cinnamon

Address: Sampative Post, Upuvali, Trincomalee 31000, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Eastern Province > Trincomalee
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Trincomalee
Price Range: $68 - $221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Trinco Blu by Cinnamon 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once a 70s resort, Trinco Blu by Cinnamon was transformed to a retro-chic design decorated with bleached wooden decks, cut cement floors, rattan furniture and denim trimmings with a splash of orange to contrast the Blue and White hues. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Trinco Blu by Cinnamon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaaya Blu Trincomalee Hotel Trincomalee

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing